We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real greek restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Roza

Taverna Roza
Vourvoulos | on the bottom road to OIA, Fira 84700, Greece
+30 22860 24378
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 151 Restaurants in Fira
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Offering from 1983 excellent variety local product traditional Santorinian food like Santorinian Fava, Tomatoes balls and White eggplants as well as a variety of meat and vegetable dishes, TAVERNA “ROZA” is considered today as "a culinary trip the local Cuisine " and it is one of the best Taverna of this kind.Our cuisine extends from all main Greek traditional dishes to the most sophisticated traditional Santorinian local food.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Real greek restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was the closest restaurant to our villa and with a very local feel to it which we liked.

The young girl who served us was very friendly and helpful. The food is all cooked fresh by the family and can be accompanied by local wines grown from the vineyards surrounding the area.

We ate here twice and were very happy with the choice, quality, service and price.

Only slight downside is that it is on the road to Oia and so some traffic noise, but nothing to stop you trying it out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    22
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“"Wonderful"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was our second visit in a week and I must say we were delighted with the service both times. This is a small traditional taverna with parking to the side. The waitress is great, friendly attentive and only too willing to help. The food here is great, every dish we had was authentic (my wife being Cypriot) and tasted fresh and well cooked. The prices are very reasonable, being in a small village and not in a tourist trap. Don't miss out, try it yourself!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Traditional Greek familiar food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Roza is a great cook, and you know that when you start eating. Typical traditional Greek food, served by Roza's daughter (she's so friendly and sweet you won't believe it) and in an ambiance that reminds Portugal (my country, and brother country of Greece). A must go and a must eat. :) oh it has wifi, so you can make your own review when you eat there ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We went there for a dinner and the service was very good. The restaurant is run by a family and it's cosy. We ordered for 2 people: 1 moussaka, 1 ball of tomato, 1 Greek salad, 1 fava and 1 yogurt and we spent 36€. They offered some fruits. The food is good, but not excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carisbrooke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our first night in Santorin we arrived quite late for a weeks b&b at The Windmill, my husband and brother in law spotted Taverna Roza as it was on the way! What a fab discovery, a fantastic friendly family run taverna, amazing food - we had four different meals between us so tasted them all!!! Delicious home cooked Greek food, we could not fault it, the local wine, prices and food were unfaultable!!!!!! Anyone going to Santorini should go!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Roza also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Roza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Roza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.