We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuff Dreams Are Made Of....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AltaMare by Andronis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added AltaMare by Andronis to your Saves list
AltaMare by Andronis
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Nevada City, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stuff Dreams Are Made Of....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We were cheerfully greeted by a friendly (and handsome!) young man who escorted us through the crowds to AltaMare's lovely reception room~and were handed a refreshing adult beverage while our bags were whisked to our room. We were then guided to our room (not fancy or pretentious, just clean, attractive and spacious) with lovely views of the caldera out the back and off the front patio. We were especially thrilled with our private, personal sized 'dipping' pool where one can soak away the day's arduous activities while gazing upon the quintessential Santorini hillsides and caldera. Breakfast at AltaMare is exceptional~ especially with the warm welcome from Panos....who is helpful, friendly and skilled at managing his guests' every inquiry. The food and coffee were remarkably delicious. We loved the central location of this hotel. Yes, the stairs were narrow, steep and intimidating, but 'welcome to Santorini'! We quickly got used to them and considered them an asset as we didn't gain a single pound during our Greek Isles trip. We would definitely return to AltaMare.

Room Tip: Room #5 was the perfect Santorini experience for us. The bathroom was unique (looked like an elegant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    14
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We had a fabulous time at Alta Mare! First off, as every review has said, Panos, the do-it-all man at the hotel, was excellent, and he makes a delicious greek coffee and puts together an excellent breakfast spread. Anything and everything we needed he was there for. He reserved us a catamaran tour, which was great, set us up w a rental car and gave us excellent restaurant recommendations. We had a great room, #9, and while the people in the room next to us had to walk through our balcony to get to their room, we maybe saw them 3 times in 4 days, so it was never an issue. The room is great, although the bed is not a 4-5 star bed, but is still very comfortable. This hotel, like most hotels in Oia, is on the pedestrian walkway, but the parking lot where cabs/buses/transportation to activities like boat tours is a 2-3 min walk away and the porter will meet you there and take your bags, so you don't need to lug them up and down the steep steps to the hotel. The people who are complaining about this hotel are the type of people who come to one of the most expensive islands in the world and still expect to pay 3 star prices for a 5 star room. Yes its expensive, and at home, I would expect more for the price, but in Santorini, I felt very good about the cost of the room for the quality of the hotel, especially considering the breathtaking views and excellent service by Panos. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Positive:

The Gentlemen working by the pool (Panos) was Excellent and got everything that we asked for.

Negatives:

1. So not true to advertise it as Suite. Reality is you get A room with cheap furnitures and NOTHING screams LUXURY at all !! I would classified it as a BED and BREAKFAST only!

2. Super expensive and definitely not worth the money !

3. Privacy????? No privacy at all as the 'neighbours' can look / walk into your balcony from the sides and up!!

3. Don't be deceived by Hotel when they tell you its reachable by driving TO the Hotel. So not true !!!! the Hotel was situated in the pedestrian walking sides and definitely need to drag the luggage to the Hotel.

Would definitely NOT recommending this Hotel to those visiting Santorini!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos_Filippidis, General Manager at AltaMare by Andronis, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear SHu_6161,

I would like to thank you for your good words regarding Panos service but I would also like to make some remarks regarding your review as we feel that it is not relevant to the impressions of our other guests.

We do not state anywhere on our website that our guests can drive to the front door of the hotel and we are confident no one of our staff members would ever advice it is. Oia is a protected settlement thus, cars are not allowed inside the village. As part of our welcome procedure we always meet guests that we know about their arrival details at the main parking and we carry their luggage for them. It is a standard process we have been following for years and was always appreciated by all our guests. We would have happily done the same if you had called us.

We do acknowledge that privacy is not absolute at the hotel however you should note that it is built on a cliff and has the same structure as any other hotel on the Caldera. To get a suite with the world’s most breathtaking views unfortunately you have to compromise something of your privacy.

