We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle to your Saves list
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special offers
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Oia
Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Above and beyond our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

Returned last weekend from blissful 8 days at Aspaki's 'Endless Blue' suite, and feel like we have left paradise!

From the moment we arrived into Oia we were taken care of exceptionally well by the staff of Art Maisons. We arrived by pre-booked taxi transfer arranged by Art Maisons and met by Mark & Yiannis, who carried our heavy luggage for us to the apartment. It was getting a bit late and we were tired so Mark gave us a quick run through of where things were and how they work and let us know Sebastian would be over in the morning to help with anything we needed. Sebastian turned out to be a real treasure – he would be on site from 9-5 each day and on hand to provide anything we needed and to clean the apartment each day at a time that was convenient to us. It was also quite important to us to have internet access for business so when we mentioned to Sebastian in the morning we were having problems logging on, Daniella came over that morning to sort it out for us. Great service! Daniella also brought over a mobile phone with all the numbers programmed in so we could contact them all at no cost to ourselves. Restaurant recommendations/bookings/taxi and any advice we needed was just a phone call away. Sebastian was even kind enough to phone us one evening to let us know it looked like a good evening to catch the sunset.

In addition to the wonderful service, the apartment itself is very charming. It’s furnished with very tasteful and appropriate antiques which make it feel homely and authentic without feeling cluttered. And of course the feature with the biggest wow factor is the terrace, which is literally breathtaking. It was an effort to drag ourselves away from that view each day. Unfortunately because we were there so early in the season the weather wasn’t very kind at the beginning of our stay, so we had some very blustery days, where Sebastian took down the canopy to stop it taking off in the wind, but we had some wonderfully sunny days from May onwards. The loungers on the terrace are very comfortable!

The kitchen is well equipped and there are plenty of mini-markets and bakeries in the village to buy supplies and prepare your own meals if you don’t always want to eat out. We loved our yogurt & honey and Greek coffee on the terrace in the mornings. There is also a communal area on the terrace below with a barbeque if you feel like a spot of outdoor cooking. For entertainment there is satellite TV with a number of Greek channels with movies in English and you can pick up BBC world news when the weather is not playing up. There is mini HiFi system with CD and radio player but we travel with an iPod & dock so used that instead. Mobile phone signal is excellent and as mentioned you can pick up wifi all over the apartment. We did struggle a bit with the water pressure and temperature of the shower but probably felt it more because of the cold blustery weather. And remember to ask Sebastian about the knack to flushing the loo to avoid complications! And as mentioned before, the location cannot be beat. Right in the centre of the village with multiple shops & restaurants to the left and right. Again we were early in the season so some restaurants hadn’t yet opened, but we had plenty of good meals at Kastro, Skala, Papagalos, 1800, Andronis hotel and our personal favourite Ambrosia & Nectar, all a 5 minute walk away. And do try the local wines!

Finally, the experience which I think sums up the personal touch you get with the Art Maison team is that they must have picked up on the fact it was my birthday while I was there from my passport, because they organised a huge, very delicious chocolate birthday cake with candle, with lovely personal messages, and two lovely bunches of flowers. What a wonderful surprise! Other half almost got the credit till he confessed he forgot to tell them, so the fact they did it spontaneously I thought really very impressive!

Wouldn’t hesitate to return and are already looking into booking return visit now.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    38
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
27
321
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Great Britain
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

We had a fantastic holiday in Aspaki - Deep Blue at the end of May/beginning June 2008 and would agree with all the positive comments made by previous reviewers. We loved our apartment - everything from the decor, the location, to the staff and service was just perfect - everything we had expected, and more! We particularly liked the privacy of the apartment and the availability of the space outside with the shared areas which we had to ourselves nearly all the time. We enjoyed chatting to Marjo, Marko Adam and particularly Nikola who looked after us so well. We had a wonderful holiday and would wholeheartedly recommend Aspaki, particularly Deep Blue (we did have the opportunity to look inside Endless Blue but actually preferred Deep Blue).

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

Santorini is a beautiful and relaxing place to visit during the low season, i.e. when there are not hundreds of cruise ship tourists on the island. It is quite charming and the people in Oia are very friendly. There are plenty of restaurants, shops, and outdoor activities to keep you busy, if exploring is on your agenda.

