We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Thira and Apartments

Save Saved
You added Hotel Thira and Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Thira and Apartments
1.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Fira 84700 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 48 Specialty lodging in Fira
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Located at edge of Thira, short walk slightly uphill from town. Not far from Thira's shops. Breakfast was ok. Run by Tony, Antonio and family. Grandmother Maria Sr, daughther Maria Jr and family were oustanding in their hospitalty. The whole family very evidently look after their property with love and care. Tony runs the rental outfit downstairs- we rented a car from him and can recommend it. Bathroom is smallish but usable. Breakfast is greek style (basic), but served with love by Maria Sr.

Will stay here again if we ever get the chance to return!

Josie, Surinder and Dhaan
New Zealand

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    18
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Very clean room, very friendly and useful staff,
good value for money, top view from the room,
we would easily go back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, QLD, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Very personal attention from Tony and family, and especially their young daughter Maria who manages the rooms. Approx 15 rooms around the building, each seemingly different. #11 at front on ground level overlooked the sparkling pool and the view eastward to the sea. There is no view west over the caldera. Location a few hundred meters from the town centre. Not far to walk but level it is not!!! You need to be fit on Santorini as there are many steps and levels throughout the town. Tony manages the garage with cars & ATVs and scooters (Scooters need a MC licence otherwise next option is an excellent ATV). The photos in their website and brochure are an exact representation of the buildings and facilities. Thoroughly recommended!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 11 for east sea and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed here for our summer vacation. We were only planning on staying in Fira for 3-4 nights, and we were planning on going to one of the towns by the beach for the rest of our vacation. We did not know what kind of hotels we wantet to stay at, so we only booked this for the first couple of nights. When we booked it, it said that it was only a 1-star hotel, so we felt we were taking a chance. But we figured it wouldn't matter, as long as it was clean.

Our flight landed in the middle of the night, at this point I had e-mailed with the son of the owner (I think), and had gotten av telephonenumber for the taxidriver to call, when we arrived. He talked to the owner, a tiny old lady, who got out of bed in the middle of the night, to let us check in.

The rooms were a nice size, and it ws CLEAN. The balcony was also very nice. We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel, but we fell in love with it. We rentet an ATV from the hotel owners son, Tony, downstairs. And used the ATV to get around the Island, to all the different beaches. When we got back in the evenings, the pool was perfect to cool down in. The pool area is a bit small, but if you're not a person that spends your whole vacation by the pool, its very nice. And very clean.

The hotel is located very close to downtown fira, but away from all the fuzz. It's about a 5 minute walk to get to fira. We spent all our evenings here.

We enden up loving this hotel so much, that we booked it for the rest of our vacation (8 more days). Our last night on Santorini, they didn't have any rooms left, but they talked to the owner of a hotel right by, and we spent the last night there.

This was a great stay, with lovely people (and a vary cute kitten). One of my best stays at a hotel ever. Small, clean and very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010 via mobile

A very clean family hotel, few minutes from the down town of fira and nice vew to the sea. The owners Maria and Vaggelis are very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010 via mobile

The hotel is excellent and the owners are very friendly . Also it is in the best area in fira town.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed at this hotel in June 2008 - this review is way overdue. We stayed in two rooms, a twin on the pool level and a double on the upper level. Both rooms were reasonably quiet although in the upper room there was some traffic noise and also from the next door room.

This hotel is located just off the main road from Fira to Imerovigli. It has quite a few steep stairs to climb to reach the pool level .. and then more again if you happen to have one of the upper floor rooms.

Rooms and bathroom (in particular) fairly basic - you get what you pay for really.

There are plenty of common areas to relax in ... outside of the upper rooms, by the pool and also a small covered area near the pool - we didn't eat breakfast there but I suspect there is also a breakfast room.

The pool was very clean and a good size for Santorini. Not too many sun loungers though, but it we always managed to get one during our stay - early in the season.

A very short walk into Fira. On the upper side of the hotel there is a pathway which leads directly there without having to walk on the busy main road.

The only negative was the cleaning staff twice unlocked and came into the room whilst I was still sleeping ... which was quite annoying.

I had very little contact with the owner who, I believe speaks minimal English, instead dealing with Tony and his wife who were very pleasant. We also hired a car from them - their business is situated directly below the hotel. Parking outside the hotel was never an issue.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Thira and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thira and Apartments

Address: Fira 84700 , Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Specialty lodging in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Thira and Apartments 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Thira and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Thira And Apartments Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Thira and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.