We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED Lena's House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chroma Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chroma Suites to your Saves list
Chroma Suites
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Oia, Santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 Oia B&B and Inns
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“LOVED Lena's House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The location was beyond excellent! Before our arrival, Maria was so helpful via emails. Energetic Vasilli was there to meet us and bring our luggage to the room. Ahhhh, the view is something that you will never forget...breathtaking! Just unbelieveable!
The room was clean and cozy .... my teenage daughters said it was like staying at an adorable Gramma's house! There was also a small kitchenette to use and of course air conditioning. It was right below the main street in Oia with all the restaurants and shops. Honestly, you cannot beat this location--it is right in the center of gorgeous Oia.
This is not a luxury hotel it is more of a cozy little home. We have stayed in many 5*s but for us Lena's was the perfect Oia experience! There is no 'front desk' and I don't think any internet. Neither of those will be missed because you are in paradise. My daughters and I loved it! Hopefully, I will go back to Santorini and I will DEFINITELY book Lena's House again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We spent 4 amazing days in Oia at Lena's place. We stayed in the studio appartment and it was fabulous. The property was fresh and clean and recently refurbished and completely adequate for our needs. The service provided by Maria was just fabulous - she leaves nothing to chance and so hospitable. Vasilli not only does an amazing job of lugging bags up stairs for you, but is always around to answer questions and serves as a great host also. We greatly appreciated the great service and help from both of them. The studio was homely, well equiped and was everything we needed. The only thing there was for us to worry about was having a good time and enjoying the most beautiful place I've encountered. I most definately will return to this property in the future. Thankyou to those that made my holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Amazing view, one of the best in Santorini, hosted by one of the loviest apartments we've ever stayed in. It was so picturesque that other visitors wanted to take pictures of it. However the greatest part of staying at Lena's house was our wonderful host, that we called Jeffrey (or Jeffkin). He was this delightful little black & white cat that came and greeted us on the first day and hung around with us for the rest of the stay. Unlike most other cats, he was quite happy to hang out and be stroked, rather then just constantly pester for food. He is a delightful chap and touched our hearts a little bit. Therefore if you are lucky enough to meet Jeffrey then please feel free to feed him and give him some fuss, in return he will enhance your stay immensely. Finally, the chap who seemed to do the day to day managing was a chap called Vasilli, who was always around if we needed anything, but was not obtrusive at all. Very friendly and always cheerful! In all a great place to stay, but Jeffrey made it 11 out of 10 and we are already thinking of returning.

The very minor annoyance was that alot of other tourists also noticed what a beautiful apartment it is, and so wanted to take lots of pictures as they walked by. A bit off-putting when you are trying to eat your breakfast outside! So there can be a slight lack of privacy (upstair studio), but then this has to be expected when staying at such a picture-postcard place. One other thing was the bathroom floor still had hair on it when we arrived, which was a little bad as we wondered what else hadn't been cleaned since the last guests.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We just got back from our trip to Greece and stayed at Lena's place for 3 nights. It is absolutely amazing. The view is breathtaking and the location is perfect. Everything was freshly painted and clean. The kitchenette was great. We had our own breakfast and happy hour each night on the terrace with 180 degree views. The owner/agent is very friendly and responsive and Vasili (sp?) who helped us while we were there is so friendly and helpful! He met us when we arrived and carried our bags to the house. This is a private residence. No reception area or restaurant, but it is absolutely lovely. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. We rented the small apartment, but they are in the process of finishing a larger apartment right next to it, complete with Jacuzzi tubs and stars on the ceiling in the bathroom. The entire experience was magical. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

My daughter and I recently spent 11 days at Lena's House in Santorini, Greece, and it was absolutely the best experience I have ever had! The view of the Aegean is amazing, right at your front door, as soon as you walk out in the morning. Lena's is located in the village Oia which is beautiful, serene, quiet, and the people who live and work there are the friendliest you will ever meet. Maria Fouka, who we worked with to rent the cave house is amazing. She goes out of her way to insure your comfort and to make sure that you have everything you need. Vilsilus, who works for Maria, is also absolutely the best. He carries your luggage, and is always there to help. The house is a traditional cave house, built into the cliffs, so there is no internet service or phone service, and there are about 35 stone steps leading down the cliff to the house, however, if you are looking for serenity, peace, and the most spectacular view you have ever witnessed, those modern necessities are not needed. I would HIGHLY rate Lena's House as the BEST place to stay in Santorini!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I'm sure you've read all the other reviews and everyone's mentioned the view? Well, I just have to add to that - THE VIEW IS UNBELIEVABLE! Of our 6 week jaunt in Europe, Santorini blew us away, and part of that was because we stayed at Lena's House and had the amazing view from our balcony! My partner and I had the bigger 1bedroom apartment (which we shared the balcony, but it was fine cos we met a lovely canadian couple on their honeymoon and they shared their Oia tips with us). The cave house has no aircon, so it was quite difficult to sleep at night as it was HOT, and the bed is very hard, but other than that - it was great! My partner often hit his head getting into the bathroom as it was a bit low, but no dramas for the short people :)
Vasili met us at the bus terminal and took us down to the apartment, he's a workhorse, can easily lift 30kg bags over his head - amazing! I didn't meet Maria, but Vasili was great!
Must Do’s: Spend a day at Perissa Beach, shopping in Fira and have a gyros, eat at Ammoudi Bay (seafood restaurant)
Lena's House is truly something special, you have your own piece of paradise in Oia, and it was very cool to see the blue door, to get to Lena's House feature in all the postcards and souvenirs!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We stayed at Lena's House this year with friends (2 other couples) for 4 nights. Organising the stay was easy (all done via email). Very reasonable rate (especially for June on Santorini). Very quaint little Cave Houses (we had 2 side by side w shared balcony, while our friends stayed at Casa Sophia a few steps down - same owners). Beautiful balcony w table, chairs & umbrella - and breathtaking views! Walking distance to restaurants, shops & sunset viewing area for Oia. We will all always remember sitting in the courtyard/balcony area each evening - drinking Mythos beer, eating olives & cheese, chatting, & (accidentally) over-feeding the resident (read: stray?) cats! Clean & convenient. Others may not like having to step outside to use the separate shower & toilet (didn't bother us at all - literally 2m from our door and still within the locked courtyard/balcony area, nice hot shower & reasonable sized bathroom despite being separate from Cave House. We never felt we lacked privacy). The other Cave House/s had inside bathrooms. Sitting area inside was lovely. Spare single bedroom also to put our spare stuff. Plenty of room to put bags etc. Bed was a little soft (although I have a crook back so am fussy). Good to note if you have an early flight/ferry that early morning departures at that time of year are locked into taxi transfers because buses don't run.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chroma Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chroma Suites

Address: Oia, Santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chroma Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lena's House sits on the edge of caldera in Oia, in a quiet neighborhood, 5 minutes walking distance from center of Oia. With a dollhouse-like appearance and distinctive colors, Lena's House has become your own personal holiday home in Santorini . Studio and Apartments have their own fully equipped kitchen and private shower rooms. From all verandas one can see right across the sea, the volcano, the caldera and the village of Oia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Chroma Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lena`s House Hotel Oia
Chroma Suites Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chroma Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.