We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and incredible service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naoussa Tavern

Naoussa Tavern
| Fira Town Santorini, Next to the Central Orthodox Church, Fira 84700, Greece
+30 22860 24869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 151 Restaurants in Fira
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and incredible service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014


Naoussa is a very charming restaurant which was our 1st dinner in Santorini!

Wonderful evening with delicious food (especially the Mousakka) & fantastic service.

Christos one of the Naoussa team members cared for us during our dinner was helpful, very kind & hospitable!

Look forward to visiting Naoussa again soon...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    364
    113
    31
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here, chicken in a lemon sauce and lamb chops and a tsatsiki side and it was lovely. The service was great, the setting is fab and for Fira it's very reasonable

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have returned to this restaurant every time I go to Santorini after it was first recommended by numerous locals. Simply outstanding food. My wife and I look forward to when we can travel there again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & Delicious Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

One of travellers in our group summed up the appeal of Naoussa: "Most restaurants treat you like a visitor, Naoussa treats you like a friend that has returned" - owner/chef: passionate about food, servers: friendly, accommodating (and we had a lot of special food requests ), and attentive, location: top of the caldera with a great view, great value. Try the fava beans and the baba ganoush- they'll become your new favourites. But definitely book a reservation ahead of time if you want a sunset view seating, or if you have a large party. We heard guests saying they had eaten there the night before, and were so satisfied they returned the next night - and that's saying something considering then endless dining options in Santorini. Have a glass of house wine and enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Was the eggplant dip incredible? Yes. Was the rest of the food pretty good? Yes, but nothing spectacular. My overall rating of this restaurant is based solely on the service. And I almost NEVER give bad reviews. Definitely never one-star. First, there were around 15 tables in the back and tables upstairs; however, the waiter sat our group of three right in front of the door. Every time someone came in and out of the restaurant, the door almost hit our table and then we had a couple standing awkwardly by our table waiting for service. They were all asked if they would like a table in the back or upstairs while we were not asked at all, just given a terrible table. Second, our waiter called me a "big girl." Let me clarify, I am a 5'5 girl who fits into size-2 pants, I am in noway a big girl. When I didn't finish my meal, the waiter said "I cannot believe you cannot finish your dish, you are a big girl." I said, "excuse me?" hoping he would clarify or correct himself perhaps because of the language difference. However, he kept saying "you're a very big girl, you eat a lot." So, I left the restaurant and sat outside until my party left. The waiter then came outside and asked if I was okay. What terrible service! Avoid this restaurant unless you feel like being judged for what you're eating or your body type.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naoussa Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Naoussa Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naoussa Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.