We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Birthday Celebration!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argo Taverna

Argo Taverna
On the steps to the old port, Fira, Greece
+302286022594
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 163 restaurants in Fira
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Memorable Birthday Celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We visited Argo in early June as we ended a day of touring in beautiful Santorini. We were celebrating my son's birthday, as well as mine, and I emailed the website in advance regarding reservations. Constantine, the gracious owner, reserved an amazing table for us, and we were able to end the day with wonderful food, watching the sunset with the best views imaginable. Our only regret was that we had to rush a bit to make it back to our ship, but the staff was kind and accommodating to help us. We hope to come back someday soon and spend more time on Argo's beautiful terrace! Thank you Constantine!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    525
    201
    52
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best view, wonderful food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This was the first place we went to when we arrived in Santorini... It was soooooo good, we had to go back! The octopus is outstanding! The people are extra friendly and you have an unobstructed view of the very famous sunset over caldera! If we were to go back to santorini, this would be our first and last stop all over again!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely views and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a really lovely experience at this restaurant, so much so that we visited Argo twice during our trip. Food was extremely high quality and setting is really scenic. Service was also very pleasant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Expensive, but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Located in the centre of town, the restaurant is split over several levels. Book if you want the best tables. The food is really good, and the service is provided by friendly and helpful staff. We were so impressed we went twice during our 7 day stay and enjoyed both visits.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good meal, nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend ate here during our stay in Fira. Unfortunately, it was a very windy night and the upstairs terrace was closed off. We were given a table close to the entrance and it was quite chilly, but the staff did everything they could to make us feel comfortable, including offering my girlfriend a shawl to wrap up in. I ate a pasta dish which was freshly prepared and very tasty. The service was quick and professional and I would not hesitate in returning

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argo Taverna also viewed

 
Fira, Santorini
Fira, Santorini
 

Been to Argo Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argo Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.