We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay..,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Greco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Greco to your Saves list
El Greco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fira | Box 91, Fira 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Fira
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay..,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

The El Greco was a lovely resort to stay at in Santorini! The staff were always so helpful giving us maps and directions.
The rooms were nice. We received a free upgrade so we had moderate sized room which was good for my husband and i and our two suitcases. The baghroom was clean and although not big it served its purpose. I think the view from the front of the hotel is beautiful overlooking the caldera!
I have seen some reviews saying it is far out of town but it isnt at all! Only 5min and you will be in the heart of Fira amongst all the amazing shops and cafes and i didnt feel unsafe once walking back late at night. There are places that are closer to Fira but you do end up paying a lot more for them.
Overall i loved El Greco and it is the friendly staff i will remember the most :o)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    323
    106
    44
    22
See reviews for
174
394
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Very impressive surroundings and great location to thira town. Stunning decore and lovely clean pools...very romantic and perfect for relaxation... Would definitely recommend and would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

"Santorini the Magical Island"

We have just returned from a magical holiday on the Island of Santorini. Words cannot discribe the scenery that this island has. In the day time it is breath taking but at night it is magical, when it's houses seem to float in the air. Stunning sunsets that defie you to take a bad picture because you can't.
I would recommend taking a trip by boat onto the volcano in the centre of the Caldera,feel the heat from just below the surface and walk on the volcano that will erupt in the future.

We stayed at the El Greco Hotel in Fira the capitol of the island. The hotel has 5 pools and is only 2 or some 3 stories villa type rooms that cover a nice area so as not to be squashed together. We didn't feel at any time that our personal space was being taken over by other guests. The staff we first class and always helpful if we needed anything, Elonor on reception was the best I have come across, always smiling and ready to have a joke.

Pool bar was cool in the heat of the day with it's glass doors pulled right back to let the breeze flow but at night if it was cooler they closed them up.

Our room was pleasant and had a small kitchen (2 ring cooker, fridge and sink unit)and large firm bed. The rooms were cleaned daily by the 2 maids who always had a smile when they changed the towels and bedding.

Breakfast was buffet style with cooked or cold food never over crowded and plenty of choice. If you wanted lunch then the pool bar provided hot snacks or sandwiches. We had dinner out in town a few times and also in the hotel resturant which had Greek style food or other types if you wanted.

The weather when we stayed in August was very hot with clear blue skys for the whole time we stayed. If you like sunbathing then this would be a good place to visit and I would recommend it highly.

This is a magical place to visit if you like scenery and love to take photos.

Thank you Olympic holidays for arranging our stay.

Room Tip: My advice is to ask for a room on the upper floors 2nd or 3rd because all the floors of the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is super modern, great design, very clean, very comfortable and spacious! The location also great as it is close to the center of Fira. For an amazing sunset view just cross the street and walk few meters ahead

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This resorts location was excellent, resort front service was helpfull, 5 pools really enjoyable.
Rooms very basic but house service very slow, rooms only got cleaned after 2pm most days.
The breakfast was very standard grade as well as the breakfast staff was not pleasant at all.
English on the Island very good.The hotel had excellent views - Island was amazing and take the day tourist packages the hotel offers it well worth doing, visting the volcano and adjacent islands.- highly recommend
Will love to visit Santorini again. Lovely restaurants in Thira especially Spinx for some fine dining. Very friendly, lively and awesome sunsets on Santorini, and yes will say at El Greco again as there location is brilliant.

Room Tip: The double standard was do able, but try not to opt for a room on the road side of the hotel as it g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a great time in Santorini, but were very disappointed with El Greco Resort. The location of the resort was only a 10-15min walk from the centre of Fira and we didn't mind walking into the town centre, as it was a lovely walk. There is a Carrefour on the way into town so you can stock up on water, soft drinks and food for your stay. The hotel says it is luxury accommodation, but what you get is a basic room, hard beds, ordinary breakfast, small shower and unhelpful and unfriendly staff. They say fully equipped kitchenette but there is no kettle. I also asked for an iron and ironing board and was told that it was against safety regulations to have these in your room. But they had hot plates in the room? Like most hotels, laundry was very expensive. We found a great laundry in town with a quick turn around. We checked in on a Monday afternoon, and were checking out on a Saturday. On Thursday night, placed in our room was information on the hotel, room service menu and tour information. This pack should have been given to us upon check-in. If you are considering staying here, before you book look around as you could do better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very pleasant and relaxing stay in a hotel that exceeded expectations. Room (508) was a decent size, always cleaned early in the day and very comfortable. No tea and coffee facilities in the room though which was a bit of a surprise for us Brits. Fridge with freezer compartment was most welcome for storing food and icing up your drinks (purchase f&b from local supermarket 5-7 mins walk away).

The main swimming pool was the place to be during the day with the lively bar, comfort sofas in the shade and perfect for people watching ;-) however, if your towel isn't on a sun bed by 8am (peak August) you'll be out of luck. Not a problem though as the lower pool offers more beds and a quieter atmosphere.

Breakfast was good-plenty of hot and cold options. Busy after 9am. Bring your own orange juice though!

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel was perfectly positioned away from the hustle and bustle of Fira but only a short 10 minute walk away with lovely caldera view en route.

Will definitely return to this hotel. Stunningly beautiful island and lovely locals.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#23 Family Hotel in Fira
#37 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Greco 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Greco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.