We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home style meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Souvlaros

O Souvlaros
Near Ermis Shopping Center, Fira 84700, Greece
+30 22860 23225
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 164 restaurants in Fira
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Fira, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great home style meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

After 10 days traveling through Turkey and the Greek islands this was the best meal we have had. Home cooked fabulous food,great service and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    9
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Feel at home in Fira...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by the Lefteris, the owner of the fantastic Hotel Antonia. Otherwise we would have never located this restaurant, excellent for greek home cooking. Maria speaks excellent english, is super welcoming and always has a smile. She and her parents run the restaurant, with her mother and father doing most of the cooking.

The restaurant is walking distance from the center of Fira, near the bus station.

The food was fresh, inexpensive and it really took out the stress of eating at the restaurants on the caldera, which are charge a small fortune for the view and provide poor touristic food. The place is small and very clean.

We did dinner, take out gyro and breakfast here and would not hesitate to go back again in the future.

Go for a good experience!

and if you are looking for a hotel - do yourself a favor and look into Hotel/Apartments Antonia. Once you meet Lefteris, the owner, you will be sad when you check out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Authentic & Fresh, great value & served with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Located on the main Fira road just past the hospital on the opposite side of the road. This typical looking blue and white Greek Taverna was recommended to us by Lefteris at Antonia apartmemts. Dont be put off by the fact that it is on a Main Road as the food is superb, all freshly cooked and really cheap. We were greeted by Maria who is adorable, she gave us suggestions with the menu and we ordered the best home made tzatziki that we tasted in 11 days with herb pitta bread. My calamari main had the lightest batter and tasted very fresh. My fiancé had spaghetti bolognese which tasted like nothing I have ever tasted before, with underlying flavours of nutmeg, this made for a spectacular dish. We were also offered a taste of some home cooked meatballs in tomato sauce which were amazing. With a free home made chocolate/nut desert and a free desert wine we were really looked after from start to finish. With house wine and beers the meal came in at under 30 euros and was worth every penny. We went back again for our final meal on the strength of the meatballs! Make sure you have fried potatoes with it because they are the best we tasted in 11 days. The fresh fruit smoothies are to die for. A lovely family run taverna with freshly cooked authentic Santorini food - this place should be far higher up the TA list. Souvlaros outshone 'Salt and Pepper' and the dreadful 'Mammas House' by miles.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth it for the chips alone!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant probably gets overlooked by most holidaymakers, as it's outside the main drag on the way out of Fira towards Messaria. It does, however, provide really good honest and delicious home cooked food, with special extra touches like the fantastic home baked walnut bread and the chocolates they also make themselves. It is probably one of the best meals we have ever had at the price and I must mention those chips again, as they really were brilliant (triple fried?). The service was very attentive, helpful and knowledgable - as well as quick. Go there and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fast Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Loved the service at this place, and the food was great. Nice place to stop if you want a cheap meal.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Souvlaros also viewed

Fira, Santorini
Fira, Santorini
 
Fira, Santorini
Fira, Santorini
 

Been to O Souvlaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Souvlaros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.