We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BE AWARE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Don Angelo

Don Angelo
Fira, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 151 Restaurants in Fira
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
como
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“BE AWARE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

wonderful location, good fish I could accept that if you chose an amazing place you it would be expensive but.... I do not appreciate pushing waiters and it is unbelievable that they refuse credit card yurt because they clearly fraud tax. Be aware they push you for cash in a way that seems they look in your pocket to verify either coins but they have capability to accept Amex diner visa. MasterCard and all other credit card.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    2
    13
    225
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Should be shut down by Santorini police”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This place is a scam. It is a shame it is allowed to stay open and spoil visitors' experience in Greece. We were charged 110 euros for a fish that barely fed 3 people. The staff preys on your willingness to trust their expertise. They are a well trained operation. Worse than getting your wallet lifted because they smile at you the whole time they are taking you for a ride. Worse experience I have ever had in my 47 years.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comolete dishonesty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

At first we were amazed with the place and the friendly staff, however, it turned out to be their way of fooling their customers by recommending a fish for the main dish that has no price reference and it was waaaaaasy over priced a €200 per 1 peace of grilled fish.. is this reasonable???

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The same mistake”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We got fooled by this restaurant. We ended paying 500 euros for a meal that is not worth more than 150. Of course their expensive recommendation and the argument for ever. I feel I got screwed over. I had also got screwed over by a taxi n the same morning. No wonder Greece is filed for bankruptcy. Too much corruption in this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Same tricks for the 2013 season”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Like everyone else, we wish we had read the reviews first. Don Angelo is up to the same tricks. You get lured in by the pretty displays and the smell of the wood burning grill (I doubt anything was actually prepared on it). The staff is focused on making (expensive) recommendations and does not want you to peruse the menu. We ended up with the cactus cocktail (of course!) and then had fresh fish and prawns. The total bill for 3 came to 360 Euros!
The prawns were inedible, the vegetables a joke.
Inevitably, we were told cash only-we refused to pay cash and miraculously, Visa was accepted.
This experience left a sour taste in our mouths for the entire duration of our stay in Santorini and kept us from spending money at other establishments that would have deserved our money.
A disgrace for island!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Angelo also viewed

 

Been to Don Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Angelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.