We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano View Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Volcano View Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Volcano View Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1.8 km Fira-Pyrgos Road, Fira 847 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Fira
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I agree woth most of the other reviews state the great views to be had from hotel's location - but keep in mind there is no shortage of great views if the hotel overlooks the volcano/caldera. We had great service from Maria and others at the VV. The breakfast buffet is great and plentiful with tables to eat either set outside overlooking the volcano and sea. Dinner menu offers great value, too. Internet only works within about 50 feet of the reception area, but 2 internet access terminals are available for guest use in the lobby. TV channel selection was pretty good. Hotel was helpful in arranging tours and car rental. Not much in walking distance and standing out waiting for a bus in the heat wasnt my idea of time well spent so i rented a car. Be mindful of the room you are selecting as rooms without the volcano view are across the street from the main facility and overlook a big empty lot and a little bit of sea on the opposite side - probably not what you think you'll be getting when you arrive. Some of the rooms have beds that are 2 twins pushed together (and they have separate sheets/blankets). You are close to beaches and Fira, but far from Oia. Traditional section of little town Embario (sp?) is definitely worth looking at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    192
    47
    17
    7
See reviews for
95
306
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is kind of on its own away from the Fira city hustle and bustle. It was perfect for us since we did not mind not being in the thick of things. There is a shuttle service into town but it is limited.
The hotel is clean and has beautiful views...I think it has better sunsets than Oia without all the crazy mess of tourists.
If arriving by ferry, tell the bus driver you need to go to Volcano View and they literally drop you off right in front. If you want to explore the whole island, it's best to rent a car.
Breakfast was average. Nothing exceptional. Service throughout was good. Front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Volcano View Hotel is quite good - I would rate it as a 3 star hotel. The room we had was large and pretty clean. The view was fantastic. The complex is quite big, with three swimming pools (two are fairly small). We had a salad and a souvlaki for lunch on the first day which was good quality. The staff were fairly helpful although did not go out of their way. The bathroom didn't have a window and wasn't particularly well ventilated so I did notice a bit of mold on the wall and it seemed a bit damp. The breakfast was not that great (quite a lot of choice but not great quality) - however the terrace where you sit to have breakfast is beautiful. Overall I rate this as 3 stars - it's good on some things not so good on others, but overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We booked into the complex opposite the main hotel but when we checked in we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a duplex apartment by the main hotel. The Duplex apartment was stunning. We had our own balcony and when we opened the door, we had the stunning views of the caldera. We paid £83 a night for a room which would have cost over 300 euros a night.

The hotel had 3 pools but we mainly used one. The main pool with the jacuzzi was pretty much always busy so we opted for the second largest one which we thought was fine.

There was wifi in the restaurant area and none in the room but that was fine and you could get internet connection by the pool.

We were at the towards the end of our trip so we wanted to relax, so sitting by the pool and staring at the caldera was perfect.

The only thing i found annoying was the limited number of shuttles to and from the town. The few there were were always full. One evening we had to walk from the town back to the hotel and it took a good 30 mins with not much scenary.

The breakfast was nice and the view was stunning (both day and sunset).

There is also a small shop opposite the hotel to buy drinks and snacks which was handy.

We would definitely come back here again.

One tip to pick up the beach towels from hotel reception which we didnt realise until the second day.

Also even though they say you cant bags a sunlounger - loads of people do so get in there early

Room Tip: We told them we were on our honeymoon and i believe thats why we got upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Nice room, big bathroom, superb ... beautiful view!
Very clean!
3 swimming pools and good cocktails
What a sunsest ....
Good food , excellent breakfast
Shuttle bus free to Fira few times per day.
Friendly and profi staff !

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

What an amazing place! the complex is build on the cliff, all white and a touch of blue, relaxing and amazing sunset (see photo).

From the hotel, you can rent a car (I strongly recommend) for a reasonable price and a taxi trip to Fira cost no more than 5 euro.

Room (and the whole complex) are very clean and staff eager to serve/help you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The whole island is beautiful but this location is away from everything you'd want to see in Santorini. The hotel and views are pretty but this location is not in walking distance to anything. Must take bus (which was not running the last day we were there) or rent a moped.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano View Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano View Hotel & Villas

Address: 1.8 km Fira-Pyrgos Road, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano View Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Volcano View Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano View Hotel & Villas Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano View Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.