We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mystique to your Saves list
Mystique
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Oia
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at Mystique in August 2012 for 5 nights. The hotel has a wonderful location with signature Santorini views of the caldera and typical Cycladic influence. We were indecisive between this property and Grace hotel in Imerovigli, but were happy we stayed at Mystique given it's proximity to the center of Oia. Oia is much more charming that Fira, full of pedestrian streets, cute dining options and shops and access to Ammoudi Bay waterside fish restaurants.

OVERALL
While Mystique is a luxury hotel with beautiful views and nice quality rooms, we did feel it was overpriced considering the small pool, very spotty service (not once did staff get our breakfast order right or not once did housekeeping provide consistent service) but the staff means well and has a positive and friendly attitude. We do have to say that the porter/bellhops were the best staff, real professionals with proactive approaches, smiles and saved the service rating here. It's a solid upscale luxury option if you are visiting Santorini and want access to the quaint mountaintop villages but also the volcanic beaches as hotel guests are able to use the sister property's Vedema beach club - easily accessible if you rent a scooter, 4-wheeler or car.

ROOMS
We stayed in a Vibrant Suite and while the terrace was smaller than Allure category, the rooms are a good size although the cave like structure does make the bathrooms in the back a bit dark and claustrophobia-inducing but that's the nature of the architecture.

ACTIVITIES
There is no fitness center, but the location along the cliff means dozens of stairs so that's a workout in itself. The spa is quite small and ordinary.

FOOD
The breakfast was delicious, and we dined there once - the setting along the water is very romantic but if you want a jaw-dropping, breath-taking once-in-a-lifetime dinner you must go to Grace Santorini for dinner. The view is absolutely stunning and the cuisine very good, with more sophisticated minimalist design and a hipper ambience than Mystique. We kind of wished we had stayed there, but I do think Mystique has a much better location that does outweigh the cool factor of Grace.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    48
    20
    2
    8
See reviews for
22
263
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hands down the most beautiful place i've traveled too, and i went to 6 different countries on this same trip. The food is fresh, the views are breathtaking and the people are so friendly. The hotel is carved into the side of the mountain and so unique. I want to go back for my honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were picked up at the airport for transfer to the Mystique Hotel (transfer is included in room price) The hotel is on the side of a hill with about 20 steps down. The two bellmen carried all of our bags to our room on their backs and with a smile on their faces! We were impressed!
Our room and every room for that matter has a spectacular view of the sea!
The staff was delightful...they definitely spoiled us through our 3 night stay. We enjoyed the restaurant for two wonderful dinners and a hearty breakfast every morning. Our complements to the chef and restaurant staff...also the bartender makes a great Bloody Mary!
They have a lovely spa, where we had a massage and my thanks to Balu for a relaxing time!
We would recommend this hotel to our family and friends!
Thank you again for a exceptional experience!

Room Tip: Fabulous views from every room...all the suites are different and we loved our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Mystique has very unique location on the island. Walking distant to the market and close to the feature churches. Every room has an unlimited view from its windows. Cave suites are great and specially designed with tastes. It is exactly as clean and new as what you see from their website!

We had our private wedding ceremony at the hotel. From reservation to making arranging for the cake and photographer, the reception staff are very helpful and provided everything we asked for in a professional manner!

For dinning venue, we first planned to try something in the local neighborhood but then found that it's really not our tastes...so we tried their Charisma restaurant and is quite good and you can enjoy wine tasting in their wine cave or you can enjoy candle light dinner there. I would say it's value for the price, especially to a Luxury Collection hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We loved staying at the Mystique. We were on the final stop of our honeymoon and the staff definitely spoiled us. Anything we asked for they provided us. The two women that worked in the separate office were amazing (I can't remember their names now). The hotel is in walking distance of a great market area and sunset viewing spot. We highly recommend renting some form of transportation (we rented a quad) and seeing the whole island. There are so many beautiful spots on the island. My only disappointment in the hotel was the quality of food in the restaurant for the price. We walked down to the market place after our first meal at the hotel. If you like blander food then you would love the restaurant food, but we liked the much more flavorful food down the street. We love the outdoor hot tubs, but wished we were able to control the temperature of the water, it got a little too cool at night and too warm during the day. Other than those few minor things we loved the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MystiqueOia, General Manager at Mystique, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Heather W ,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments! It’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their stay with us.

We do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again to Mystique and once again we will do our outmost to exceed all your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Markos Tzamalis

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I spent 3 nights with Mystique as a part of my island hoping experience. First of all, the price tag per night was outrages, i paid around $1300 USD and was little disappointed when i first walked into my room. A hot tub that didn't even worked and lack of 5 stars amenities. Not to mention, the pool was around 20 feet long and 4 feet high, i'm better off soaking in my own hot tub which didn't even work. Besides that, exclusive property, friendly staff, prime location and walking out of your cave into the view every morning is worth dying for. There are other hotels in oia with the same view with a cheaper ticket price, do some research before booking would be wise if you are looking to save a buck or two.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MystiqueOia, General Manager at Mystique, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear TonyL815,

I would personally like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback in Trip Advisor about your recent visit to Mystique.

Your valued comments and suggestions are important for us to improve our performance and ensure that all our guests leave having experienced the true Mystique experience.

I was happy to learn that you find the property, location, staff and cave architecture prime and spectacular as well as most areas of our service. This is indeed great encouragements in our objective to continuously improve our performance and thoroughly delight our guests.

I have taken a good note of your comment regarding the Jacuzzi operation in your suite. We have reviewed both our guest log book and our maintenance records and we couldn’t find such an incident being reported. Any similar issue that we faced in past has either been fixed on the spot, or guests have been offered another accommodation. Please rest assured that I have discussed this with my all parties involved, and measures are being taken in order to meet all our guests’ expectations.

May I take this opportunity to thank you again for your valuable feedback. My entire team at Mystique look forward to welcoming you back to experience our resort at its best.

Best Regards,

Markos E. Tzamalis

General manager, VEDEMA RESORT & MYSTIQUE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

You can often say more with less, so I'll keep this brief. Suffice to say that staying at Mystique is what heaven must be like! The management have achieved that ever elusive desire of travellers; top service, top food, top accommodations and the views (words can't describe them). Without doubt one of the greatest hotels I've ever stayed in.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MystiqueOia, General Manager at Mystique, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Vbarberini,

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share such a beautiful feedback of your recent stay at Mystique! All the team is awarded and encouraged from your nice comments concerning their professionalism and the hotel and we are grateful for this!
We sincerely hope that we will have the chance to welcome you once again to our beautiful corner of paradise.

Kind Regards,

Markos E, Tzamalis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mystique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystique

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#12 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mystique 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystique is a stylish property consisting of 22 suites and villas built exactly on Oia’s most famous cliffs with dazzling views of clear blue crystalline waters towards the Volcano and the Aegean Caldera. 18 km from Santorini Airport and 20 km from Athinios Port.All accommodations are a wondrous exploration of driftwood, a free spirited, untamed material that harness the elegance of simplicity. Enticing patterns carved into the walls. All suites open onto sea-facing terraces with relaxing daybeds. Cobblestone pathways lead to the plunge pool surrounded by sun beds for the utmost relaxation.Guests may experience an outdoor infinity-edge pool, the “Aura” Bar, the “Charisma” Gourmet Restaurant and the “Secret” Wine Cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mystique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystique Hotel Oia
Mystique Oia
Mystique Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.