We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive, quiet place in Oia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aethrio Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aethrio Hotel to your Saves list
Aethrio Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hotel Aethrio, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 Oia B&B and Inns
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exclusive, quiet place in Oia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Aethrio hotel is an exclusive place in the old town of Oia, which breathes an authentic Greek atmosphere. It's almost a little village within Oia town, which is beautifully renovated with chalk-white cabins, a stunning pool, a breakfast area with lots of shade and a rooftop overlooking the town and surrounding sea. An ideal place for a private sunset (instead of the packed-streets experience down town)! The owner and personnel are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good with every day a slight change of choice.
The rooms are quite spacious, clean, and got air-conditioning, fridge, small kitchen, good beds, t.v. and a spacious bathroom. For those who come by car: there is a parking area very nearby. Remember that daytrip-tourists will park their cars there as well, so if you decide to take the car for a ride, make sure you won't get back till early evening to find a nearby parking place.
We travelled with two adults and our son of 2,5 years old. The place is oke for kids, but not necessarily ideal. The pool, for instance, is deep and there's no paddling pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    58
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
48
85
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boscastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was debating putting this review on because I don't want to not be able to get booked in here in the future or for the hotel to change and become popular with the wrong type of people!! BUT - this really is a very well kept secret (from UK Santorini hotel-hunters anyway!). An Ozzie friend of mine found this Hotel when she was organising her Europe tour and staying in Santorini for 3 nights. I thought it looked so lovely I also booked to go.
After having looked for somewhere nice to stay in Oia (prettiest village of Santorini - with the most number of blue roofed churches!) for years, I always put off going because I only found hotels I wanted to stay in which were 600Euros a night! Then I found Aethrio. A four night stay in a 'Superior Sea View' room at the end of July cost us just shy of £600 for the room on a B&B rate.
I could sit here and say that the buffet breakfast wasn't that varied (classic European breakfast) or that the sun loungers made your bum go numb after 4 hours (lazy!) but I am not going to - because any gripe or tiny thing can always be found even in the best of the best of hotels. To put it simply - you must stay here! The location is fab. We stayed in Room 12 which was less like a room and more like a suite; made up of a king size bedroom (twin beds joined) and a spacious lounge. The décor was simple, but incredibly clean. The bathroom (shower only) was small - but clean and adequate. The views from our 2 (yes 2!) balconies were of the gorgeous sea (over the pool area which shuts at 8.30pm) and the main blue roof church in the square.
The location is second to none, and out of the 3 access points you can (within seconds) be in the centre of the little town of Oia. Whilst sunbathing and escaping the hoards of cruise ship tourist that descend for their hour long excursion amd then go again, the pool and surrounding areas of the hotel are glorious and very well maintained. A simple bar menu suffices and hunger or thirst needs. It was amazing to sit on a lounger, holding your book and look up to see the stunning church and the amazing white washed walls and blue of the architecture.
Luckily, Santorini is more of a couples or older family destination so there were not too many screaming children around the pool. The children that were there were delightful and the hotel had a wonderfully relaxing and quiet feel for most of the time (apart from one annoying family - but there is always one!).
Staying here was like being in a little village of your own since all of the rooms/suites/apartments are spread out and have their own front doors, connected by cobbled lanes. Some rooms, like all places, will different to others. However, the staff were very quick at returning e-mails and explaining the content of each room.
Many thanks to Aethrio - I look forward to coming back one day xx

Room Tip: Rooms which overlook the sea will also overlook the pool area since this is the way the hotel is lai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Located in the heart of OIa this hotel is super. Great price for the location and has rooms with view of the ocean. It is extremely clean and efficient and run by a French / Greek husband and wife. They speak perfect English and are extremely helpful. I stayed here a week and they have been very helpful and accommodating recommending restaurants and tours around Santorini. The rooms are very large and ours had a sitting room and sundeck.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room with a view and negotiate the price directly by telephone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great little hotel in the heart of Oia, Santorini. Would recommend this hotel to anyone - very reasonably priced as we paid 130 euros for our room in the peak season. It is very clean, breakfast is more than adequate and the rooms are very clean. It has a clean pool and most rooms have a view. We ask for a view and received a great view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived at the Aethrio early evening and were greeted by the extremely friendly and helpful desk staff with a glass of wine and the promise of an upgrade. The hotel has a very unusual layout, almost like a tiny walled village within the town, with rooms dotted around the ground plan rather than being part of a main block. It is an oasis of calm into which to retreat from the bustle and crowds of the main street, and backs onto some much quieter streets where good restaurants (we recommend Rocha) can be found, less expensive than the tourist traps on the edge of the caldera (Santorini isn't the cheapest island). The bus station, supermarkets and ATMs are also very close by.

Our room was a little unusual in that the bedroom was a the bottom of a flight of steps down from our private terrace area, from which we had a prime view of the famous Oia sunsets. The bathroom was large, there was a nice sitting room, and everything was kept very clean. It was also cool at nights. Breakfasts were good, and it was a pleasure to eat them around the pool - which again was very clean, more generous in size than you sometimes find, and never too crowded.

Wed really hope to get back to the Aethrio before too long!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great Hotel, excelent location in Oia. where you can admire the wonderful sunset. We arrived late night and they left the key stuck in the door of the reception, good idea! Delicious breakfast, nice swimming pool, clean room and very pleasant staff. I really recommend!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at Atherio for one night with some girlfriends. It was perfect for our trip. The room was spacious, with large bathroom with a good shower. We were lucky enough to get a room with a private rooftop terrace. This gave us a panoramic view of the Caldera and the sunset. We bought some local wine and cheese and relaxed in lounge chairs and watched the sunset, very relaxing!

The hotel is located close to the bus stop, but also nestled in the town. This makes it easy to find and convenient for shopping and dining. The breakfast that was included was delicious, and we enjoyed eating in poolside. The staff at the hotel were wonderful. They were extremely accommodating and helpful. We booked a day boat excursion through them, and they even let us check out late because it worked with our schedule. I would recommend this hotel if you are a casual traveler looking for a relaxing hotel and want to enjoy the sunset.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aethrio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aethrio Hotel

Address: Hotel Aethrio, Oia 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aethrio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aethrio hotel, an exclusive hotel in the heart of Oia village, overlooking the sunset and situated at the main square of the village’s central church. Dedicated to guest’s pleasure and full satisfaction, our hotel is located in Santorini Island, in Oia and at the most central spot in the village. It is only few steps away from all restaurants, shops, caldera and main activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Aethrio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aethrio Hotel Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aethrio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.