We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and lovely food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's House

Mama's House
Main Square Fira, Fira 84700, Greece
+30-22860-21577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 163 restaurants in Fira
Cuisines: American, Greek, Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Nottingham
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great value and lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were greeted by Mama herself! The welcome is a warm one, the service quick and efficient but best of all is the food – order with confidence whatever your preference. In a different location this would be one of the best places to eat in Fira.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    483
    224
    67
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Food and service was excellent..wide choice of Traditional home cooked Greek dishes, well priced. definitely be going back..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place is a block away from the madness. Offers authentic comfort. Our service was pleasant and almost stoic. Mamma herself is a riot, adds a nice personal touch. One of few places we went to more than once on our trip. Additionally prices were surprisingly normal and the food was awesome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, best value...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our flight was delayed, so when we arrived in Santorini we were tired, hungry and grumpy. Our mood started to change once we had checked into our hotel (El Greco), but we were still hungry and a bit grumpy.

We asked the hotel for some suggestions of where to eat and one of the recommendations was Mama's House, so we went.

We couldn't have been happier.

We were sat at a table and even though the place was mad busy we were looked after really well. We did see Mama have a bit of a turn but actually it was because she was trying to make sure people were seated as they arrived and that people didn't just sit down out of turn (this place really was busy).

The food was fresh and really tasty; we had two starters, two mains and two 1/2 litres of the local wine the cost was €38.

We said we would go back, but didn't until the last day and we were really sorry that we didn't because again the place was mad busy, but again the food and service was excellent and gave great value for money - I did say that I would put that the food was served by very good looking waiters, but you can make your own mind up on this;o)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very nice restaurant, the food is Greek Style and very tasty! Also nice environment. The price is very acceptable compare with the quality of Food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.