We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing view / didn't want to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nostos Apartments

Save Saved
You added Nostos Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nostos Apartments
Oia village, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 47 hotels in Oia
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“amazing view / didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

very happy!

(+)

huge terrace (room 106) right next to the
fantastic pool perfect for sunbathing and then taking a quick dip

large cool room with simple elegant furnishings

quiet and peaceful despite close proximity to the Oia tourist trap

the view!

lovely staff (be sure to ask Maya anything at all, she is very helpful)

(-)

25Euros each way transfers - should be free given hotel cost & the dodgy service provided
on the way there the taxi wasn't at the airport when we arrived and when it did turn up we had to share with others who were getting off at other hotels on route. on the way back the taxi driver overcharged us because of 'traffic'

breakfast isn't great

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    32
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
15
162
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nostos Apartments was the most amazing place to stay! My husband and I travel a fair amount, and this was definitely our favorite trip ever.
Oia is beautiful, and so romantic. Nostos has such a perfect location at the end of the walkway of Oia. It has a beautiful view from all parts of the property, from the rooms to the pool to the breakfast room. The rooms were also very nice, and it is so cool the way that they are built into the cliffs.
Mya was a fantastic hostess/front desk person. She was so helpful, and very nice.
We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Selecting a place to stay in Oia was a bit of a headache. Huge selection of hotels/apartments with a wide range of prices. Then there's the caldera or sunset view question?

My choices came down to Nostos and Fanari. Chose Nostos because it was cheaper and I have no regrets.

Rooms:
- Very spacious and clean. Strong AC. Every room has a mostly private veranda outside the room with sunbeds/chairs and a table that overlooks the sea.

Staff:
- Maya was absolutely wonderful. She answered all my questions, helped with booking ATVs and my ferry to Mykonos. And they have a bell boy to help with your luggage at the top of the steps. It's not an easy hike up and down carrying luggage so please tip him.

Grounds:
- Small but spacious enough. There are only about 5-7 apartments I think. The breakfast room had an amazing view of the sea. Pool was a good size. Never more than 4 people in there while we were there.

Location:
- Close to the main street so it's not a far walk from the taxi drop off. Other hotels/apartments will require you to walk all the way down the walking path. But it's down the hill of steps so it's very secluded and quiet.

View:
- I would say it's more of a half caldera view. The right side is just a brown hill. Not so nice. Left side provides the view of the other hotels. You can't directly see the sunset but you can see the sky change colors. Just walk down the walk path and catch the sunset.

Breakfast:
- Buffet style included with your stay. Croissants, baked goods, ham, cheese, coffee, fruits, hard boiled eggs, and FRESH SQUEEZED JUICE! That alone made me happy.

Overall, I had a very enjoyable stay and would not think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon after spending a week on amazing, but busy and crazy Mykonos. The hotel is probably the best value for money on the kaldera, considering you are still getting the view everyone is really paying for. Our room was so perfect, I think I had some of my best sleep in years. It was incredibly peaceful and serene to wake up to nothing but blue skies and blue waters. Our veranda was enormous and one of my favourite nights was getting a take-out from one of the restaurants and making a romantic dinner just for us, with the view.

Maya who works at reception was extremely friendly and helpful and helped us arrange a fantastic dinner out (Ambrosia restaurant), taxis and anything else we needed during our stay.

I would fully recommend this hotel and would stay here again. There really is very little difference between this lovely hotel and some that charge 200+ Euros extra, except the size of the swimming pool. You cannot go wrong with this place, fully recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon in 2012. We had a corner room on the upper level and absolutely privacy. Weather, view and room were ideal and worth the price. Just a couple negatives: The wi-fi was working aboug 10% of the time and this was irritating. The breakfast was just average - I had stayed at another place in Fira a few years back and the breakfast spread was much larger. These two issues could be attributed to being there off peak season. Service and hosts were top-notch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

A defenite must if you prefer to stay in Santorini! Go for one bedroom apartment with a fantastic sea view! The staff is very helpful and will have great recommendations for you - restaurants, activities. The location in Oia cannot be better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

My partner & I have just returned from staying here for a week and it was just perfect! I spent hours trawling through reviews for Oia and really wanted to get it right and this place surpassed my expectations it was brilliant.

The staff are so friendly, Maria on reception and Marela serving breakfast always had a smile and time to help with anything including recommending some great places to eat and see. It's not the most expensive or is it the cheapest but if you make sure you know what it is you want and if this place ticks your boxes you won't be dissapointed.

The views offered from the rooms are just the best, it's breathtaking every time you step out onto the terrace. The rooms were really comfortable, clean and always cool even though it was extremely hot outside. There is a pool, which is small but great for cooling off in whilst taking in the views around. Its not really one you would lie around as there is limited space but great for siiting around with legs in the water with a good book. The balconys are well furnished with cushioned sun loungers and table & chairs. We stayed in room 106, which is right on the front with uninterupted views and has a great sized terrace. It's probably the most private and just a few steps away from the pool. Room 107 is similar.

There are quite a lot of steps down to the rooms, but you will find most of the accommodation will have in Oia if you want the type of views Nostos offers. Don't worry about your cases though as Marelas brother kindly carries them up & down for you as well as lighting the lanterns each night on the terraces, which makes the place look magical.

Breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from and was offered until late in the morning, meaning you could take your time without rushing.

The place is in a great position for the rest of the town as its tucked away but well located for the restaurants & shops & even has a handy little mini market located at the top of the steps.

I've also reviewed some restaurants and excursions if you're interested. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Room 106 or 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nostos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Apartments

Address: Oia village, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#15 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small settlement located in OIA on the Santorini Island,consist of 8 units for 2 till 5 persons, reception, bar and pool facilities. Settlement is situated on the edge of the Volcano crater, overlooking the see and islets around. Each unit is fully equipped and can work as an independent bungalow (fully equipped kitchen, terrace etc.) Cave-like looking apartments, just 3-5 minutes walking distance from the center of the village and shopping center, but on the really calm area... relaxing and romantic atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Nostos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nostos Apartments Oia
Nostos Apartments Hotel Oia
Nostos Apartments Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostos Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.