We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome to paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aris Caves

Save Saved
You added Aris Caves to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aris Caves
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
GOLDEN OCTOBER
Ranked #3 of 47 hotels in Oia
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“warm welcome to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic visit to Aris Caves this past October 26-29. Christa is a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome after our long journey from DC; we arrived after dark and Christa set us up with a welcoming bottle of wine and arranged a small meal from a local restaurant to be delivered. Relaxation soon set in and the next morning we awoke to the most spectacular and peaceful view out over the Santorini caldera and the shimmering sea. Absolutely amazing pace to stay. Being cat lovers we made fast friends with the cats on the property, as well as Aspa the dog, all real sweethearts. As for our cave apartment, we had the Xenia apartment, which was a long white room with a separate bedroom in the back, plus two twin beds (which we did not need but used as luggage areas), a very handy kitchenette and an outdoor terrace that overlooked the hotel's main public terrace and the sea beyond. We just opened the door and windows and pretty much kept them open our whole stay, it was that relaxing and safe. The cats wandered in and out, we loved it. And Oia is a beautiful little town to explore; it is the classic Santorini spot, the blue domes, the whitewashed walls, it is THE place. Thing to keep in mind: be prepared to walk up and down stairs to get to and from the hotel to the main street. Christa, however, arranges your transportation to/from the airport directly to/from the hotel. You must pay for it all, of course, but it is very handy that she does the legwork. Plus Christa gives very good advice on what to see, and recommends restaurants and sojourns to take. And she encourages you to just relax and soak it all in and do nothing but hang out on the terrace. It's her little slice of paradise and it was a real joy to share it for a few days. We would totally return, and I fully recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay in our room, the Xenia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa B, Owner at Aris Caves, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Mark, what can I say, I am speechless about your incomparable review. Aspa, Snotty nose, Mavrouli, Max ....... and of course I await your return. Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    422
    25
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
317
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Our stay in Oia was the best part of our honeymoon in Greece. Christa was wonderful, helping us plan everything from a full-day wine tour, an afternoon at a remote beach, and delicious dinners. With her advice, we were able to experience the famous, more touristy parts of Santorini but also to get glimpses of the slower pace of local island life. She did not send us anywhere we did not absolutely love. We also enjoyed just relaxing at the Caves, watching the sunset and drinking local wine. Even though Oia can get very crowded during the day, Aris Caves felt like a private, quiet island all its own. We cannot recommend staying there enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa B, Owner at Aris Caves, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and I am happy, that you enjoyed my recommendations. Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is the second time that my wife and I go to Aris caves and again it was a wonderful experience. The place offers a superb view and the rooms are clean and well kept. The hosts, Christa and Aris, are very amiable and amicable people who have a genuine desire to make sure that one's vacation is simply a total success. I have no hesitation whatsoever to recommend Aris caves to anyone who wants to visit Santorini and have a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Xenia was a wonderful room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa B, Owner at Aris Caves, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
My friends, I thank you for your coming again, I thank you for the time spent together and I thank you for your review, I hope to welcome you again soon. With love Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful time in Greece! Christa was helpful from the very beginning. She arranged the transfer from Kamari where we stayed the first two days, also on the way back she made sure we safely got to the airport. We had a night flight back home, she got up in the middle of the night to say goodbye to us, which was very nice! The truth is that we didn't want to leave this place! It was a really nice break from everyday life and we will always have good memories from Oia and Aris Caves.
We didn't mind the cats and we loved the dog. Christa has lots of beautiful flowers all over the place which makes it even more charming. tv? no need for one ! This place has amazing two patios where we could have the best views we could imagine! And if we felt like connecting with the outside world or people that were not that lucky to be where we were, well.. the wifi was there! both in the rooms and on the patios!
We were happy with all that Aris Caves had to offer, and we say YES to this place !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa B, Owner at Aris Caves, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Ilona, what can I say, you're ashamed of your assessment. Thanks again for your coming and I hope you will find once again the possibility to spend wonderful days in the Aris Caves. Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The other reviews have said it all about the glorious location and the helpful hosts, including friends of ours in Australia who recommended we stay here. It's all true! It was a wonderful beginning to our honeymoon. I just wanted to add a couple of things, firstly, when we arrived in Santorini by plane the lovely hostess Christa had arranged a taxi to pick us up and a porter to carry our bags down the many steps (but oh so worth it for the view!) to the accommodation. Secondly, although our little cave room was not yet ready as we had flown overnight and arrived early morning well before check in time, Christa arranged another room for us temporarily, so we could catch up on a few of hours of well needed sleep before exploring Oia. We loved our stay at Aris Caves.

Room Tip: all the rooms open out onto a terrace with a glorious view of the sea and the Caldera -your choice w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa B, Owner at Aris Caves, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
I love honeymooners and I loved you. I hope you can spend even a anniversary here with us. Thank you for your review. Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We found the Aris caves hotel on the internet. Christa was the perfect host taking time to give us all her recommendations. Our stay there was very enjoyable. Her maps and comments proved spot on and we enjoyed the island even more. She helped us with our transport and we improved our calf muscles with her cliff location. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa B, Manager at Aris Caves, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I hope for your coming back too. Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our favorite hotel in Greece. Christa was extremely helpful and made our experience great. She helped us rent a car and told us what beaches and different areas to go to. The room was great and we enjoyed our private terrace.


Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa B, Manager at Aris Caves, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Daniel, thank you so much for your positive review. thank you that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kindest regards
Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aris Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aris Caves

Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#1 Family Hotel in Oia
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aris Caves 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literally, like an eagle’s nest hanging in the cliff of the island, Aris Caves is located only a few minutes down from the center of the lovely village of Oia. Yet the placing of the houses is configured like an amphitheatre, tranquil and ideal to relax, to dream and to enjoy the breathtaking view over the Santorini Caldera, the volcano Nea Kameni and the deep blue Aegean Sea.Spread over 4 levels are 6 self-catering, fully equipped and separate studios, apartments and a suite, each with kitchenette, shower/toilet, air conditioning, internet and its own terrace. The large terrace in the center and the sun terrace at the bottom of Aris Caves are open to all guests and offer probably one of the best views in Oia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Aris Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aris Caves Oia
Aris Caves Hotel Oia
Aris Caves Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aris Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.