We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best location on Santorini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Metropoleos, Fira 847 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 76 Hotels in Fira
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“the best location on Santorini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

while it's not one of the famous cave hotels this was the best situated for watching Santorini both day and night. We didn't have the hassle of walking luggage on many paths and staircases to get to our accommodation, taxis but not transfer buses can drop/pickup at the door, it's a short walk up the hill from the nearest drop off. The sunsets over the volcano were just outside the window or balcony and so were sunrises watching all the cruise ships arrive. Restaurants, cable car, donkeys, shopping, bars & nightclubs tour buses are just outside the door or a short walk away. We love Santorini and this hotel stay made it so easy.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    51
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
74
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We stayed in a room with a sea view without a balcony. The view from our room was really nice, the room itself was ok but the bathroom was too small, difficult to shut the door and the shower was in the bath. We had plenty of hot water but I hated the shower curtain which stuck to you as the shower was not situated in the correct place. The bathroom was quite shabby but the toiletries were lovely.
The hotel is quaint and quiet with a large verandah to sit and watch the sunsets which are fabulous. The pool was freezing and only 5 sunloungers are available and it would be a squeeze to catch the sun. If I was there in the summer I would have been b unhappy about that.
Breakfast was pleasant. Being able to have breakfast at any time is great.
The bar was never busy but we were there late in the season. The staff were lovely.
Greek hotels are nor comparable to the rest of Europe. The island is very nice and we managed to see all of it travelling on the local buses. Restaurants are v good and there are a couple of good bars.
I would have island hopped to make the trip more interesting but if you want to chill and sit around then this is the place to go but no beach locally so don't expect to sunbathe.

Room Tip: The balconies are tiny and if you don't mind sitting on the veranda with others then I wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
542 reviews 542 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
374 helpful votes 374 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Well, you are in Fira, the capital city of magical Santorini in the Aegean Sea and, at my point of view, all you need is a room with a perfect view of Santorini's awesome "Caldera" and the most beautiful sunset of the whole world! Atlantis Hotel, located at one of the extremes of Fira - the best part, I may say, might be an excellent lodging option. It is not a new hotel, rooms are not very big, but its is classic, charming, with nice common halls, a busy bar and gentle staff. Its privileged location allows you to walk all over Fira, discovering its hidden secret spots. The best restaurants are easily reached on foot. Atlantis' fares are fixed according to room view/period of stay, and average those practiced by similar hotels in Santorini. Give it a try and enjoy the sunset of your life! Enjoy!

Room Tip: No point in staying at Hotel Atlantis and not booking a "Balcony to Volcano-Ocean View". S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

The view from the hotel over the Santorini Caldera is truly magic. The sunset is awesome.
The hotel is located in the extreme city center of the old town Thira, close to the church. You can get to the hotel with taxi/car, which is not always the case in Thira.
The hotel is like a standard Greek three-star hotel. Pretty small rooms, quite noisy with sounds from the outside especially on the side facing away from the caldera and alse a lot of interior noise as the hotel room doors are paper-thin and you hear everything from the corridor with marble floor outside your room. Beds are OK, but not more. The bathrooms are small and old. The hotel is clean.
The breakfast is a standard old-fashioned Greek hotel breakfast with canned juice, strange baked goods, over-cooked eggs/omelettes (maybe good considering the egg salmonella frequency in Greece), but the freshly baked bread is excellent and the coffee is good.
But the view and the location compensates for all the above-mentioned. It is awesome to have a long relaxed breakfast enjoying the view.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the caldera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KOLOSSI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

From time of arrival, the staff were curteous, polite, helpful and welcoming.The room was clean and house keeping attended promptly so that room was clean on our return.Though two persons cannot sit comfortable on the balcony due to placing the ac unit,the view of the volcano was fantastic.This is one of the few hotels where a car or taxi can come upto the entrance.
Very convenient to all shops,restaurents, bus station etc.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We booked this hotel to celebrate our honeymoon and were surprised to be upgraded to a balcony room. After seeing the sunset from other parts of Santorini - ammoudi bay, oia etc. we found it to be the best from our room. Trust me theres no better place to see the sunset than from the comfort of the balcony of Atlantis with absolutely breathtaking and splendid views of the caldera. This cute hotel with just 25 odd rooms sits atop a cliff on one side of Fira with a full view of the town thanks to its location. Breakfast was just perfect with an ala carte selection. The receptionist was extremely cooperative & helpful in planning our activities for the day with some great suggestions. After checking out other parts the island, we found Fira to be the best part to stay and Atlantis the best property in Fira.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Couldn't be a better location as you walk out of the hotel and you are right in Fira. If you book a balcony with caldera view it is truly unbelievable. We bought wine and sat out on it every evening at sunset. The pool area is much smaller then the pictures show with maybe 3-4 sun chairs so don't expect to spend the day at the pool. The front desk was very helpful in setting up tours and overall this hotel is worth the view and location alone.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Hotel

Address: Metropoleos, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A' class hotel (4 stars) located in the best part and center of Fira/Thira, with breathtaking views of the Caldera-Volcano-Aegean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.