We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aigialos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aigialos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Aigialos Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ypapantis street, Fira 84700, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 72 hotels in Fira
California City, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Words cannot describe the combination of beauty and hospitality when staying at Aigialos. My husband and I barely even left it for the first three days because there was no restaurant or spot in Santorini that had a better view than our own terrace.

Definitely visit Sigalas winery in Oia and try the Vin Santo dessert wine - some of the best we have ever had! It was the highlight of our European vacation. I cannot describe how breathtaking the Tramountana Suite is, it was absolutely perfect. The room was amazingly clean and the interior is very charming. It has been decorated and furnished very tastefully and artistically
Certainly this magnificent hotel-boutique corresponds to beauty of island Santorini.
And then there is the veranda. WOW! The views are absolutely breathtaking. The best thing about the hotel is the privacy! Enjoy the finest Greek hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    28
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
45
170
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

There are two exceptional things about this hotel which make it a great choice while staying on Santorini: First, the exceptional and friendly service offered by the staff...and second, the location. Fira can get to be a lively place, but the hotel is perfectly situated so as to take advantage of the great restaurants and bars, but is in a treasured secluded (and quiet) location. It's also convenient to the local bus stop. It was also a huge bonus to have a great vantage point for viewing the spectacular sunsets from the privacy of your own terrace. Without having to fight the mobs for a photo op up on the main pedestrian drag in town.

All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel in Santorini was one of the highlights in our trip.
We received fantastic and friendly service from all staff at the hotel. The views are amazing and the room was very clean, spacious and had a local feel to it.
We spent 3 nights and that was not enough. We want to go back again! There is nothing negative we can say about our stay.
Short walk to the shops and plenty of good Thank you for making us feel welcome!
Mr & Mrs Campbell

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a week here in October and thought the whole place was just great!
The room we had, Notos, on the first floor (all are named after Greek winds) had just the most perfect view. We had our breakfast every morning on the balcony in the sun watching the ship activity in the bay and a glass of wine watching the sunset in the evening.
The service was exceptional and room service unbeliveable, with a change of towels twice a day.
The location, just on the edge of busy Fira town, is very good too as it is just a short walk away from the bustle and noise of all the cruise ship visitors, but ideally placed to walk into town or to the bus station for a trip to another part of the island.
The only slight criticism I would have is that the noise of the donkeys being led down to the port woke us up in the morning, but it is worth putting up with this for the otherwise superlative Aigialos!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is my first review on TripAdvisor as for the first time I do feel internally obliged to share my recommendation. As a frequent traveler I have spent hundreds of nights in hotels around the world. And nothing before was even equal to what I experienced in Aigialos Hotel on beautiful and charming Island of Santorini! Why? The answer is as simple as abc :) Because of the unrivalled experience of hospitality, impeccable attitude towards the guest treated as a friend and this incredible ambience of gentleness of the staff! Mrs Vivi Tsota, the Manager and great team of high class professionals and great people at the same time, make Aigialos the place so exceptional that no words can fit in. What stands out at Aigialos is that you feel like a long awaited friend making a visit – Vivi, Dimitris, Ioakim, Vagelis, Stavros (sorry for not recalling the name of Mrs Chef…) seem to be a family having you as a guest. And there is no single exaggeration in it. Unprecedented experience :)

Aigialos is not just a great hotel. And not just a great destination. It is a home-away-from-home. The place beyond. True energy, true people giving a new meaning for hospitality. The staff exceeding your expectations in such way that you feel overwhelmed. From welcoming you at the airport, what made a great intro to all the stay and beyond (!), through amazing welcome at the reception, true welcome by the real hosts, not front office members, through all the chats and good time, till the transfer to the airport on departure with such feelings that make your heart bleed with sorrow of leaving - special thanks to Vivi!

