We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Greco to your Saves list
El Greco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fira | Box 91, Fira 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Fira
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely hotel, well located for nearby Fira. My wife and I stayed in the lower section, no children, just couples. Was ideal and the weather perfect. Would recommend el Greco to anyone. Oia a must visit but unimpressed with Perissa. Late September the perfect time to travel weatherwise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    323
    106
    44
    22
See reviews for
174
394
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the El Greco hotel in Fira, Santorini. The hotel was in a fantastic location, just a 10 minute walk from Fira town centre. Built on several levels, it has 5 pools, hot tubs( but they were cold) and kids pools. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included where there was plenty of choice and we ate at lunchtime and evening in the restaurant. The food was very reasonably priced and very nice. The only down point is that it is not suitable for anyone unsteady on their feet. Lots of steps.They do have slopes but a bit steep.

Room Tip: The room nearest reception are best, but only because they are nearest the restaurant. However, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I (aged 34 & 32) stayed at El Greco for 1 week late Sept. Santorini has been on my wish list for many years and so when we finally decided to book I wanted to make sure that we chose the right hotel and location on the island. Being able to watch the sunset every night was my main priority but I did not want to pay the high prices of Imerovigli and Oia (that's not to say that they are not worth it as both places are beautiful). I also didn't want to stay in the middle of the hustle and bustle of a town so El Greco seemed an ideal choice. We were not disappointed - in fact we were wowed at how much better it was than we expected. Four lovely pools spread out on different levels, spacious, clean, peaceful, just beautiful. We stayed in a room very near to the pool bar but this didn't bother us as it was not rowdy - in was quite sophisticated and I think evening entertainment would spoil the classiness of the hotel. The rooms were very spacious and were cleaned every day. Breakfast was more than adequate for us - cereals, fruit and pastries as well as cold meats, bacin, sausage, beans, egg, toast etc. The pool bar was very reasonably priced compared to other places we visited on the island (note - eating and drinking in Santorini can be expensive if you want to nice settings). Free wifi throughout the resort was a bonus. The hotel is on the main road from where you can view the breathtaking sunset. The only downside to this location was a big ugly derelict building on the quarry site opposite, nevertheless the sunset is unspoilt by this. 10 min walk into the lovely town Fira was ideal to get peace and quiet and an evening stroll after dinner.. The Carrefour was very handy to stock up the mini fridge in our room. Buses from Fira all around the island are cheap, easy and frequent, running until quite late - ideal for an evening in the stunning town of Oia. We hired a quad bike for 3 days which was cheap (23 euro per day) and a great way to see the island and watch the sunsets from many angles. The beaches of Perissa, Kamari and monolithos were worth a quick look but that was enough for us. We definitely would not stay in any of those towns as they are not a true reflection on Santorini's beauty. The sunset cruise incl volcano, hot springs and dinner was well worth the money. Santorini is a must see island and El Greco is a perfect base. I have visited many places around the world and am quite fussy when it comes to hotels but this ticked all my boxes and I will definitely stay here again without a doubt. One last word from me about Santorini - please do not ride the donkeys. I found this extremely upsetting as they are not given sufficient food and drink and I witnessed them being inappropriately handled and left to stand in blazing heat and sunshine. They work extremely long hours and are have poor living conditions.

Room Tip: Although staying on the pool bar level didn't bother us, next time I would perhaps ask to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

El Greco is a large complex and by late September it didn't seem crowded. Check in was hectic as a lot of people arrived at the same time. However, our cases were taken to our room by a helpful member of staff who pointed out facilities en route. The room (we had paid for an upgrade) was large, clean and well appointed. Our room had a view onto a vine plot, which made it quiet. Rooms with a caldera sunset view front onto the busy main road. Everything worked well although the bathroom was dark. All hotel staff were helpful and efficient, the maid was particularly keen on replenishing shower gel, shampoo etc. Food and drink in the pool bar was reasonably priced and good quality and service was excellent. Breakfast from 08.00 to 10.00 was buffet style with an excellent cold foods selection. It paid not to be late for breakfast as hot food could be tired and service closed on the dot. We didn't try dinner in the hotel as there is a huge range of places in Thira.
The choice of pools meant we always found sun loungers. Pool water was cold though! WiFi worked in the room as well as in public areas. We didn't try the spa which also housed a small heated indoor pool.
It's a five minute walk on the level from El Greco into Thira with adequate pavement, a lovely view of sunset over the caldera and not too dark coming back at night.
What's not to like?

