We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nikolas

Nikolas
Erythrou Stavrou | Established 1962, Fira 15342, Greece
2286024550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 151 Restaurants in Fira
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food and value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The restaurant is tucked away on the Main alley parallel to the square. The restaurant fills up fast and a queue soon forms.

The food was good, reasonably priced and service was excellent and the staff are very friendly. The menu is the usual standard Greek affair.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    214
    76
    39
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The best in Fira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nikolas tavern is the best restaurant I've been in Santorini. The place was full and there was a queue, although we waited for just some minutes before seating. We were firstly amazed by the staff. The waiter (maybe the owner) could speak fluently Italian, so he explained in details the courses we chose. We had a roast lamb with potatoes and meat balls in tomato sauce with rice. Both of them were delicious. Quick service. Very good price, 22€ for everything. After all, at the end you understand why there's a witing line even in October!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Shocked and Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We we were recommended to this hotel, but end up upset without eating there. When I reach the door, the reception staff saw me with a ice cream on hand and said to me to finish outside before coming in!? Ok, if it is your operation code of the restaurant, I respect. Then my parents with my baby arrived at the door, the staff ask me again, pointing my daughter: is this yours? I said Yes. And he say, ok now, we are closed, please come back in one and half hour at 6:30pm! I was like ???!!! ...... There was 3 or 4 tables with customers in side, I was asking: how about the people inside there if you are closed... He said, they( the customers) will stay here. I didin't say anything and left.

I am so shocked and upset, this is the First Time In My Life to be treated like THIS in a restaurant!! Is this a anti-kids restaurant, or anti-ice cream restaurant??

So many good comment and recommendation online and offline, are you getting arrogant?

Anyhow, may I am bad luck and the staff has a bad mood, but I am not happy with this one at all!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Food highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a traditional no frills place. However, the food is tasty,authentic and really well priced.
Service is quick (sometimes a little too quick between starters and mains) but its a small place with no outside seating and always a queue we didnt want to eat anywhere else in Fira this is the best, staff helpful and even tell you if they think you are ordering too much. Local wine reasonable. No coffee served but you can linger at one of the many coffee places with a Caldera view. Loved it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quaint Traditional Greek Taverna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I like to try small family run restaurants when away and this seemed to fit the bill. It's not posh so don't / we didn't expect too much. We were greeted and seated quickly. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food came very quickly. The starters (eggroe salad and spicy cheese) were simple but tasty. The mains came fairly soon after, my Veal Stifado was simple but perfectly cooked and tasty. I had baklava for desert which was probably the best I've had! The only thing that let the dinner down was the local house wine, which may be a personal taste but wasn't as good as previous local wines. Although not the best, a very good place to try for a great value, nice traditional meal at under 50 Euros.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikolas also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Nikolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nikolas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.