We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way! Ideal location, stunning views, spacious suites, and exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atrina Traditional Houses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atrina Traditional Houses to your Saves list
Atrina Traditional Houses
Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Oia
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way! Ideal location, stunning views, spacious suites, and exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stop searching and book Atrina Traditional Houses. You won't be disappointed.

Property/Rooms: the rooms are built into the cliff (literally caves). We stayed in Athina's Suite and it was bright, spacious, the shower was great and the A/C worked extremely well. We were very comfortable. Our patio was very private (Athina's is at the end of the row of Suites). We had to pass through some of the other patios of the suites located closer to the stairs, so book Athina's if you can. It's not a big deal, but we enjoyed the privacy. The pool was great and we used it every day. It was very relaxing and we were usually the only ones in it. We almost always had our pick of sunbeds as well (many great ones to choose from!).

Service: we were given a Greek cell phone when we checked in so we could make and receive local calls (helpful with activity bookings) and call room service or reception 24/7. We used this to place our breakfast order each morning as well, which always arrived to our patio within 15 minutes. Breakfast was delicious and fresh and always served with a smile. Melanie, at reception, truly went above and beyond at every turn. I approached her daily with a list of questions (where is the best place to see the sunset, could she make us a reservation for dinner, etc.) and she was gracious and helpful. She booked us the best tables with the best views at the best restaurants. She even was there for our early 5:30am departure to make sure everything went as planned (and she arranged our breakfast to be delivered to our patio at 4:45am). Everyone who worked there seemed to truly love their job and want to make sure your stay was not just enjoyable, but perfect. And it was! Service in Greece was pretty exceptional across the board, but Atrina took it to a new level.

Location: there is a marble pedestrian walkway that leads down the main strip in Oia. Atrina is located just at the beginning of this, which in my mind made it perfect. It wasn't in the thick of the strip and therefore was a bit quieter and more private, but it was literally just steps to all the shops and restaurants. The views were incredible and from that location, you could watch the sun set over the city of Oia (which was my personal favorite sunset view).

There were so many extra special touches that made it really special - lanterns placed on your balcony each evening and removed before sunrise, free bottled water served at the pool, we got the rose petal treatment in our room for our honeymoon, etcl. I wouldn't look any further and would definitely stay at Atrina again. It was truly a perfect stay!

Room Tip: Athina's Suite was great. I was glad to have a room on the end of the pathway as it made our pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    20
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
260
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is our second time to Santorini and we loved the Atrina House. It is clean, comfortable and a perfect location. Athena is the manager on duty most of the time during the day. She is amazing. Had perfect recommendations for restaurants, got us great tables, got us a guide, taxis, anything we needed. It was a wonderful place and I would stay there next time.

Room Tip: The Caverna 1834 is awesome and can sleep 4. Studio is tiny but still ok. The senior suite is cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
331 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our family of four recently had a perfect 3 night stay at Atrina Traditional Houses. The stay was perfect from start to finish. We were met at the airport by a driver arranged through the hotel and were met at the drop off point by friendly Atrina staff who gathered our luggage for the short walk down the pedestrian only road to the hotel. The owner and her adult daughter live on site and met us at reception for check in and provided a great overview of the property and our room (Junior Suite). As we arrived late, once we were settled in, we ordered room service (available 24x7). While the menu was not extensive, there were plenty of wonderful dishes available. We had Greek salads (amongst the best of the entire 15 days we spent in Greece), club sandwiches, and fruit smoothies. Everything was wonderful and fresh. We also enjoyed the complimentary bottle of white wine provided by Atrina.

The Junior Suite room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the small kitchen handy and stocked with all the basics. The bathroom was of modest size overall, but the shower was quite spacious and stocked with boutique shampoos, soaps, etc.

In the morning, you order your breakfast by phone, and within 15 minutes it is delivered and served on your room balcony over looking the beautiful cauldera. Most guests dine in the plush Atrina bath robes. Truly a wonderful way to begin the day in Oia.

The owners and staff were awesome, attending to your every need (restaurant, sight seeing, shopping recommendations, reservations with the best tables, ordering taxis, running forgotten items to your room, etc.). They live customer service.

While the weather was still a bit cool for swimming, we did greatly enjoy lounging at the pool and enjoying drinks from the bar. Like all of Atrina, the view over the cauldera/sea is unbelievable.

I highly recommend Atrina and will definitely be going back in the future.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and accommodates various number of guests. The Atrina is website is wonderful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Atrina and both the accomodations and the staff continue to be exceptional in every way. This time we stayed for 4 nights in Irene's Suite (May 22-26th) which was very nicely decorated and as always, the views are beyond compare. The owners and staff are however, what really make this such a wonderful place to stay. Every request, question and detail regarding the stay and the accomodations were addressed and attended to with care and grace. The breakfast brought to your room in the morning is delicious and very nicely presented and it is hard to imagine anything better then sipping coffee, eating fabulous Greek yogurt and honey, enjoying a bowl of fresh fruit and pastries while taking in that heavenly view. Everything at the Atrina is wonderful and we send our best wishes to everyone there.
Σας ευχαριστώ όλους πάρα πολύ. Σας αγαπάμε!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

we stay in Athia's house which is quite big and nice. the bathroom is with blue and others with white. staff is friendly and sweet. Nice located as it is just the entrance of Oia shopping area. U can just walk 10 mins to see the sunset.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Let me begin by acknowledging the fact that the rooms are very expensive. That said, the hotel was amazing. You get to stay in a traditional cave house that is well kept and attended by very attentive staff. We stayed in Marina's room and the room was gorgeous. The main room was massive and included its own sitting areas. The bathroom had a beautiful shower and was generally wonderful.

Breakfast was served every morning on our balcony and was generally brought about 15 minutes after we ordered it. The fresh pastries were amazing and we were always excited for breakfast (that said, the only downside was breakfast our last day. While the hotel was very nice in offering to give us our breakfast at 0400 due to our early flight, the pastries were burned, not fresh, and the food was not good. Guess that is what happens when you get a 0400 breakfast served though, every other hotel on our trip did not provide such an early breakfast).

Our room was cleaned twice a day. Since the owner made all of our dinner reservations for us, she just had the cleaners come when we left in the morning and once again when we left for dinner.

The views are absolutely stunning and the experience was great. I could no recommend the location enough.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has the right number of rooms for you. Some comments complain about having two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

I usually donot do reviews, but we loved this place. Logistics are tricky as there is no parking, but that is true for 95% of island. Once you get checked in everything was wonderful! The only weakness was internet access for laptop, while iPad worked fine as did iphone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Atrina Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Traditional Houses

Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#1 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atrina Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrina Traditional Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.