All our suites have their own individual design and are at least 35 sq. m. with a sitting area as well as a private Jacuzzi, high standard amenities and state of the art TV’s and DVD players. We so successfully portray the minimalistic design of our suites on our website and it comprises of some unique pieces of traditional furniture made of solid wood that would not be called “cheap” by any standards.

Kind regards,

George Filippidis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

The wife and I spent three days at AltaMare in Oia. This was our third trip back to Santorini Greece. First, this place is expensive and really advertises a luxury experience. I'm sorry, but this place is nowhere near a 5 star or 4 star hotel in my opinion for the asking price. I will state the one positive fact first - the concierge gentleman working downstairs by the pool was EXCELLENT. Anything we asked from him, he made happen.

And that's it for the positives.

Our room was small and dark. Not enough lighting. The bedroom had a blown out bulb and so did the bathroom (5 star? Really?). The bathroom bulb was changed as soon as I notified the concierge. The toilet seat for our room was BROKEN. It was completely broken off. The room had ants everywhere. For the amount of money they ask for, this place is DEFINITELY not worth it.
Breakfast was good, but nothing special. The pool, though nice, we never used.

Honestly, paying around $500 a night USD for a tiny ant infested room, when my relatives were staying further down at Chelidonia Villas in a room that was 3x bigger for only $208 a night - YOU DO THE MATH! I've also stayed at Aris Caves, which offered a room 2x as big as our room at AltaMare for only $190 a night. Yes, there is no concierge at both of those hotels, but still, who cares. I can go book my own dinners because AltaMare botched my anniversary/family dinner anyway.

Speaking of concierge, my wife specifically asked the front desk to book a table at Kyprida with a sunset view for my entire family (8 people total) and our anniversary. They botched it. One simple request and they couldn't get it right. That's not worth $500 a night!!!

Want a huge room, full kitchen, dishes, and pest free? Go with Chelidonia Villas or Aris Caves

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Me and my fiance stayed here whilst in santorini. Best hotel we have ever stayed in. Panos one of the staff members went above and beyond to ensure our stay here was amazing. The views of oia from our balcony were spectacular. The private jacuzzi was just a bonus. Buffet breakfast was so good.. got to order fresh from menu. With a good selection of breakfast goods. On our last night in santorini they upgraded us to a luxury suite as they wanted our last night in santorini to be perfect.This place is a must if you want accomidation in santorini. I dont have one complaint about this place and it has made our holiday in santorini one we will never forget! 10/10 amazing ! I will be back for sure. If you stay anywhere else but adronis you are missing out!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

It is our third year in a row we came to Alta Mare. This year it felt different when we arrived with the ferry at the port. It wasn't like going for holidays, but it felt like coming home. Panos was waiting for us when we arrived with the transfer bus, which made it even more special. As always he made our stay perfect and helped us with whatever we needed.
He even made a very lovely surprise for us since it was our honeymoon!
The breakfast is as delicious as always and whenever we needed a table in a restaurant he booked it for us. This place wouldn't be the same without him!
In our opinion still the best hotel we have ever been...

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We can't recommend alta mare enough! We have just stayed there as the second stop on our honeymoon, and it was fantastic, particularly Panos!!! He made our stay... Nothing was too much for him. Whatever we asked, he made sure we had it. Restaurants, food, tours, reservations, washing, right down to organising pedicures/manicures! The location is perfect, right in the heart of oia. Rooms amazing and soooo clean. The views were fantastic, and the service was spot on. Would absolutely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AltaMare by Andronis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AltaMare by Andronis

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — AltaMare by Andronis 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alta Mare by Andronis is a delightful four-star property that has all the trappings of a luxury five-star one. Individual Jacuzzi for each of the rooms, a semi-covered swimming pool, a fascinating cafe in the courtyard and an amazing sea view of the caldera.Alta Mare will spoil you with its comfort, service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AltaMare by Andronis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AltaMare By Andronis Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AltaMare by Andronis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.