We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Maria's Place to your Saves list
Maria's Place
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Oia Finikia Road, Oia 84702 , Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
wales
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“What a great find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

With the fantastic views that Maria's place has, looking out to the Aegean and some of it's islands, you would think that it would cost a lot to stay there. Anywhere else in Greece you would have to pay a lot more money for what is on offer at the apartments. On my first days stay, I saw a couple arrive and they were disappointed that the view wasn't of the caldera. They obviously hadn't read about it on tripadvisor as we had done so often and got a good idea about what we would be getting. Rooms are spacious with air conditioning, the view of the sea from the balcony is fantastic and I would argue that the sunset is just as spectacular as the one you get from Oia. The swimming pool is excellent and well maintained and the whole complex is very peaceful. The apartments are located in a great place, just 5 minutes walk from little supermarkets and restaurants and the walk to Oia only takes 12 minutes to get to the traffic free, paved footpath which winds its way through the narrow streets of Oia, past all the shops and restaurants. Anna is a great host, very welcoming and gives out good information on things to do. They also offer a free airport pickup which saves a lot of hassle.
The view of the Caldera is undoubtedly unbeatable, but if you don't want to spend the amount of money that the hotels on that side are asking, book to stay at Maria's Place and take in a fantastic view from there. After all it is only a short walk to sample the Caldera view whenever you want to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    29
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
84
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed for only one night which was a big mistake, Maria’s place was amazing. Anna was so helpful and friendly and recommended we spent a day on a boat tour of the hot springs and volcano which is definitely worth doing (and good value).
Maria’s place had a great pool, facilities, room (including kitchenette) and location, which was a short walk from the more busy side of Oia.
Would love to visit again soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a one week holiday and can thoroughly recommend Maria's Place. We searched for hours to find reasonably priced accommodation in Oia before finding this little gem. The studios have everything you need for a comfortable stay and are well equipped. The kitchenette contains a little hob, kettle, microwave and sandwich toaster; all you need to make a simple meal but this will save you a fortune! Each studio has views over the beautifully kept pool and of the famous Oia sunsets, if you don't fancy the evening crowds within Oia. The centre of Oia is just a short stroll away and just 1 minute from the bus stop and the mini market. The distance from the centre made this a very peaceful and relaxing spot to stay yet within easy access to Oia, the most beautiful town on the island.
Anna and Kostas are both wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome, constantly checking we were happy and have everything we needed. They were kind enough to give us free transfers to and from the airport which is about 25 mins away.
Thank you so much for our wonderful holiday :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

People reading the previous comments may wonder: It can't be. This is too nice to be true. Well, we did stay at Maria's Place from June 1st to June 7th 2013. And all positive comments are absolutely true. Yes, Anna and Kostas are wonderful people. Yes, they did help us as they did with all others who wrote positive comments. Yes, you can see the sunsets not even from your balcony but also from your bed. (We were in room 7). Yes, this place is a model of cleanliness. Yes, it is close to everything while being a quiet place. And I could go on.... We highly recommend this place. If you're looking for the BEST place in Oia, don't hesitate. A big hug to you Anna for everything you did to make our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Don't worry, all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a wonderful three nights here recently and can only agree with the many positive reviews on TA. Great facilities, great view even though it isn't THE VIEW and a great place to relax, but also a good place to get around the island and explore.

Room Tip: You might like the room on the east side of the pool which has a great view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Have you ever been to a party where you KNOW that the host has worked really hard to make sure that everything goes smoothly, but they seem so relaxed that they make the whole thing look easy? That is exactly what it was like during our stay at Maria's Place. Every guest at this small and lovely property was made to feel like a VIP. Nice little touches like a surprise iced coffee delivered poolside, or a tip on a little-known (but fantastic) restaurant, or a big hug when we were leaving all combined to make me feel more like I was visiting a family member rather than just being yet another paying guest. All this great service, along with a great room, a comfortable bed, a balcony for enjoying the famous sunset, a terrific pool, and (not least important) an AMAZING value. I don't understand why anyone would choose to stay on the crowded side of town. Book this place! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

From the beginning of our holiday, Anna was there to help us and give us the best possible advice and tips on the best sites and restaurants on the island. She was always willing to help us with anything and recommended a couple of good tour trips which were amazing and unforgettable. This was the best experience especially considering it was our honeymoon and Anna and Kostas helped with that. The room had everything we needed for the 2 weeks we were there and was very cosy with an amazing view from our balcony and the location of the place was ideal for us. This trip will remain unforgettable for both me and my husband and already miss the place after 2 days of leaving. I would highly recommend staying there as Anna and Kostas are very welcoming and will make it the best possible stay as they will make sure you have a comfortable stay and will make want to go again ( as we are already!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maria's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Place

Address: Oia Finikia Road, Oia 84702 , Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maria's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria`s Place Hotel Oia
Maria's Place Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.