We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argo Taverna

Argo Taverna
On the steps to the old port, Fira, Greece
+302286022594
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 164 restaurants in Fira
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning views, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This restaurant is a great place for lunch if you are spending the day in Fira. It is located very close to the donkey path so be prepared for the smell that accompanies the creatures. We took in the sights the sounds and of course that smells that accompany this experience as a truly memorable package. Try the shrimp saganaki, it is out of this world! The owner Constantine manages this restaurant is way that never forgets he is serving customers from all over the world.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    531
    202
    53
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perhaps I just ordered the wrong thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Went here for my last night in Santorini, based on reviews here. Perhaps I just ordered the wrong thing. Everyone else's food looked appetizing. I ordered the Lamb Shank, and that's what I got, with a few french fries. It wasn't too bad, considering, but I've had much better all over the UK, and especially in the Lake District. The staff seemed to be very busy, concentrating on the upper level, leaving people milling around looking for a place to sit, or someone to serve them. I found it to be a bit pricey, but given where it was, it was probably about average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent food and host/hostess. Very good location and service.Book in advance as very busy in evenings

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Sooo much better than we expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Due to the restaurants location, with the views from Fira of the sunset, we thought it was busy more for the view than for the food. Luckily it was for both reasons. Again, the staff were extremely friendly and courteous, the food was delicious. Fabulous evening and sunset!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concorezzo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Put yourself in the mood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I didn't read all the loving reviews on Tripadvisor before going to Argo. Just came into it while having a walk on the Caldera high street.
So what we appreciated at first was the pleasant atmosphere and the breathtaking view from the tables in the terrace. And it went with sensibly lower prices than all the other restaurant with a similar view.
Then, we were conquered by the menù. I mean, there are tavernas all around the island that offer better quality, but I think Argo is valuable because all the dishes are original and part from the Greek tradition to adapt to modern tastes. It definitely isn't a "tourist trap".
My tip for tourists is avoid fish: it rarely is freshly fished in santorini. Furthermore, the typical dishes are all flesh and vegetable based: just try a Fava and some tomato meatballs as an entree and the lamb shank as the main course.
You will not regret it :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argo Taverna also viewed

 
Fira, Santorini
Fira, Santorini
 

Been to Argo Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argo Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.