We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AltaMare by Andronis

Save Saved
You added AltaMare by Andronis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AltaMare by Andronis
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 54 Specialty lodging in Oia
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great property down about 30 steps from the main pedestrian walkway with a fantastic view of the med. The pool is in a cave which with the high temps can be a good thing.
Great breakfast every morning with eggs, fruit, baked goods and specialty coffee.
Best part of our trip was our hotel manager who provided us with whatever we needed. Organized day trips and advised restaurants and bars and made some great drinks for our wives.
Mr. Panos Miriounisis is his name and made the trip great.
Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Only get rooms by the pool and bar otherwise you will have too many steps to travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent our honeymoon in Greece back in May and Santornini was the first stop of our 2 week trip. We spent 4 nights in Santorini, 2 night stay at Alta Mare and absolutely loved it. This was the highlight of our trip. The customer service that Alta Mare offers is like no other. Panos is Alta Mare's location manager who took care of our every need. Panos was amazing. He takes great pride in his work. He made sure we were taken care of. He made us breakfast, reservations, and made sure we were comfortable. He really cares for the guest. For example, he drove to the port at night time (on his way home) to pick up our ferry tickets to Mykonos since we did not reserve it and he was afraid we wouldn't have tickets. In the morning, he had our tickets ready for us during check out. He is terrific! The location of the hotel was great too. The hotel was nice and private with our own jacuzzi. I would highly recommend this place, mostly because of Panos.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Disclaimer: After 2 unsatisfactory days at Alta Mare, they moved us to Andronis Boutique Hotel, and we were extremely pleased. This review is about the Alta Mare property.
I hesitate to write a negative review about this property, as the staff was wonderful and took our concerns to heart and moved us on our last night. These comments are only so those who are looking for a certain experience (privacy, large pool) will not be disappointed.

First the positive -- the staff couldn't have been better, and the breakfast was a fabulous feast each morning overlooking the awesome caldera. The views were stunning. Our room was spacious, clean, and the bed was a dream.

BUT -- to enter our room (9) you had to go directly through the terrace of the people in the room next door. We would have to literally climb over their lounges, walk directly past their bedroom, and go through a second little gate to enter our terrace. There was another terrace belonging to another room that ran directly in FRONT of our terrace, and those guests would be sitting having their breakfast on a small table outside of OUR bedroom! We felt like we were intruding on our neighboring guests. Yes, there was a small jacuzzi on each terrace, but the lack of privacy made them useless.

If you are dreaming of lounging around a spacious pool, the Alta Mare is NOT the place for you. The small pool is completely enclosed in a dark cave, with no lounging space around it. There are some chairs put on the deck area in front of the pool, but the actual pool is not like some of the other properties (Andronis Boutique for example). We found we had "pool envy" of the other properties!

The location of Alta Mare, in Oia, is in the center of everything, although a bit far from the actual "sunset viewing area". Be advised that if you want to see the sun drop directly into the sea, you have to walk over to that part of Oia. But the days were hazy when we were there, and the sunset event was a non-event from any location!

One other thing to be aware of -- and this is true of ALL Santorini hotels -- if you can't do steps, go to another island! Narrow, steep, only a rope as a handrail-- we are talking hundreds of stairs!

This hotel has done the most with what they have to work with, so if the things mentioned in this review are not important issues, and you can get a good rate, then stay there and enjoy!

Room Tip: Privacy is an issue with many of the terraces. Be sure to request one with its own private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of, we only stayed here for one night out of our 3 nights in Oia. Our original hotel messed up our reservation so for the last night we had to move elsewhere. We ended up in AltaMare!

Our stay was splendid - trust me, with the issues we had that day, this should have been a total nightmare. We didn't check till late because we went on a boat cruise and as soon I tried to the unlock the door to our room, the key broke. Thankfully Panos was there to rescue the situation.

Then we found that the jacuzzi had dirt in it - Again Panos, who was supposed to be off duty offered to help clean it out and even turn up the temperature. He even sent us a bottle of champagne after he found out it was our honeymoon.

Breakfast was splendid. Way better than what we had to endure at Oia castle the two previous days.

We had a rental car that we need to return the next morning but Panos managed to arrange for us to drop it off at the airport without and extra cost.

Panos - thank you very much for salvaging our stay in Oia

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we occupied 3 rooms - 1/3 of the hotel. each room unique in character and comfort - the view from the room could not be beat - private jacuzzi, and amazing breakfasts! I cannot say enough about my man Panos - he took such good care of us and helped with restaurants and forced me to remember my Greek. the downside is the number of steps u must scale. so be in shape. the view is magnificent so - the steps were managed. the TV in our room was the smallest of the 3. ps ... panos - efharisto para polli !! yaSas !!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Santornini was the second stop of our 2 week trip, spending 4 nights in Santorini, and we were VERY sad to leave after our 3 night stay in the AltaMare. We started at the Boutque hotel (which we also LOVED) but were offerred an upgrade in the suite in the AltaMare. What an upgrade that was! We were greeted by Panos, the AltaMare do-it-all guy, who took care of our every need. We were completely taken care of... Panos provided our DELICIOUS breakfast everyday, took care of travel arrangements, provided great local insider details of Oia and just made us really feel at home. Panos was also fun to hang out with during the day as we lounged by the pool area, soaking up the sun and looking at the beautiful caldera view. He knew everything about Santorini and was there for every request or question we had. Our room/villa was simply AMAZING with the beautiful Aegan Sea views, cavelike architecture, and our own private balcony and Jacuzzi which was such a plus. The suite was very roomy! We felt like we had our own house! The location of the hotel was also perfect since it was in the middle of Oia which we found out was the best spot in Santorini! We stayed in other 4 or 5 star hotels after leaving the AltaMare, but nothing compared to our stay there. Although we enjoyed the rest of our trip, if we had known how great our experience would be at the AltaMare, we would have stayed there the entire two weeks! Highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a great experience in Santorini.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me preface this by saying that I booked this hotel completely based on service ratings from Trip Advisor. There were many super positive ratings, with just a few that referenced that when they arrived, the staff put them in a separate hotel saying they were out of rooms.

I thought "there's no way that will happen to us" and boy was I wrong. When we arrived we scheduled a private car - and they dropped us off at a hotel called San Antonio (NOT IN OIA)! The driver was totally in on the scam and zoomed away before we could say anything. We were met by George, who couldn't maintain eye contact, and told us that there was a miscommunication and they were out of rooms - so they booked us at an 'upgraded hotel.' This hotel isn't even in the same town. The way they handled this - you could tell this happened often.

I proceeded to cry my eyes out, at which time George booked us at a LOVELY hotel called the Katikies Hotel for one night (I will write a review for this property as well - as it was PERFECT). When we moved to the Alta Mare afterward, it was clear that there was a lot of photoshop involved in the photos of the hotel, including photos of surrounding properties owned by Andronis that were not part of our accommodations.

That said, Panos, the fellow that runs the service side of the business for AltaMare is a wonderful human being and always ready to help.

I would be HIGHLY cautious about booking this hotel. There are several other properties in Oia that you should consider first.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AltaMare by Andronis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AltaMare by Andronis

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Specialty lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — AltaMare by Andronis 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alta Mare by Andronis is a delightful four-star property that has all the trappings of a luxury five-star one. Individual Jacuzzi for each of the rooms, a semi-covered swimming pool, a fascinating cafe in the courtyard and an amazing sea view of the caldera.Alta Mare will spoil you with its comfort, service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your AltaMare by Andronis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AltaMare By Andronis Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AltaMare by Andronis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.