We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service for a special occasion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apiron

Apiron
Fira Antorini, Fira 84700, Greece
+30 2286 028700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 148 Restaurants in Fira
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A spectacular infinity view, a table for two with view of the volcano and the dazzling Aegean sea sunset. Welcome to Apiron..!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We wanted somewhere special to celebrate our daughters 18th birthday and so booked Apiron following other TA reviews. We were not dispappointed. They gave us prime seating overlooking the Caldera (although most tables I expect would have a decent view). A bit pricey but no more than you would pay in a decent restaurant back home for a special occasion. The mousaka stack was fanastic and the steaks just melted in our mouths, really nice. The waiter was very attentive and gave quality service, highly recommend!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    57
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A mixed-bag depending on your personal experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It's hard to give this restaurant a quantitative "overall rating" as there were stand-out elements of the evening, and some run-of-the-mill.

We found the service to be exceptional. My friend had spoken to the restaurant to arrange a reservation and they personally acknowledged this on arrival, and before we left. We had a table with a wall-and-water view, though we'd booked past sunset so all was twinkly and magical across the caldera.

I would say, while Apiron has a nice aspect and view of the sea, it's quite low on the Caldera and has buildings either side, so it's not a 180-degree view [or 270-degree view, if you are on a higher balcony] as offered by many other restaurants on the cliff.

Elements of the service felt like well-worn shtick. Wait-staff offered women [not the men] a shawl during the evening, and the eggplant salad made at the table felt like a charade and was more about the performance of scraping eggplant from a burnt skin than the meal itself.The more normal elements of service felt genuine and sincere.

Again, meals were a lucky dip. We shared mussels as a starter, which were tasty but conventional.

My friend had the goat which was succulent and tasty, full of aroma and I picked at the gorgeous pool of sauce left behind in the paper bag. My partner had the special, swordfish, which was a generous portion with a burre blanc sauce, which was also supreme.

I'd been tossing up on a few options, including the purslane salad - which was billed as "Purslane salad with octopus, cherry tomatoes, green olives, cucumber, rusk & yogurt sauce". Having then spied the "cod fillet with purslane salad" this seemed to tick my "mm fresh seafood" desire and "mmm fresh salad and tasty seafood" want.

I specifically asked the waiter if the salad accompanying the cod was the same as listed above, assuming a smaller portion. He assured me it was. When the meal arrived, the cod was tasteless [similar to the frozen white fish found in supermarket ready-meals] and the salad consisted of lettuce, cucumber and cherry tomatoes. Pretty disappointing.

On a practical note, meals were substantially priced (approx 25 euros) as was the wine. The restaurant is accessed by a steep staircase, so not good for anyone with access needs [per the rest of the caldera]. It's well-signposted and we were offered a small taster of dessert wine at the end of the meal, which was a nice touch.

Perhaps have a skim through other reviews to identify the stand-out dishes, and you'll have a lovely evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The resturants view is absolutely incredible - the food was also amazing. Highly recommend the warm eggplant salad and the lamb it was delious. Our waiter Chris was very attentive and helpful.
A must see resturant when visiting the beautiful Santorini!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I really enjoyed my experience at Apiron!! Great service, amazing view of the ocean and beautiful food. Definitely a stand out restaurant in Santorini. The warm eggplant dip, baby goat and mausaka were absolutely delicious!! Overall, very happy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“AMAZING A ABSOULTE MUST!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had a beautiful meal we just missed sunset due to our poor timing booking late notice but the sky was still stunning! We had the mausaka tower and the eggplant salad that is made in front of you the salmon salad and the BEST baby goat in paper with herbs and potatoes! We polished it off with expresso martinis that is more of a dessert with cream and chocolate and prosesco! Amazing meal will be back tomorrow for lunch!!!! Thank you to Chris our waiter that made the experience so enjoyable :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apiron also viewed

 

Been to Apiron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apiron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.