We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in a luxury place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Palace Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Palace Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agia Irini, Fira 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Fira
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in a luxury place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this resort at the beginning of july . No place would be more suggested . Overall experience was amazing .
I booked a Honey Moon villa with private pool . No complains at all . No minor issues to talk about .
When I stepped in thru the door ( between air and sea litterally speaking ) I got chill bumps . I would be back up there for sure . A special mention to Maria ( Reception girl ) for the courtesy , friendless and discretion . A word should be spent about the price . At a first glance seems a little bit pricey but once there ...believe me TOTALLY WORTHY
Thanks to the whole staff of Petite Palace

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    51
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
341
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Returned from a two week stay at Petit Palace and what a treat - perfect in every way.
Views fabulous, food great, service and staff first class.
Our room was a grand suite with plenty of space, comfortable and a great balcony looking over the Caldera, also very peaceful.Easy to get into Fira with the hotel shuttle bus and there is a local bus stop very close where you can get around the Island.
The dining area is a romantic experience for dinner with live music from Jennie and Yannis which was fabulous with all the favourite songs from the 60's up to the present. What a great couple they are and great musicians.

Room Tip: Our Grand Suite was brilliant, peaceful and fabulous view which I believe all the rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

One of the best hotels in Santorini, slightly outside of Fira town but with amazing view. You can have privacy from visitors or guests from other hotels(contrary to hotels in Fira town), so I would say more than ideal for couples!
The complimentary breakfast, the helpful staff and large and spotless rooms are assets of the hotel. Total white in common areas and lounge atmosphere can really make your experience trully unique!!
Won't miss the change to visit again and again!!

Room Tip: Grand suites and petit maison
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at The Petite Palace for a week for our one year anniversary. Everything from the champagne and upgrade on arrival to our Greek wine and food 7 course meal on the last night was exquisite. The views are amazing, the hotel and rooms very well kept and staff that simply can't do enough. Breakfast was a treat each day, with enough choices to no get bored, surprising given that it was included. Location wise it's far enough out of fira to be quiet, but easily accessible by either foot or the courtesy buses. Stay here if you can!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We made our reservation for the honeymoon suite 4 months in advance. We even called the hotel to confirm the time that we would be checking in 24 hours before our arrival. Still, on our arrival we were told that due to some "technical difficulties" our room was not available and so we were shipped off to another hotel much further away from fira (and much cheaper in price). We were forced to stay at this other place (which, by the way had much friendlier and helpful management) for 2 whole days and when we returned to petit palace we were shown a room which was supposed to have our luggage waiting for us but as we entered the room we noticed that it was someone else's luggage in that room. The reception lady just told us to wait in that room until she figured out what was going on. We were in that room for 15 mins (god knows whose room it was!!) until the lady came back and told us that we were in the wrong room and would have to go to another one.
Due to the hotel's initial mistake, we were promised that we would get petit maison (the best suite) on our return from the other hotel, but this did not happen. We got one of the 3-4 identical suites with a private pool (in other words exactly what we paid for, and not a cent more in compensation for shuttling us off to a cheaper and far away hotel for two whole days). Additionally, the owner/manager who had shipped us off to the other hotel due to the so called "technical difficulties" (which seemed to be a very nice coverup for overbooking the hotel) did not once come up to us to ask us how our experience was and how we were doing although he saw us numerous times around the hotel.
To top off the horrible experience with management so far when we removed the top cover of the bed we found that the sheets had not been changed as there was some woman's hair all over the bedsheet. We immediately called the reception and they said oh ok we'll just send someone to change it- no apology nothing. The mattress itself was one of the worst I have ever experienced- the springs seemed to be broken and it gave me a backache and cramps in the neck every morning!
Lastly, on our last night at the hotel we informed the reception that we would need a taxi at 5am as we had an early flight. Hence, we went to bed early but at 1am we awoke to really loud gunlike shots and realized there were fireworks going off at the hotel because they had agreed to host a wedding there. the guests hadn't been informed that they would be inconvenienced by this ridiculously loud noise issue in the middle of the night! Due to this wedding the hotel also closed down room service and the public pool for the guests who were staying there and had paid for these services.
so, overall even though the hotel has an ideal location, beautiful views and great potential, the way we were treated ensured that we would certainly never return. the management really should get its act together and realize that it is in a hospitality business and guest pay for luxury, convenience, and comfort. not for being inconvenienced again and again, without any compensation or an apology.