Art Maisons's Aspaki suites have very attentive and helpful staff, with Nick taking the lead in making you feel at home at the hotel. Dimitris, the owner, was also great. When making our reservations online months before our trip, he added a personal touch by calling us in the U.S. to discuss our travel dates, preferences, and their availabilty.

Yet, it is the locaton and view that makes this hotel a real treasure. The hotel is located off of the main street, and though it is one of the most photographed buildings in Santorini due to its unique color and location, it is nestled in a quiet corner away from the hustle and bustle of the day. The Atmospherico suite is extremely comfortable with many amenities including a kitchen, a full bathroom, and a half bath. At times the suite can feel large for two people, but its charm makes up for it. Of note, the suite has an amazing view of the sea. Sitting outside on our good-sized private balcony was the most relaxing and romantic part of our two-week trip to Greece.

We stayed at the Aspaki for 5 days because this was their only availability while we were in Greece. Had we been able to, we would have stayed longer. I highly recommend the Art Maison hotels in Satorini, particularly the Aspaki, for anyone on their honeymoon or looking for a romantic get away in the Meditteranean.

  • Liked — The amazing view.
  • Disliked — Limited availability
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

After much research of the various parts of Santorini, we found ourselves drawn to Oia Castle. We didn't fully realize at the time that Oia would be the best part of the island to stay (for sunsets, shopping and access to Ammoudi Bay). In other words, there are views and then there are Views! Most hotels will liberally suggest they have incredible locations but only at the end of Oia can any place claim to offer unadulterated sunset views.

This hotel is set into the side of the old castle of Oia which makes it a perfect location. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Adam to assist with our bags and then Marco at the hotel. This is a necessity given Oia Castle's location; you can either treat it as inconvenience or a plus--we chose the latter. The walk to the hotel was so incredible - up and down little walkways and stairs, past quaint little restaurants and shops. We already knew at this point that we would be blown away by this trip.

Our room at Oia Castle, the Honeymoon Suite, offered even MORE than we had anticipated. We knew the terrace would be awesome as this was 90% of why we chose this room and hotel but we had no idea how amazing the view would be from sitting there. At sunset, there would be hundreds of people cramped on the side of the hill facing the caldera and here we were, feeling like movie stars on our huge terrace, glasses of wine in hand! We could even close two sides of our canopy for privacy and just sit on the circular sofa and watch the sunset in peace. I could not see any other spot in Oia where this was even possible! We chose so well!

Speaking of the view, when you shower in the beautiful marble/tile shower, you have two windows, one of which faces the water. The other has the same views of the room which is the incredible hillside of little white buildings and blue doors leading down the the water and Ammoudi Bay. It is beyond words what it felt like to take a shower in this amazing place (oh and you could use it as a steam room too!).

The room as a whole was simply amazing but then topped off by the incredibly gracious service of Marco, Adam and Dina. Marco ensured that every detailed need we had was met. Marco even ran to the hotel's sister property for an adapter for us one day since ours did not work! Dina and another kind staff member were kind enough to help me get into my wedding gown on the day of our ceremony (our wedding was private with just the two of us and a photographer). The owner, Dimitris even sent a bottle of Champagne to our balcony to enjoy after the ceremony. Everyone was so incredibly kind and genuinely caring. Often times we ran into the staff after hours while in Oia and they always asked how we were and if we needed directions or assistance. We felt like a part of a family, truly.

Similar to another reviewer, we found that our room and balcony were so amazing, we barely wanted to leave. We did have some incredible meals at 1800 (they greeted us with champagne in hand when we walked in on our wedding night, courtesy of Oia Castle!), Kastro, Ambrosia Nectar, Sunset at Ammoudi Bay, and Red Bicycle. The service at 1800 was superb with several single female staff members signing the bottom of my wedding shoe - a Greek tradition!). The food at Kastro - which can be viewed from our balcony, was perfect our first night. Overall we found the cuisine to be fresh and it exceeded our expectations.

I also wanted to comment that our photographer, Clive, was fantastic. After photographing us during our vows on the balcony, he led us to other parts of Oia to take pictures in the streets and by the beautiful blue domed churches. Our pics were amazing (a few attached!) and I would recommend him in a heartbeat though this may be his last year as he is planning to move his family back to Australia as his son is now school age.

