We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Obelix

Obelix
Fira, Greece
+30 2286021550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 148 Restaurants in Fira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Good tasty food! Very nice shish kebab above all and pretty cheap. Delivers even to hotel rooms witch I thought was nice.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    97
    25
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What's better than a kebab, a GYRO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

you may ask what's the difference between a kebaband a gyro, well for one, the pita bread, slightly toasted, thicker than a lebanese bread. then there is the fillings, the meat on a kebab seems more flat, but the meat at Obelix is much more thicker, more meat so more filling. also gyro's include the chips inside the pita bread, and not on the side. and if you get a fresh gyro from Obelix, the chips add to the crunchiness. you can already tell how much i love this fast food joint. and i may never have found it late one night in Santorini, if Lucky Souvlaki (which was my first option) was still open. it is actually only a few metres from Lucky's, right next door to 2 Brothers Bar, whcih mite explain the late night tarding for those wanting a quick feed after a heavy night drinking. Despite being next door to a bar, i still found it safe in the loacation, primarily because its a main thoroughfare for those trying to get to the main road and taxi stand. and the food.... well its cheap, taste great, and quick. and its not just all gyro's, souvlaki's are also available. have a look at the pic of the menu. you must try this once while you are in Fira, try a pork or a chicken, or if you fancy one with no meat, try a falafel, i think that's what one guy ordered.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good gyros, mediocre service and value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We recently grabbed a pork gyro and a pork gyro plate from Obelix. Both items were good in terms of taste but I found the pork a bit too chewy (ie - overcooked)

I had a few beefs with this place:
- the gyro plate did not represent good value (EUR 7.50). In terms of volume, it was less than the equivalent of 3 gyros. The equivalent euro was EUR 2.30, so this plate was a bit of a rip-off. I guess I should have just ordered 3 gyros in place of this plate as all ingredients were the same.
- we asked for hot sauce and we were charged an additional EUR 0.50 for a very small container. Given how much we paid for the gyro plate, we thought this was in bad taste
- very little tstaziki was included on the gyro plate
- no place to sit

Overall, this was an okay meal but would not return given the issues mentioned above. Given the choice, I'd go to Lucky's Souvlaki over this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheap take away, but amazing value and delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I visited this restaurant with my new wife on our honeymoon and loved it.

Don't expect anything fancy - it's just a take away kebab/gyro joint, but the food is delicious and such good value for money.

Also it's right in the centre of Fira's shopping/dining district. Defintely recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Local food, good prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great food, and value for money. Long queue but quick service. One had to stand, as there is no seating space. But that's OK.

Gyros are great. We tried the Obelix salad, and it was yum.

Surely would recommend it if you want to just walk around and have a bite!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obelix also viewed

 

Been to Obelix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Obelix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.