We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astro Palace Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Astro Palace Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eikostis Pemptis Martiou, Fira 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 76 Hotels in Fira
Avoca Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel is in a good location 5 mins walk up a gradual hill to thira. The rooms are spacious and the staff friendly and accommodating. My only complaint is the lack of wifi in any rooms only around the pool, restaurant and lobby. Probably more 4 star than 5. Its worth hiring a quad bike for 2 days and you can explore the majority of the island at your leisure. Pool area is relaxing with nice view ( not on the caldera side) and gives good drink and meal service. Im glad I didn't book a pool villa as only 2 of the rooms with pools have any privacy.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    86
    43
    16
    7
See reviews for
42
206
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This 2-year-old hotel is lovely. Not on the caldera, which on my second trip to Santorini is a plus. The tourist-centric caldera area is spectacular but pretty crowded — and mid-June isn't even high season. My daughter & I had a beautiful room with a sea view and two balconies. Service was excellent, though I think housekeeping staff could be increased — incoming guests had to wait a long time for rooms to be ready. One must walk up a steep 2-3 blocks to reach the bustling downtown area, which wasn't a problem for us.
I don't understand the comments about "not enough English-language TV", etc. This is Greece! We didn't travel 5000+ miles to watch TV!

Room Tip: Book WELL in advance to secure your sea-view room! Worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a very nice place to stay! Spacious rooms, confortable, clean. It is close to Fira Center, where you can go walking.
Reasonable breakfast, could be more fruits.
Swimming pools area is nice, where you can enjoy a sunny day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We chose Astro Palace for our one week honeymoon stay in Fira, after doing online research. As this was a very special vacation for us, we had very high expectations and were looking forward to an impeccable five star experience. What a disappointment! I will list below some of the main issues:
- Although we had a honeymoon suite, the room looked and felt very standard and basic. No carpets, so the floor felt very cold and uncomfortable. Small TV with 12 channels (mostly with news and talk shows - no music channel!).
- Thin walls, so we could hear noise from the other rooms.
- Very poor breakfast for a five stars standards - scrambled eggs, a lot of fried dishes, very ordinary cheese, no fresh fruit, just plain coffee (no coffee machine for cappuccino, caffe late etc). The water tasted horrible.
- Small pool, as compared to the pictures seen on their website.
- Location of the hotel is 10-15 minutes away from the centre. We needed to go across a bus station with terrible smoke and through some bushes and then uphill to reach the main area with restaurants and shops. No caldera view.
- Terribly understaffed and portly trained customer facing staff (The girls from the reception had none of the training and customer facing attitude you would expect at a five star hotel).
- Room service menu was not updated. I ordered a salad that should have contained strawberry and grapes, and none of these two ingredients were there. I called back stating this and they told me that the recipe does not in fact contain strawberries, only grapes.

All in all, this is a decent 3-4 star standards hotel, where the basics are met (cleanliness, hot water, pool, terrace) but if you are looking for a memorable honeymoon experience, you should consider other options.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at The Astro Palace for 7 days in June. The hotel is nice and clean and the staff are friendly but I would not recommend it for someone who is looking for the five star experience. We paid extra for a 'private pool' which was only really semi-private and not what we were expected. It was also a little distance from our room. The hotel views were also disappointing and the location is not as nice as the other side of Fira. The food was also very standard and there was not a lot of variety on the menu.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I really cannot understand some of the negative reviews. We have had a lovely week at the relaxing Astro Palace. It is not on the caldera but if you visit Santorini to have an explore and catch some sun this is a great spot. Our standard room was spacious and clean with a good bathroom and good views of the pool and sea from the balcony. The TV is small but who comes here to sit in a room watching TV? Fira is 5 minutes walk away (uphill and most places of interest on the Island are, so you need to be fairly mobile). We visited a number of trip advisor recommended restaurants and didn't have a bad meal. We hired a car for the week and visited the beautiful Oia and the south of the island. We were glad we stayed in Fira as it has a good mix of views (glorious sunset) food and drinks and shopping. Service round the pool was great and we had some nice lunches. The breakfast was varied - the hot food was not to my taste and it would have been good to have fresh fruit and some yogurts. Final point is the island is very windy so you may need a jacket in the evening.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

These guys have impressed us from the get go. From the extremely helpful staff to the top notch accommodation, this place has really complemented our time in Santorini. The location of the hotel in the capital of Fira is very convenient since it is close to the bus station and the sunset view from Fira. I'd recommend anyone to stay here!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astro Palace Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astro Palace Hotel and Suites

Address: Eikostis Pemptis Martiou, Fira 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fira
#4 Spa Hotel in Fira
#11 Family Hotel in Fira
#17 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Astro Palace Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites with private pool is a new hotel built in 2010 located in Fira town. All rooms have sea view and half of the rooms have also a private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Astro Palace Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astro Palace Hotel Fira
Astro Palace Hotel And Suites Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astro Palace Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.