Regarding other things to do on the island, we suggest renting an ATV which runs around 40 Euros a day and tour the island. The Sigales Winery is a good spot to hang out. We also chartered a Catamaran one day, which the Oia Castle staff arranged. The outfit picked you up, drove you to the South end of the island and sailed the Caldera. We would warn you in visiting the hot springs as the sulphur will stain your swimsuits. Also, any tranquility one finds at the springs is unfortunately tainted by one or more of the other tourist boating outfits which look like pirate ships and are clearly over capacity. The Catamaran, by the way, was new and had four bedrooms and four bathrooms--and all the Mythos you could drink. The rate for the day was around 250 Euro.

Thank you so much, everyone at Oia Castle, including Dimitris the owner who was onsite one evening. We have talked and talked about this trip for the last few months since returning and do plan to come back to see you again. We've even just had a painting done of the two of us on the balcony to help us remember what we will miss everyday until we return!

  • Liked — Value for the money - the most we ever spent but worth every dime!
  • Disliked — Difficult to use electronic items - we had to borrow an adapter as ours did not work
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We stayed at Aspaki's Endless Blue suite for 7 nights at the end of September. We chose Santorini as our "stop-over" before returning to Australia from Europe and the UK and what a good decision it was.

Aspaki Apartments are very private and Endless Blue is amazing. We arrived at night and just walking down the path and seeing the apartment for the first time was absolutely breathtaking. We will never forget waking up the first morning and looking out from the terrace - what a view with the caldera stretched out in front of you and Oia village all around you - it is so surreal.

Santorini is wonderful and Oia is definitely the most beautiful place on the island but it does get extremely crowded at certain times of the day. When you stay at Aspaki Apartments you can return to your own piece of heaven and feel truly private and special.

Thank you Dimitris for your kind hospitality and also to Marko and Daniela. A special thank you to Nikolas who is so professional, considerate and friendly.

We will treasure our fond memories of Santorini and especially Oia and Endless Blue.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Aspaki Suites this past September for our honeymoon -- five nights in Endless Blue and one night in Deep Blue. I was excited about all aspects of our trip, but Santorini was by far the island I was most excited to visit.

From the get go we LOVED the Aspaki family and when we return it could only be to the amazing Aspaki Suites. These are traditional luxury suites set in a secluded area of Oia Village in Santorini. The suites are perched the farthest out on the cliff and therefore give it the most seclusion than the other hotels that are piled upon each other. We were greeted by Nikolas when we arrived by taxi who helped us with all our luggage and even though our 3 pieces were extremely heavy he wouldn't let us touch a thing. He was fantastic and we loved running into him around town.

Endless Blue, as has been said before, is amazing. When we were first shown into our suite, I almost wanted to cry because the view from the balcony itself is too beautiful for words. The rest of the suite is extremely charming with the useful kitchen, the cozy living room area, the dining room, and the unique loft bedroom! From every window, you have amazing views of Oia. But to be honest, all I wanted to do was just sit out on the balcony the entire time. My husband had to literally pull me away to visit other parts of the island. And it is true that there are always tourists right outside the gates to Aspaki because it really does have the best view of the Caldera.

You also have all the anemities available to you. A cell phone to contact Marco at reception, Nikolas, or even Dimitris the owner for emergencies! The room is cleaned daily. I believe there is also wi-fi, but we didn't use that on our trip and there is also a safe which is very useful. Marco, who is also very, very friendly and helpful, made all our dinner and scooter reservations for us. He was always willing to help us out and give us tips about Oia. There is no continental breakfast included in the price, but I didn't mind it at all as we were able to get fresh croissants from Melenios which is a hop, skip, and a step away from Aspaki when we did wake up in time for breakfast. The bathroom is a small european-style bathroom and for a person who usually has issues with not-so-modern bathrooms I didn't mind the bathroom in our suite at all.

We stayed at Deep Blue for our last night in Santorini and it is also very charming. It's right next to the sunbathing area and outdoor area that I believe is shared among all the Aspaki guests. There is a nice hydrotub as well as the regular shower located in the lower part of the traditional cave suite. The kitchen is very well-designed and the bed is extremely comfy. You also get an amazing view of the Caldera from Deep Blue.

