We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very homely experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Naoussa Tavern

Naoussa Tavern
| Fira Town Santorini, Next to the Central Orthodox Church, Fira 84700, Greece
+30 22860 24869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 151 Restaurants in Fira
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
perth,australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very homely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Loved this restaurant. Our hotel manager George had recommended this restaurant. Excellent food and service. Simple but very tasty. They offered coffee with some liquor in it on the house at the end of the meal but since we don't drink alcohol the waiter had to take it back only to return with a dessert that we also unfortunately could not eat. The chef was very apologetic that he could not offer us more and this resulted in us having a very nice chat with him for at least 20 minutes! It was great to be able to talk to the chef and get acquainted with him. Made us feel very much at home. We also took our friend back there for dinner. All in all I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who visits santorini. Also has a few vegetarian options.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    901
    366
    113
    31
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“homemade REAL Greek food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We ate at Naoussa just once while in Santorini, but could have returned daily if we had the chance. Very laid back atmosphere overlooking the streets of Fira. Excellent service, great prices and the house wine was fantastic!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great simple food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

make sure you reserve in advance as otherwise expect a very long wait outside. great simple greek food, very lively and typical greek. wonderful place

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great local food in the centre of Fira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We came to Naoussa on the recommendation of our hotel, and we loved it so much we came back again. Our first trip there was on our first night, and it was a great place to go to feel welcome in a new town. Also, the prices were really good value so you didn't have that feeling of being ripped off on your first day on holiday.

Lots of local dishes on offer, and very good value wine. You can gorge yourself here with great local food at a very decent price. Would highly recommend as the "go to" feeding station in Fira.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Way overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Cant believe this place got such a high rating on TA. We went in with high hopes and came out with huge disappointment. Ordered a grilled octopus at eur14.5 but the portion is as tiny as an appetizer back home. Furthermore, the octopus tasted bland, ungrilled, rubberry and emerged in a plate of olive oil. Everyone around us was asked about how the food was several times except us. Finally we asked the server ourselves to verify that our dish was indeed a grilled octopus. Moussaka was average at best compared to many in NY. Lastly, we did not get a limo cello like everyone else around us. Needless to say we did not tip and will not visit again. Negative star if possible.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naoussa Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Naoussa Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naoussa Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.