We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Home Away From Home. Beautiful. Clean. Hospitality Beyond Compare.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Thira and Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Thira and Apartments to your Saves list
Hotel Thira and Apartments
1.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Firostefani, Fira 84700 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Fira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Home Away From Home. Beautiful. Clean. Hospitality Beyond Compare.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We loved our experience at Hotel Thira and Apartments. The hosts (Antonio and Antonia) were amazingly gracious and generous with their hospitality. My son turned 10 while we were on our holiday, and knowing this they made additional efforts to help us celebrate and make us feel welcome. We stayed in the adorable "traditional home" above the apartments (which is just across the street from the main hotel). We looked at the apartments themselves and can vouch that these are adorable as well. The sea views from the rooms were stunning, and the pool area and lovely rooftop patio at the hotel itself were both delightful. We were recovering from our long travel time from the US west coast, so we were in our room and/or making use of the hotel facilities more than we would be typical for us, and it was an absolutely lovely place to spend time and relax. We planned a two (maybe three) night stay, and stayed for five nights (and even then we were reluctant to leave)! We would definitely stay here again. The hosts are the kind of people you want to stay in touch with after your trip, as evidenced by the love notes and pictures posted in their office that have been sent to them from other happy guests. We did not just rent a room at Hotel Thira and apartments; we made new friends with our wonderful hosts and cannot wait until we are lucky enough to visit them again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
42
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We did not stay in the hotel itself as it had not yet opened for the season. However we were able to spend a few days in one of the apartments run by the hotel which are a short walk away. Don't let this put you off. The apartment in which we stayed had two bedrooms, superb sea and island views (though not of the caldera itself), a kitchen, balcony and dining area and a sound system. It was a delight and it was servcied daily. Tony could not have been friendlier or more helpful, and his wife was just as helpful and friendly.

If you are looking for a base a few minutes walk from Fira then this is value for money and very pleasant indeed. Tony will point you in the direction of a superb local taverna a minute's walk away and rents out vespa's and quad bikes as well, which is very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was mid way through our holiday and we had know idea of the hotel or area. Maria sent a car to the airport and picked us up, and it was late as the plane was delayed so our driver had to wait for us, he was awesome, then when we arrive at the hotel Young Maria checked us in and showed us our room it was beautiful. She told us where we could get a good meal and it was a block up the street, a great restaurant with outstanding food and character, and not bad pricing. The next morning we woke to a beautiful day and discovered we had booked into one of the nicest places in Fira ( at least we think so ) and we were in the perfect place to walk into town and and stroll the streets of Fira and then come Home to the peace and quite of Hotel Thira and the Family that we call our own. You have everything here Pool, Car or Bike rental, food and most important great people looking after you.

Room Tip: rooms facing the east and the sunrise are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at the hotel thira for 8 nights. When we arrived we phoned the hotel and they picked us up from the bus station. Once we got back we checked in and the hotel was the cutest thing I'd ever seen! It's a family run hotel and everyone was so kind and helping us out 24/7.
The rooms are extremely clean, with daily cleaning. The bathroom was spacious. The view was amazing and the pool area was lovely! The pool was very clean.
It was in a really great location, only a 5-10 min walk from the main area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Found this hotel a pleasant place to stay. It was spotlessly clean and even though I was on the ground floor in front of the pool, it was relatively quiet and quite private. It was walking distance to both Fira and Firostefani. There is a quiet backway to both areas which avoids the main busy road, which was pointed out by the owners at check- in. The pool area was a wonderful relief in the heat of the day and even though it doesn't have a great deal of space to relax, I did find that at times it was completely empty so was able to really enjoy it.
I would recommend this hotel but make sure to check if you have transfer/s included in your booking and check with the hotel that they will honour it.

Room Tip: A wide variety of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We loved this stay on Santorini. The room was compact but very comfortable and clean. The views were spectacular over the countryside to the sea and islands nearby. We hired a 'vespa' for two and we were much assisted by the family. They were most welcoming. We had warm greetings and lifts to all the ferry wharves. If we had asked the family would have collected us from the ferry after booking and disembarking but we hadn't thought to ask. However, the bus trip was very interesting from the wharf. It was just prior to the high season but brilliant. The pool was about to be filled for the hordes of travellers arriving for the Greek Island crazy summer season.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Located at edge of Thira, short walk slightly uphill from town. Not far from Thira's shops. Breakfast was ok. Run by Tony, Antonio and family. Grandmother Maria Sr, daughther Maria Jr and family were oustanding in their hospitalty. The whole family very evidently look after their property with love and care. Tony runs the rental outfit downstairs- we rented a car from him and can recommend it. Bathroom is smallish but usable. Breakfast is greek style (basic), but served with love by Maria Sr.

Will stay here again if we ever get the chance to return!

Josie, Surinder and Dhaan
New Zealand

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Thira and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thira and Apartments

Address: Firostefani, Fira 84700 , Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Thira and Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel THIRA& Apartments We are waiting for you to visit the most beautiful island in the world , which was carved out of an incredible cosmogony .A white wreath of houses ,arches ,terraces and churches with blue domes complete this beauty. On the top of Fira city,250 meters of the main square, is located the Hotel THira & apartments. We offer with care our clean units with all modern comforts ,and sea view , for the holidays you always dreaming of. The cycladic traditional ,unique architecture enhances the leisurely and spacious surroundings (in a soothing enviroment.) Luxurious appointed and tastefully decorated rooms ,with friendly and helpful hotel staff .This will be perfect for honeymooners. Relax yourself on confortable sunbeds and enjoy the pool and the sun. Close your eyes and let your mind soar over the island of fire , letting it feel the living presence of lost Atlantis Bathe in the clear Aegean sea , knowing that the ancient gods would be envious of your pleasure. Near there are restaurants, mini markets ,shops, the conference center Nomikos, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Thira and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Thira And Apartments Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Thira and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.