We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Fira” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kavalari

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kavalari to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kavalari
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 17, Fira 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 76 hotels in Fira
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value in Fira”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Charming hotel presents great value and location with a view of the caldera. There is a large area of tables mixed infront of several rooms where you can have breakfast and a drink looking over the amazing scenery.
The service was very friendly and helpful. We received an upgrade to a cave room which was really appreciated. The complimentary breakfast was also really nice! Thanks guys for making our honeymoon stay a great one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    55
    12
    10
    9
See reviews for
26
100
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Amazing view of the caldera. Stayed in a cave room for our honeymoon, which was clean, but a little dated. Service at the front desk was excellent! Location is very close to restaurants and bus stop. Breakfast every morning was fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A friend and I had booked a four day stay in Hotel Kavalari, and it was a GREAT decision! We were greeted by James, who was very knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms themselves were very simple, however the views were AMAZING! The hotel itself sort of cascaded down the mountain side, so we had a great view of the sea and all the action. There were great little patios on each "level", which was great to just hang out and have a glass of wine while watching the sunset.
Breakfast great- although it was the same thing served each day, we didnt mind one bit as it was delish! Anna was as reception during the days, and was very helpful as well. She was able to show us where to go to rent quads to ride across the island, and gave us a few tips on where else to go. In all, some of the most helpful staff I've encountered on terms of where to go and what to do.
The hotel is set right in Fira town. We were able to walk up and down the streets to all of the bars/nightlife/shops/etc. As the island itself is very small, we rented quads and drove all across, and over to Perissa beach. Would highly suggest doing this, as there are tons of great little beach bars lined up across the seaside.
We had an AMAZING holiday, and would highly suggest booking into Kavalari!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is on the caldera and is in the heart of Fira. The view from the terrace is breathtaking. It's a great place to watch the sunset.
We were upgraded to a cave apartment, which was literally carved into the caldera and extremely spacious and comfortable.
The staff are very helpful and the breakfast is good.
There is a small cold water jacuzzi that we used to cool off in.
Wifi is excellent on the terraces but cannot be accessed in the rooms.
We loved this hotel. This would have to be one of the best value hotels in Fira with such a stunning caldera view

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Kavalari hotel after the initial frustration we had with the front desk upon checking in. When we made the reservation, it was for a 'Double room for 2' and no where in the reservation did it ask us for the type of bed we preferred. Upon arriving, the hotel claimed they only had a room with 2 twin beds for us, and even if they could move us, it wouldn't be until the following night. That was a little frustrating to deal with, especially when it wasn't our fault. But after a couple hours that same day, we were told they were able to make an arrangement for us for the room which we wanted. So after all the going back and forth, we were finally able to be on a good start and we appreciated that the management there was able to do something about it.

The views at the hotel are amazing, especially while having breakfast or just a bottle of wine. The greek yogurt they serve at breakfast is AMAZING!!! I fell in love with greek yogurt even more after staying here. The housekeeping staff was nice also. The rooms themselves are alright (specifically due to the bathrooms) and the climb to exit the hotel is a bit, but again the views and the location of the hotel made it all worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is our second stay in Santorini and both times we stayed at the Kavalari - we would not stay anywhere else.

It is a clean, well kept hotel with helpful staff. Our room was one of the famous caves of Santorini - it is carved into the rock and was an exciting place to stay. The door to our room opened on to the terrace and we were greeted by the spectacular Santorini views of the caldera and this is the reason why we would not stay anywhere else. The hotel is at least 7 storeys high and each level has a terrace. Breakfast is served on one of those terraces. We seemed to have a whole terrace (servicing 3 rooms) all to ourselves and we would sit there in the mornings after breakfast and then for early evening drinks. It was sheer bliss. Restaurants and cafes with caldera views are expensive and not good value, but we had the views on tap whenever we wanted. It is the best place to stay in Santorini.

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs, so if you do not fancy that, ask for a room near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

It was really clean. People working there really helpful and good manners. The views were amazing. Breakfast every day too much, natural orange juice and authentic greek yogurt. Pastries from the oven every day. By the time we were finishing our breakfast our rooms were already done¡¡¡¡ unbelievable. Really friendly hotel. I don´t know if I would go back to Santorini as I have been twice, however this is the kind of hotel and personal attention any guests can dream with.
Well done guys¡¡¡¡ Keep it going. XX
Hotel muy limpio. Los trabajadores muy atentos y buenas maneras. Las vistas maravillosas. El desayuno todos los días demasiado, zumo natural y autentico yogur griego todos los idas.Pequeña variedad de Dulces y salados, fantásticos. Por cierto, para el tiempo que terminábamos el desayuno las habitaciones ya estaban hechas. Increíble. Un hotel muy amigable. No se si volveré a Santorini ya que he estado dos veces, sin embargo este el el tipo de hotel y atención personal que unos visitantes sueñan tener. Bien hecho, manternerlo así. besos

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kavalari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kavalari

Address: P.O. Box 17, Fira 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kavalari 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kavalari, a small unique hotel originally a captain???s house, the property retains its traditional island architectural style. Situated on the rim of the Caldera, 300m above the sea, the property has exterior stairways which wind down the cliff face to various flowered terraces overlooking the volcano. Rooms are built directly into the cliff with access to various flowered terraces where guests relax enjoying beautiful surroundings and spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kavalari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kavalari Hotel Fira
Hotel Kavalari Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kavalari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.