Great location, close to all attractions of Thira in walking distance of 5-10 minutes. Moreover, you can follow (and you should!) the hints of the staff so as not to waste your time on looking for what is in reach. If you need a car from a reliable company or if you need to have your day organized with excursions, boat trips or anything you wish – no problem – you are just one conversation at the reception away from what you wish. Thira itself, full of restaurants, bars, shops is nearby, but coming back to Aigialos, situated aside brings you to the calm and quiet place where you can rest after all day out, enjoying real serenity. And after coming back you do not want to get out, as there are great people from the staff who will make your time very fruitful in discussions on the history and attractions of the island, it’s worth-visiting destinations etc. Spending the evenings in Aigialos allows you to enjoy these amazing sunsets that made Santorini so famous. Of course with a glass of recommended wine (thanks to Ioakim for getting me to know and to like delicious Santorini Vinsanto!) or having a great dinner on your terrace. In the morning you can either enjoy your breakfast on the terrace or go down to the cosy and bathed-in-flowers restaurant by the pool. The hotel offers many great suites all with unique views and the spirit of the history, deriving from the historic buildings the hotel is placed in. It is worth adding that there are spotlessly clean rooms with all inevitable amenities, including great wi-fi (speedy and stable connection), marble bathroom, bathrobes, safe, hairdryer, AC, and a very comfortable bed. Quality of food - very high, all with discreet yet precise and valuable recommendations, for which (and not only!) special thanks go to Dimitris, who is also a great expert in music and makes your enchantment in it something really awesome! :D

It was my third time to Santorini, first one to Aigialos, and for sure I will come back, but from now on there will be the only address there – Aigialos Hotel, Thira :) I spent three nights at the hotel, September 2012. Suite Evros. Highly and unconditionally recommend until the staff I met there in September remains intact.

Room Tip: rooms & suites with sea view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Aigialos for 3 nights in the Levantes House. It was a charming little, traditional Greek syle house. The best thing about it was the view at the table right outside our front door on our private balcony. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast every morning (The yogurt with honey is the best I've had anywhere, ever - I highly recommend it!) and a glass of wine in the early evening right there while marveling at the stunning view! The walk to town took only a few minutes and the scenery on the walk is awe inspiring in itself. The location of the hotel has to be, without doubt, one of the best in Fira. It is just far away enough from town to enjoy your own private serenity and still close enough to the shops and restaurants that you can walk it, leisurely, and be in town within 5 minutes. The staff was very accomodating and friendly, all of them - I don't recall everyone's name. But I do recall and I must make mention, as you will see in other reviews also - Demetrius truly stands out and we were so fortunate to experience Aigialos along with his outstanding, warm and friendly service! I would have no desire to stay at any other hotel in Fira - Aigialos is the only one for us!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The view, spectacular! The service, unparalleled! The location, excellent! We spent three glorious days and nights in Santorini and highly recommend Aigialos as the place to stay. The rooms are lovely, each with its own terrace, and the staff goes out of their way to make your stay absolutely trouble free. Vaggelis Tsochas met us at the airport and transported us to the hotel where he gave us an overview of the island and made recommendations for things to do and places to see. Each morning, a fabulous breakfast of our choosing was delivered, with a smile I might add, to our terrace and we ate overlooking the caldera out to the volcano. Truly heavenly! If you are planning a trip to Santorini, don't hesitate to consider Aigialos as the place to stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aigialos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aigialos Hotel

Also Known As:
Aigialos Hotel Fira
Aigialos Hotel Santorini/Fira
Address: Ypapantis street, Fira 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#7 Family Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aigialos Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aigialos Collection consists of sixteen, renovated neoclassical houses that were originally the fine homes of the island's noble captain families. The architecture and design of the houses bring to life the traditional way of life of the island's nobility. Restored to perfection by master masons using local volcanic stone and coloured lime plaster, the houses are linked by cobbled walkways. Situated on the rim of the caldera, sheer cliffs that rise from the sea, the hotel overlooks the island's famed volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aigialos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aigialos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.