We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupendous value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nissos Thira Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nissos Thira Hotel to your Saves list
Nissos Thira Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fira 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 76 Hotels in Fira
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Stupendous value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed just 1 night at the Nissos Thira before catching an early flight home. Having spent the earlier part of the holiday in the more luxurious Artemis Villas (also on Santorini) and the Poseidon of Paros (on the island of Paros) we were pleasantly surprised with our room. The service, as we experienced everywhere on Santorini, was excellent and the location of the hotel perfect: minutes from the main bus station and the centre of Fira. Our room was large and spotlessly clean, there is a pretty pool area and because the hotel is set back from the caldera views the value for money is unbeatable.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor if you possibly can - its noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
38
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We took the bus from the airport, got out at the Fira busstop, took a left and the hotel was literally 3 minutes that way! Located in the middle of the mountain, it was at the base of the town center - 2 minute walke up the mountain and the core of Fira was there: shops, cute restaurants, bars, more shops. You literally walk maybe 4 minutes from the hotel and you have a perfect view of the Caldera. Most hotels in this area are at least 150 Euros +, so at 65/nt, Nissos Thira was by far the best deal available! Free breakfast buffet, basic but delicious, free wifi in the public areas, nice, clean pool, and very friendly staff. Due to the Greek strike, they allowed me to use their printer for my flight change documents. They also hooked us up with a water taxi tour - 15 E at Kalamari Tours - for a hike in the volcano and swim in the hot springs!
The room was large, which is not common in Europe, with several tables, a big fridge, a nice balcony over the pool. It was perfect because we lik to go out, but we don't like to sleep and hear other people out. Totally silent. The room also had AC, which we didn't need since the wind is always blowing cool air. The bathroom floor drain overflowed a bit from the sink and the shower leaked a little, but I consider that peanuts for our great deal.
We also rented a scooter, and they offered free parking; a little cubby off of the street next to our room.

Room Tip: Use Booking.com-prices &pics for each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescara, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We stayed in Thira last summer for a week, from 8th to 15th of August. We choose Nissos Thira hotel after analising several feedbacks of differents b&b for all the island and it was really a perfect choice. The hotel is located very close to the bus station and me and my boyfriend used to take the bus every day to move all along the island without problem. The room is quite essential, the bathroom (with shower) not very big but it is very clean (they clean and change towels every day) with air conditioning and a delicious balcony with sea view. Breakfast is essential too but all the staff is polite, kind, always with a sincere smile on their face. There is a nice swimming pool and the possibilities to sunbathe there. As we stayed in August I have to underline that the price was really competitive compared with other hotels in Santorini. We loved this hotel very much: that's why we decided to write a feedback on trip advisor for the first time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Great hotel. Excellent value. Central location close to the winding cobbled streets of Fira, and only a short bus ride away to Kamari Beach. We were so busy in Santorini - so much to see - that we didn't get to enjoy the pool. The staff were great - complete with excellent suggestions for sights to see and places to eat. We enjoyed Mama's Kitchen so much that we ate there two nights out of three.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

My hubby and I adored Santorini and loved our room. Found it clean, cute and charming. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Loved being able to have a dip in the lovely pool that our balcony overlooked! We had a massive balcony which enabled us to do some much needed hand washing!
We had issues with the bathroom - the shower curtain was useless, so the floor was drenched every time the shower was used.
This place is in a great location, right in the thick of it all.
We would happily recommend this hotel to anyone and EVERYONE!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I've spent 4 nights in this hotel and I would certainly recommend it. It's simple, but very adequate to a leisure trip in an island. Location is defenitely the strongest point of the hotel. It's close to Fira center (bars, restaurant and shops) and the bus station is in walking distance, so if you´re thinking about doing the island without having to rent a car or a bike, this is a great accommodation option.
Breakfast is simple (toast, juice, cereals, coffee, milk, ham, cheese, yogurt) ,but satisfactory. The pool was clean and big enough for swimming by the end of the afternoon after a long day at the beach.
May be the only negative point is that the free wi-fi connection was only available in the reception, not in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Well we're here right now and loving the hotel so much we can't wait to post a review! We researched places to stay in Santorini before we came - most of the hotels with pools were just out of our price bracket but at 65 euros per night Nissos Thira seemed to fit the bill - and it really does! It is completely centrally located in Thira, literally a two- minute walk from the famous 'Caldera Sunset' view (where hotels are ten times the price) and has a lovely clean pool, spacious comfortable rooms, (quiet at the back overlooking the pool) and very helpful friendly staff. Endless hot water and working showers ( in a greek two star!) - just avoid the tiny clingy shower curtain. Don't hesitate, this is a fabulous little hotel and you won't be sorry :-)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nissos Thira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nissos Thira Hotel

Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 76 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nissos Thira Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nissos Thira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nissos Thira Hotel Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nissos Thira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.