We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels and service in Oia Santorini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Suites to your Saves list
Residence Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oia Main Street | Santorini, Greece, Europe, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Oia
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels and service in Oia Santorini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Cannot imagine a better hotel choice in Oia ! Absolutely beautiful and comfortable rooms, tasteful decor,gorgeous views ! Central to everything. Breakfast was included in our price and it was excellent. The staff and service were excellent. Specially Katrina - She always smiling and trying to make your stay to most enjoyable - Thank you very muce .
One of the best hotels and service in Oia Santorini .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    42
    28
    24
    25
See reviews for
29
144
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at Residence suites in the end of august !
this hotel is really overrated.
first of all nobody there speak Greek,but this is not a serius problem.
rooms are very small .we payed 180per night and the bed was on the floor.i think that they have to
inform you that you will sleep on the floor when you make the reservation.
bathroom was very small ,and not so clean .
they don t change towels often.
after two days of stay we returned at the room five o clock in the afternoon and nobody had gone there to clean and change sheets and towels.
the only thing that you pay is the view ,
but you pay a lot for this.

Room Tip: do not choose the cave studio ,it is extremely small and without bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexiszervas, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for providing us a feedback on your staying. At the same time, we are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy it. As regards your discontent concerning the setting and the size of the cave house in which you were accommodated, we wish to specify that due to the characteristics of the cliff side buildings located within the village of Oia, the accommodation areas sometimes are of rather small dimensions ( depending on the type of room you choose to stay ). Also, the historical buildings preserve the local minimalist layout in order not to affect the traditional style of the village. Furthermore, the layout of each cave house is unique and some of the facilities may comprise loft bedrooms which include a mattress placed on a wooden platform on the upper level of the house, which is the case of the standard studio that you have rented. The reservation guarantees only the type of room but it cannot specify the layout of the cave house since it cannot be established in advance which cave house is to be allocated, depending on the availability at the time of guests’ arrival. Regarding the accommodation prices, these are charged depending on the type of rooms, location and period of the tourist season.
Regarding the cleanness issue that you raised, we wish to point out the “green policy” adopted by the hotel in order to bring its contribution to the environmental protection. Although the rooms are cleaned daily, anytime between 8:00 and 18:00 – the chambermaids working hours – the towels and sheets are changed at fixed intervals unless expressively required by the guests or necessary.
Assuring you that it was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to welcome you back to Residence Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Although we had booked and paid upfront for 7 nights, we cut our losses and left after 4 nights. The bathroom reeked, the air conditioner dripped water and you sensed low morale among the staff. Very expensive for what it was. The view from the balcony was lovely though (although not worth the nightly rate).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexiszervas, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We are very sorry to hear that the room conditions did not meet your expectations and we particularly regret that you did not inform us on your complaints during your stay in order to clarify the situation and to find the best possible solution which we are confident that it would have met your needs.
As regards the service level provided by our personnel, we can assure you that all staff members are trained and qualified to ensure a high level of hospitality to all our guests. All issues and requests addressed to the reception personnel are handled and replied to in a professional manner in order to ensure the best stay for guests at all times.
Concerning the technical issues that you mentioned, we wish to specify that the air conditioning installation may drip water if it is excessively used or if the door or windows are left open while the device is in function. The bad smell in the bathroom may have come from the draining pipeline or it may have had another cause that we could have eliminated. Nevertheless, we can assure you that these issues have been documented and the necessary adjustments have been made.
We hope that you will consider staying at Residence Suites and giving us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were stayed at Residence Suites for 4 nights. I agree that you have to organise a transfer because Oia is very busy during the day and at night and the hotel is hard to find.
We had a loft suite with a ladder type staircase up to the bed. The bathroom was quite small and our shower was broken. The staff were very nice and the breakfast was more than the typical standard included breakfast but the photos of the rooms were misleading. We were asked to move rooms on the last night which I found pretty annoying as we were waiting for our things to be moved and missed the tour we were booked on to. The second room was bigger but the air conditioning did not work!
Outside the hotel was very busy at sunset because right outside our room was a prime photo spot for tourists and we were on our balcony trying to relax but the flashing of cameras and loudness of tourists did spoil it for how much we spent. The hotel is nice but I would not stay in Oia again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexiszervas, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Suites, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. As regards the size of the room in which you were accommodated, we wish to a point out that the historical buildings located within the village of Oia are characterized by the minimalist layout which comprise restrained indoor areas, as they were originally built. As for the photographs included the hotel advertisement websites, they represent only the type of room and do not guarantee that exactly the represented room is to be allocated, taking into account also the fact that the layout of each cave house is unique.Please accept our apologies for the room conditions that did not meet you expectations. Concerning your transfer from one room to another, we are sorry to hear that you missed your tour. Nevertheless, such inconvenience could have been avoided if you had entrusted the luggage transfer to our personnel, which would have handled it in the most professional manner.While we understand that your stay was not quite satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It is small, it is pretty, it is perfect for a romantic getaway.You Must request the hotel to pick you up, otherwise you wont ever reacht here by yourself, in case you are going thee for the first time.