Nikolas showed us the Atmostpherico Suite and that is an amazing suite also. It's spacious and has a very private balcony. It would be good for a group of friends or a larger family to stay at since there are so many rooms. Although if the two of us return we would want to try Atmospherico. Marco also showed us some of the rooms at Oia Castle on our last day: Sunset, Aqua, Marine, and the new suite Olympic and all were simply beautiful. Oia Castle has a more modern feel with newer amenities (since it is newer) and with a fantastic view of the famous Oia Sunset. Sunset, Aqua, and Marine have amazing balconies to watch the sunset from.

Aside from the charming suites with to-die-for views, I think what made our stay most enjoyable was the friendliness and thoughtfulness of the entire staff. We really felt like a part of the family. We can't wait to come back to Oia!

  • Liked — the view, the location, the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

Oia was the last stop on our vacation and I decided to spend the most money on our hotel stay in Oia to end our vacation with a luxurious experience. Boy did I mess up with the Hotel I chose. I really thought I did good based on the previous reviews on this site for Oia Castle but boy was I mislead. If you enjoy 5 star experience when you travel do not stay here. We had to carry our luggage through town to get to the "castle" once there the room was so strange. There were no windows in the room. I felt like I was in a cave. The bed faced the door and we all know that is a big no no in feng shui. The TV was tiny and put in a corner where no one would ever consider watching. There were no rugs to make the room feel cozy. The bedding was horrific and looked as if it needed washing. The bathroom was what topped it off, there was mildew on the bottom of the shower curtain and the tub was so dangerously high that you had to climb into it. The shower experience overall was scary. Tiles on the floor of the bathroom were dangerously slippery. Oh and the amazing grotto pool was the scariest thing I have ever seen. There were bugs in it and it just did not look appealing at all. I was so upset that I started to cry and felt so bad that I had made the worst decision especially since we were looking so forward to our last stay. The next day we received our breakfast which was stale bread in a basket and that just did it. I called Mystique and thank god they had a room for us and for less $. I knew at this point the owner was not going to give us our money back but we wanted to get out of there so bad that we did not care and decided to suck up our losses and leave so we could continue on with our vacation. In the end the only good part of staying at this castle was the view and the outdoor space. But once we got to Mystique the view was just as nice and the outdoor space was great as well and we got real service real breakfast and a real comfortable experience. Please do not make the same mistake I did go to mystique or katakies or ikes.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — everything else including service and room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artmaisons, owner at Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle, responded to this review, September 28, 2008
Dear Guests,


We are very sorry and very surprised at the same time to find out that you had so many complaints about your stay with us.

On your departure, you informed us that the only reason for your early check-out was the position of the bed that didn't match the Feng-Shui criteria.

We didn't charge you the full amount of your reservation that we were supposed to do according to our cancellation policy.

Our bell boy waited for you and assisted you with the luggage, in spite of long delay of your ferry boat from Mykonos.

The room in which you had a feeling like you were in a cave, is the part of a traditional cave settlement transformed into a luxury hotel.
Kindly note that these cave settlements are the unique beauty of Santorini, and something that we are trying to preserve as such.

Regarding the pool, you are right - it's a grotto pool situated in the suite.
The only thing that we would like to mention is that this pool has the automatic filter system which cleans the water if something falls inside.
Also, in the bathroom we have placed the french style bathtub of high quality.

As for the breakfast, we specify clearly on our website that we provide continental breakfast, with fresh bread delivered every morning from the local bakery.

We will definitely take into consideration your comment about the position and size of the plasma TV.

Once again we apologize and we deeply regret that you didn't give us the chance to find the best way to make your stay with us more pleasant.

Sincerely,
Dimitris Nikolouzos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#10 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Maisons Exclusive Boutique Hotels is composed of 2 Luxury Hotels: AspakiExclusive Suites and Oia Castle Luxury Suites.Due to its unique location on the cape of the Caldera, Aspaki Exclusive Hotel offers best panoramic views of the entire village and Volvano /Caldera in the most perfect setting ensuring ultimate privacy for our guests.Oia Castle Luxury Hotel is located on the Castle where the famous movie "Summer Lovers" was filmed. The Suites and Villas were combined with every modern-day luxury offering a direct sunset view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels: Aspaki & Oia Castle Hotel Oia
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels: Aspaki And Oia Castle
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.