Room Tip: If you're desperate for a room with a caldera sunset view, you have to be prepared for it to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is quite unique as it's built on many levels. There are a lot of steps, but there are also ramps to each level. There's 5 pools spread out and two restaurants. The rooms are a good size and are cleaned every day with fresh towels provided. We booked B&B, but we had dinner at the hotel on a few occasions and the meals were very large and excellent value for money at approx. 28 - 33euro for two incl. glass of wine. The breakfast is ample with hot and cold selection. The hotel is well situated approx. 10 minute walk into Fira (passing a useful Carrefour supermarket on the way). The town is really lovely with loads of cobbled streets and plentiful shops. Gold Street definitely has the "WOW" factor with all its jewellery shops. The view out to the Caldera is lovely and loads of cruise liners are docked throughout the week. Mainly American and Japanese tourists. Fira is a very busy town with lots of hustle and bustle. Meals are the same price as the hotel and there is a lot of selection. Oia (pronounced "Eya") is really beautiful and is a favourite wedding destination. The sunset is a must to see as it's spectacular.
We had a very relaxing and pleasant stay at the hotel El Greco. The only niggle we had is that there's absolutely no entertainment at all in the evening and there is only one bar which is by the pool and not really large enough for such a big hotel. Even a piano bar would have been nice. This hotel will be classed as "Platinum" in 2014 I believe, which I feel it should be. However, I still think they're missing an opportunity to entertain guests in the evening, which would definitely be to their advantage. There's a large conference centre/spa rooms which never seemed to be utilised all the time we were there. It seemed such a waste of a valuable space. All in all beautiful hotel in a lovely location. We would stay here again and would highly recommend. The staff are very friendly also.

Room Tip: The rooms and pools are all on several levels. Poolside rooms on the ground level are very close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Santorini is one of our favourite places and the El Greco is our favourite place to stay, it has a good balance of lots of space and is close to Fira and the Caldera views. There are four pools all of a decent size, two dining rooms, pool bar and loads of accommodation, the room we stayed in was spacious, clean and bright, the breakfast was really good with a selection of hot and cold dishes with a sprinkling of local delicacies. The only downside at the hotel was the pool bar closed at midnight! but on the up side the staff are really friendly and would do anything for you with a special mention to Elena on reception and Michalis in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: the first tier of buildings for convenience, the second for quiet and the third for really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Check-in was smooth and we were upgraded on arrival, which is always one of the best welcomes you can receive! A member of staff showed us around the hotel on arrival and escorted us to our room; happily explaining everything we needed to know.

We were really pleased with the decor and size of the room. Really nice new furniture but with a touch of Greek shabby chic. The hotel looks fresh/new/recently refurbished. The room had a huge shower and feature sink in addition to ample storage space for all your holiday clothes and suitcases. It's lovely and cool for when you need to retreat from the heat.

One of my favourite features of this hotel was the FOUR swimming pools. The hotel feels more like a mini high-end resort, it's nicely spread out and there was never a rush to secure a sunbed by the pool with their being ample choice. It also has a premium and typical Grecian feel. When we were there, it was mainly couples and hardly any families/children. All the guests were really friendly and there was a great atmosphere by the pool.

Breakfast was great with ample choice. It did get quite busy at key periods and some nationalities are a bit more pushy and demanding than others. You can sit inside or take a seat overlooking one of the pools; it was generally proved to be a great start to the day. We stayed on a B&B basis, which I would highly recommend. The evening menu at the hotel is nice but relatively limited and the food in the local restaurants shouldn't be missed. It was one of the highlights of our holiday. There's a nice bar if you enjoy relaxing by the pool by day and want to enjoy a snack without heading into town.

The location of the hotel is approx. 10 mins by foot into the centre of Thira. It makes for a much quieter location during the day as the tourists from the cruise ships descend on Thira in swarms. We didn't mind the walk at all although it's worth flagging that it's along a main and busy road (with a path) and it can by very windy as it's close to the cliff.

Overall, you can pay a bit extra than some of the typical package holiday hotels but it was worth it. I would return if I was looking for a break to recharge the batteries, relax by the pool and enjoy some great local views and food. The only things I really missed were tea and coffee making facilities (Brit abroad) and I would have loved bar service by the pool.

PS Ladies, please don't bother packing lots of high heels. Santorini is full of cobbled streets and steep cliffs. I spent the whole week in flip flops!
PPS Don't spend your money on getting taxis to other areas of the island. The bus (coach) service is superb. It's regular, cheap and air-conditioned. It certainly beats the public transport I've experienced in the UK.

Room Tip: If i returned I'd ask for a first floor room - to enjoy the Santorini view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#23 Family Hotel in Fira
#37 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Greco 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Greco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.