to be fair, other than the owner and some reception staff- the guy at the reception on the day we left was very sweet and helpful (i wish i could remember his name!). he helped with baggage and served us early breakfast.
the restaurant staff was also courteous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have just returned from a great holiday in Santorini staying at the Petit Palace and what a wonderful hotel this is - so romantic. everything is just perfect from the staff, food and wonderful entertainment from two very special people and musicians Jennie and Yannis with great music from the 60's right up to today.I have travelled the world and these two musicians are the best I have heard!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Grand Suite which was just great. plenty of space, lovely balcony looking over the Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Fira and stayed at the Petit Palace. The views from this hotel truly are AMAZING! We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast every morning and the views from our room. We had some issues that we thought other travelers should know about before booking this hotel.
The first issue was that when we arrived we had to wait over an hour before we could check into our hotel room. You would think that the hotel that has known about your reservation two months in advance would do everything possible to make sure your room was ready to go when you arrived. This was not the case. We even had to check on the room after waiting 45 minutes outside because no one had come up to us and we thought we were forgotten about. The front desk did not seem at all concerned that we had been waiting for over an hour to check in and when we asked them for a second time if our room was ready they finally took us to our room.

The second issue we had was with the bathroom in our hotel room. The tub and shower were very very small. The shower head is located right under a small window and the first time I used it the door to the window had opened without me noticing and I banged my head right into the window. This also happened to my husband even though he was aware it had just happened to me. We had to make sure we slammed the window shut every time. The worst part was that every single time we took a shower the bathroom floor would flood because there was no shower door or curtain to the shower. We tried our best to not get the floor wet but no matter what we did it flooded every time. We had to asked for extra towels before every shower just to wipe up the extra water so we wouldn't slip. Even though we would mop the floor (which is not something you expect to have to do after every shower at such a nice hotel) there would be a lot of water left over. We had to stand on soaked towels if we wanted to use the bathroom after showering. This got very annoying because my feet were never dry if I went to use the bathroom. After the second day of having to do this we asked the front desk if there was anything they could do to help and we were greeted with the response "How would you like me to fix your problem?" I didn't expect for the person whose job it was to fix problems at their hotel to ask a guest what should be done. She said she would talk to maintenance and of course that never happened. We are not a couple that is use to staying at such nice hotels so we don't have high standards or complain so for us to take our time to write a review to warn others means that this truly was a horrible part of our trip. It was very disappointing to be staying at such a nice hotel that had a bathroom in a honeymoon suite that flooded every time you used it.
The last issue we wanted to make sure you know about is the bed. The bed felt like sleeping on the ground. It had no support and was very hard. I was surprised they had such an uncomfortable mattress in again what is suppose to be a nice honeymoon suite. The comforter was also not at all what you would expect. It was flat and looked very worn. I wish I had taken pictures of the room to show you but unfortunately did not. My husband and I couldn't wait to get back to our hotel in Athens that was also rated as a 5 star hotel that did not have a window you could run your head into, a bathroom floor that flooded, an uppity front desk staff, or a very uncomfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Palace Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Suites Hotel

Address: Agia Irini, Fira 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#11 Family Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Curved into the volcanic rocks of the Caldera, the Petit Palace all-suite accommodation in Santorini artfully embraces the blissful harmony of its surroundings. This exclusive sea view suite accommodation only two miles away from the capital of Fira, right by the chapel of Agia Irini in Santorini Island of Greece offers luxury accommodation with gracious-size rooms coupled with high quality modern amenities. All rooms are elegantly furnished and exquisitely crafted to achieve a degree of contented luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Petit Palace Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Hotel Fira
Petit Palace Suites Hotel Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Palace Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.