We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine cuisine and good surprise in Fira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellis Restaurant

Ellis Restaurant
| Caldera, Kato, Fira 84700, Greece
+30 22860 25636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 148 Restaurants in Fira
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Greek, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ellis Restaurant is an open-air terraces overlooking the big caldera of Santorini island,serving creative Mediterranean cuisine prepared with local products.One of the Best Mediterranean & Local Greek Cuisine in Fira Santorini.Enjoy the best creative cuisine in Santorini made by the best Chefs.The perfect choice for couples, groups, families or for those who desire a special dinner on the cliffs at the Caldera of Santorini.The old sea captain's house has been converted and renovated to a beautiful Restaurant with a big inside hall and 2 levels open-air terraces.Fresh Seafood by Santorinian and Greek recipes from typical local dishes, and wines of Santorini.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine cuisine and good surprise in Fira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Very nice view and quiet location (a bit away from the noisy streets of fira). Food was very tasty and nicely presented. Waiters were really friendly and helpfull. A good restaurant, a bit pricy but with a great quality of food so I would return with pleasure to taste other dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    78
    17
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very nice restaurant with breathtaken view at the caldera of Santorin. The stuff is very polite and friendly. Booking of a table is necessary. The food is of the greek kitchen, very tasty and extraordinary. The prices are right for what you get served. Not expensive, not cheep.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“perfect for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

the food was absolutely gastronomical! the best meal we had on the island - it was fresh, simple but artistic, so flavourful! my girlfriends and i visited Ellis for lunch and it is the best spot to watch the afternoon go by with some great food and drinks and your friends. the Chef even came out to say hi and check on our food:) the staff was very attentive, friendly and super helpful. highly recommended for lunch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“needs improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The restaurant is located in one of the nicest spots on the Caldera with a splendid view. The food is very good, the service is excellent and special thanks to Georgia (she is wonderful), Vagelis and Costas. " Dakos mille feuille" is unforgettable and the same is the Fava. It is a bit pricy but the food, service and view are worth it. However, if they improve some aspects it will really be the best of Santorini restaurants. (a) I do not expect to have a paper tablecloth over the table cloth. It is cheap and give a cheap impression to the restaurant. (b) instead of the lamps they should have some candles on the tables (c) the music is greek but they can find a much better greek music to play. If they make these small improvements it will really be unforgettable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Probably one of our favorite meals of all time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We loved this place so much we went back a second time during our 4 day stay in Santorini. I dont think I have ever received such spectacular service as I did from our waitress Georgia. The restaurant is very private and super romantic. A little bit tricky to find but don't give up ask someone! All the seats in the house are great but I would call and reserve a table next to the cliffs. As for recommendations...... The whole menu! My husband and I travel a lot and know our food. Ellis was our top 5! Oyster mushrooms with squid was the best! It probably won't happen but save room for desert. Enjoy

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellis Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ellis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellis Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.