We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with Stunning Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Metropoleos, Fira 847 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 76 Hotels in Fira
Peyton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Location with Stunning Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed 2 nights (3 days) at the Atlantis Hotel. The location is amazing, right in the hub for restaurants & shopping, and the views were absolutely stunning! The hotel itself is a bit dated and the rooms nothing special, although by European standards, fairly roomy. The internet was hit & miss, but like another reviewer mentioned, best wi-fi was in the dining area. The hotel pool had such amazing views, but the pool lounge chairs were limited & the pool area very small. The 1st 2 days the lady at the front desk (wished i had gotten her name) was most accommodating, but the lady the last day, not so much. Although I never ate breakfast, my friend did, and she was somewhat unimpressed. I did try a glass of red wine at the hotel bar late one afternoon, and between the bartender who was way more interested in visiting with his buddies and the horrible wine, I did not go back. The fact the bar was always empty (at the height of tourist season), pretty much tells the story. Tis hotel is in a great location and all in all was a pleasant stay. I should also mention the hotel main that cleaned our room both days (wished I had gotten her name also). She did an amazing job cleaning our room, and you could tell she really cared about the job she did. I was so impressed I gave her a tip. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    51
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
74
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed for about 6 nights for our honeymoon. It came with a complimentary breakfast everyday and it wasn't buffet style, you basically come down and get breakfast whenever you want (eggs, bacon, breads, coffee, fruits, FRESHLY-SQUEEZED orange juice, etc.) OR you can have them bring breakfast to your room. One time, I asked them to bring breakfast at 5:30AM (we were heading out early for a hike to avoid the afternoon heat) and the front desk said they technically don't bring breakfast up to rooms until after 7AM - however, they still obliged to my request!

Room was ok, about 3.5 star, but had a BEAUTIFUL view of the volcano, especially in the evening. Wifi was incredibly weak in the room, but very good in the main lobby and breakfast area.

Service was phenomenal - very helpful in terms of how to use the public buses to get to the different parts of Santorini. I remember asking the front desk for a restaurant (Salt & Pepper) - she didn't know where it was. However, she took the time to ask other people and called me an hour later and gave me specific directions to the restaurant. She was awesome.

Outdoor swimming pool is a little small, however, it is absolutely stunning in the evening when the sun sets.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fira, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Other than the location and view this hotel has very little to commend itself. After accepting 4 star is not 4 star when it comes to Greece the services and amenities here are more 2 star in a very dated building. For example

• No lifts so luggage has to be carried upstairs
• No ramps to bring luggage again from the street, so luggage is dragged upstairs
• A kettle but no tea or coffee provided
• The bed as well as being less than double sized is wedged against the wall and fridge! The person on the wall side has to climb over the other to get out. Each day we moved it they moved it back
• Limited maps/brochures or tourist information
• The breakfast, which in any case is very limited to eggs and bacon only, poached eggs were unavailable because the machine was broken. What chef can’t poach an egg
• The photos are very misleading. The pool is essentially covered and only received the late afternoon sun and is supported by 5sun beds in total

A totally uninspiring hotel,,,,,,,,,,,,,But the views are amazing

Room Tip: Get a BIG room with a view Also consider the many 5 star villa options
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

On paper this hotel had it all... great rooms, views and the location. I can't fault the service from reception, the bar and the cleaning staff (rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels), but I found breakfast service painful. On our first two days breakfast service had issues, with no clean tables and long waits for service. We were told to keep waiting twice. I can only assume the usual waiter was off unexpectedly, as from day-3 we had a different waiter who ran the show almost to perfection. Serviced breakfast is included in the price and is available at any time of the day. I prefer a self-service breakfast, but understand they have to offer this as serviced breakfast in order to provide the all-day option. There is a service menu in the room which shows breakfast can be cereal, greek yoghurt, toast, cake, fruit and bacon & egg. They don't have sausages or croissants available. If you are happy with bacon and egg every day, then this will suit you. By the end of the week I was wanting to try other cafes and the local bakery for some variety to my breakfasts.

The Bar is basic, they don't serve cocktails or have lemonade and it closes at 22:30.

The location of the hotel is excellent for bars, resultants and Fira bus station. The bus is the best and cheapest way to get around the island with fares as low as 1 euro 60 cent to get to Oia Town and Kamari Beach. You get a ticket onboard from one of the conductors. Most conductors have little patience and were rude to other tourists.

In the town the cable car will take you down to the harbour for 5 euros each one-way. You can book boat trips from here to the volcano and hot springs.

I'm not sure i'd stay here again and if I did, I'd try and book room only so I could get breakfast elsewhere. Wi-fi was slow and lost connection and the best signal was found in the breakfast area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a beautiful old grand hotel this is.
Very clean and quiet.
Central location. Incredible views. Excellent service. The pool is extraordinary.
You can watch the sunset from the hotel away from the crowds.
I recommend The Atlantis Hotel highly. A great stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Balconies overlooking the caldera. Taxi access. Right in the middle of town. Large, comfortable rooms with Korres amenities, bathtubs, closet space, tv, wifi. Delicious and large breakfasts. Superb staff. This is a full-on hotel in Fira, and is quite unique in that respect. While you may not have the charm of a more traditional, cavelike accommodation common on Santorini, there is more than enough to compensate for that, and, for me, having experienced that before, I wanted a hotel. And it does have loads of charm as well as the conveniences noted above, and no steps!! And, being on the far end of town, it is largely away from the noise of the clubs and bars. I highly recommend Atlantis Hotel and would happily return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I booked a room with a view, it was amazing looking out onto the caldera.

The hotel is one of the oldest and you don't have to go down or up endless steps to get there.

Our room was clean and that's all that matters. You are paying for the view.

I would recommend it and have had friends stay there as well they all loved it

Room Tip: A view of the Caldera a must worth paying extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Hotel

Address: Metropoleos, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A' class hotel (4 stars) located in the best part and center of Fira/Thira, with breathtaking views of the Caldera-Volcano-Aegean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.