We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Better Than it Looks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Greco Taverna

El Greco Taverna
Fira Main Street, Fira, Greece
+30 22860 22222
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 151 Restaurants in Fira
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Better Than it Looks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Before my girlfriend and I tried this place, each day we passed it there was one of those annoying guys standing out the front offering discounts and trying to spark up conversation to lure you in - so be aware that you shouldn't expect anything glamorous here.

For our last day in Santorini in August, 2012, my girlfriend wasn't feeling well so we decided we would get some to takeaway and eat back at our hotel, but I was hoping for something a little more than a gyros stand. Looking at the menu for El Greco Taverna, we saw it did all the Greek classics so we decided to approach the annoying discount guy at the entrance. He said they did indeed do takeaway and offered us lower prices for the items we were asking for - a couple of starters and two mains. After a few minutes, it was all packaged into foil containers and put in a plastic bag and we were on our way home with our dinner. The staff were very friendly, but if you want to keep the discounts mentioned, you should probably keep repeating them to the staff otherwise they'll be 'forgotten'.

Back at the hotel, we found the food to be surprisingly good - definitely not the best we'd had but a good mix of takeaway food and proper restaurant food.

I'd recommend this place if you're hoping to try a few different Greek dishes at a low price, or you want a good sized dinner on a strict budget. Don't expect much (especially for what you pay), and you'll be pretty happy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    40
    8
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were lured in with the promise of discounts. This never materialised. When we did receive the bill, the prices were even higher than the menu indicated outside the store. The food was good though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I wouldn't bother...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

There was an air of desperation about this place. The manager had to lure us in with the pretence of a discount; unfortunately this discount turned out to be non-existent. After we complained, he eventually conceded, knocking a staggering 1 Euro off the price. The only consolation was that the food was actually half decent but the unpleasant service ruined the experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great barbecue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We tucked into this restaurant with a few folks from our hotel on the recommendation of our hotelier, who was pointing us in the direction of the few things that are actually up and running in March. The food here was good, pretty standard Greek -- but the barbecue up front really seals the deal for this restaurant. I got the barbecued lamb, which came off the fire hacked to pieces with a meat cleaver and was one of my favorite meals of the entire trip. I'd go back just for a chance at that lamb again. Recommended.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Real Gyros! Roofgarden with a view to the blossoming garden of the Hotel Pelican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We searched for a place to eat real gyros, which we love, and found El Greco in Fira. It is located right down from the Central Square.

We drove or taxied to El Greco from Kamari several times, even went there to celebrate a birthday. We ate Gyros every time, and were not diasappointed.

They made our birthday celebration a very special one.

There is a genuine feel to this place, and many greeks eat there.

Enjoy:)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Greco Taverna also viewed

 

Been to El Greco Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Greco Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.