We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loucas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Loucas Hotel to your Saves list
Loucas Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kamariou Mesarias, Fira 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 77 Hotels in Fira
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just about perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our room was number #46 right above the pool overlooking the caldera. It was perfect! Lots of steps down from reception (come on though, you are in a hotel on the side of a cliff! What do you expect! :) Staff were awesome at bringing down/up luggage and persistent that you should not climb any more than you have to!

We were beside the hotels restaurant "Aris" and never heard a sound once we left our balcany (shared with two other rooms but very spacious). Our roof was under a cobblestone street and we heard the donkeys come down in the morning only on our 4th night. Otherwise very quiet.

For those complaining about the dated rooms I guess you have two choices when on vacation: You can either have a pre-fab Ikea all inclusive resort or you can have a dated cultural trip. You need to accept that these places (as well as most hotels in Italy/Greece) are not ultra modern and if you are looking for that then maybe Europe isn't your thing! :)

However, in saying that I rated it 4 instead of 5 because of cracked tiles in upstairs shower. But come on, we had two showers!! :)

Room Tip: We were in room #46 five steps above the pool and 10 steps down from the road to the cable car. Neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    50
    31
    31
    39
See reviews for
26
98
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic, great views of the caldera and sunset. Would of been a great place to stay for our honeymoon.... However there is a bar / night club directly above our room. Our roof was their floor. The music cranks till 4 in the morning even on a Monday. We asked to move rooms and where given one below but still no good. I like my dance music and still go clubbing but this was just rude to paying customers. We spoke to a few other couples and groups and they did not enjoy their stay either due to lack of sleep or being booked to a different hotel (donkey stables) due to over booking. Reading through the hotels sign in book, there seemed to be a few unhappy customers and a few missing pages. Try elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This was truly horrid. Room had not been updated since the 70s. More like a hostel then a hotel. Rooms are under a night club that plays music till way past 3am. Very disappointed. Included breakfast was very basic at best. Do not be fooled by website.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We loved our stay here...staff were exceptional!! We loved the view the friendly helpful staff from the the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We had our breakfasts included and they were with the magnificent view. We loved the view so much we had our lunches in the hotel as well. Fox was a fabulous waiter and helpful with questions we had re tourist spots . We would love to come back to Santorini and to here!

Room Tip: We loved being near the breakfast area and overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is an experience everyone should have. There are a lot of stairs, which you must go up and down to get to the different levels of the hotel. This in no way stopped my 75 year old mother who has bad knees. We took our time, and sometimes with the help of the friendly staff she made it up and down every time. Believe me - for the experience of living in an air-conditioned cave, with a view to die for it is well worth it. The staff were all friendly, and very helpful while maintaining their professionalism. We had assistance with our luggage to a pickup point (as the road does not go to the hotel) and the men that have to move the luggage around have a massive job and are well worth the tip. And to top it off, breakfast was included. While eating you get to admire the gorgeous views and if you are lucky watch the donkeys walk by. The sunset view from this hotel is magnificent also.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

One of the older hotels in Fira with the best views and most possible the friendly staff. We enjoyed sitting outside watching the sunrise, sunset and peace and quiet of this breathe taking town. The rooms was clean and most importantly the beds comfortable. Not too hard, not too soft. In addition, the breakfast buffet had good choices and the eggs were cooked different every morning. We would stay here again in Fira.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay in a room below the Crystal Lounge unless you like to stay up until 3 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very disappointing ( and that's putting it politely ). It appears clean and is in a good location however if you sleep at night this is not the place for you. The music from their "bar" above all rooms is absolutely blaring until 3am, 4am. They have no consideration for their hotel guests at all. Their bar is louder than any other (it also open later than neighbouring bars) and it appears they are attention seeking. To make it laughable nobody was even in their bar. For us who wanted to walk early etc it made it tough. numerous other visitors checked out with us the next morning. The beds are just shocking. I've had better on a school trip (20 years ago). Don't expect anything much from breakfast. Precooked omelette, bread not toast, oily small sausages/bacon and tinned peaches. No Greek yogurt which I would've thought was a standard. Another mistake was eating at the restaurant €20 for two Greek salads & two soft drinks. Much cheaper in the neighbouring restaurants. Such a shame as it has a great view.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loucas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loucas Hotel

Address: Kamariou Mesarias, Fira 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 77 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loucas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Loucas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loucas Hotel Fira
Loucas Hotel Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loucas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.