Location: You find yourself in bliss, since you are on the cliff at a great location to watch sunset and the ocean. You can't miss to see the traditional boats. You have to climb up a hell lot of stairs to reacht hsi hotel but thats the case with every hotel in Oia. You have to get down from the hotel to catch buses to Thira , Perissa etc.

Staff: The two ladies were very sweet to tell us about the area and book cabs, Sunset Cruises, Volcano Tours. It is advised to go through them since there are hell lot of services offered by so many travellers that you will easily miss your tour.

Rooms: They upgraded us to the Honeymoon Suite from a normal room.Honeymoon SUite has a private Jacuzzi and it is very nicely done. The other room was pretty okay and kind of not worth what you pay for it.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite is the only best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I was enamored with the pictures online of this place, and even checked Booking.com for other travelers' photos. The caldera view room looked great -- blue bed in a big, high-ceiling room. Well, we got the room "with the great terrace", but it was an awkward, tiny little corner thing. I feel bad being negative, because the staff was incredibly helpful and nice, but I just feel fairly misled by the photos of the hotel. This definitely does not look like the same place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed for a whole week in this charming hotel and it was just fantastic. For anyone who has never been Oia before, pls arrange for the reception to collect you from the airport as I can guarantee it is not the easiest place in the world to find any building as there are barely any proper maps. I am so glad I had a driver and someone to help me with my luggage cause there is no way I can find the hotel otherwise!

Other than that, this is a lovely hotel! It was such a joy for me to just relax by the sun and the hot and cold tub too. I was there in July and geez was the weather way too hot. Thank god for the cold tub, I spent a lot of time there as you can imagine.

The room itself was so charming. As I was staying alone and had a really good deal, I expected a smaller room but instead I was given such a big studio flat. It is absolutely stunning with white washed walls, very Greek ... and absolutely cooling in the weather. There is also a small kitchenette for cooking and making drinks which was absolutely lovely as Oia can be super expensive!

The view was spectacular, my flat overlooks the sea/lake.. it has always been my dream to go to Santorini and with this trip, I felt my dream was fulfilled more than I expect... The entire place is a postcard view.. Even as I type this I can feel a smile creep onto my face. That's how good the holliday was.

Anyway back to the hotel, the hosts are absolute sweethearts! They make the best, freshest, Greek breakfast ever.. I almost forget to eat lunch most days! And the amazing thing about this place is that because it's such a hospitable place, all the residents make so much effort and are so friendly to each other. I have made so many new friends all over the world from this holiday alone, which is quite something.

All in all, this hotel is a MUST! It is fantastic, stylish and is a home away from home for me. I wil definitely come back! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Suites

Address: Oia Main Street | Santorini, Greece, Europe, Oia 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of the cliff, in the heart of Oia village surrounded by charming blue domed churches, in an exclusive residential neighborhood of private homes. An exclusive collection of individually decorated apartments designed with luxury and comfort using art and a blend of traditional and modern architecture. Modern Greek decor bringing you maximum peace and tranquility with it's clean lines and original contemporary art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Oia
Residence Suites Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.