We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atrina Traditional Houses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atrina Traditional Houses to your Saves list
Atrina Traditional Houses
Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Oia
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I spent the first part of our honeymoon (3 nights) at Atrina and it was the perfect place to relax after the chaos of our wedding! We stayed in Melanie's House, which had plenty of room for two people. Our room was very clean and everyone that we encountered was friendly and helpful. Anything we asked for was promptly taken care of. Our room was decorated with flower petals and there was a bottle of white wine waiting for us upon arrival.

Oia is such a beautiful place and Atrina's location was great - we could easily walk to everything, but it wasn't right in the middle of town, so things seemed a bit calmer/quieter. We loved the terrace and being served breakfast every morning out there - the pastries and Greek yogurt were delicious! Atrina's pool area is small but adequate; we never had an issue getting a lounge chair and again, you cannot beat the view.

Our only complaint was the slight smell coming from our bathroom at times - we mentioned it to the front desk and they said that it was fairly normal due to sewage reasons. It wasn't overwhelming though. I would definitely recommend staying at Atrina if you are fortunate enough to travel it to Oia. We wish that we had arranged to stay a bit longer ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
224
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We selected Atrina Canava based on its #1 ranking in Oia on TA. The ranking is well deserved. From the moment of registration, we were greeted by Athina, Melanie and Irene and welcomed to their property like we were family. They were extremely helpful answering many of our questions, provided suggestions for points of interest, activities, etc. They even coordinated a car that we rented for a day (it was delivered to us). We reserved the Studio room, which was surprisingly large and very clean. The daily breakfast delivered to our terrace every morning was the best way to start the day, especially with the spectacular view of the Aegean Sea. Every room has fantastic view. Kosta worked very hard to transport our luggage and deliver our breakfast up/down the steps. Athina and Kosta were also up early (5:30am) on the day of our departure and arranged our airport transportation. Our biggest mistake is that we should have stayed longer than 3 nights. I guess we’ll have to come back next year and fix that! A big MAHALO (thank you) to the staff of Atrina Canava. Aloha!

Room Tip: The Studio Room is at the top of the property so it's closer and less steps to get to the main p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband I ended our honeymoon with 5 days in Oia! It is so unique and beautiful. The staff at Atrina were wonderful and very helpful. The breakfast on our patio was amazing every morning. The pool is clean and beautiful. The staff at the pool bar and the gentleman who delivered our breakfast were courteous and helpful! Melanie and her mom were very helpful setting up our itineraries! A+

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I has just returned from a 5 day trip from Santorini. We loved Atrina House and its staff. Oia is by far the best location in Santorini and Atrina's location and service is perfect !.It is close to some very good restaurants like Scala, Red bicycle and Floga.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from our holiday at Atrina Canava in Oia and it was lovely; I would highly recommend a visit for those wanting to explore Santorini.

This was quite a "blow out" holiday for us as we usually tend to stay in more basic accommodation but the hotel almost certainly made our trip.

All the staff were super friendly, including "Chubby" the Pug (a bonus for me as a dog lover). Our room was cleaned immaculately each day and we were left fresh towels both for the pool and for use in the room.

The pool was beautiful, although not huge (my boyfriend has wanted to do lengths before breakfast each morning but this wasn't really possible here) but the views over the caldera were fantastic and the bar served great drinks and food for those that want it. The prices were very reasonable, especially compared with other restaurants in Oia and the portion sizes were very generous. Loved the Chicken Caeser Salad (thanks Ginn!).

Breakfast was a delight (as many others have mentioned) and it was great to be able to choose something different each morning depending on your mood and how big your dinner was the night before!

There were always enough sun loungers for you to bask in the sun and Athina was great at recommending places to eat (our favourites being The Red Bicycle, Federini and Katinas Taverna in Ammoudi Bay).

Santorini itself was quite different from what I had imagined, no beaches to speak of and a very dramatic rocky landscape with limited vegetation. Oia was beautiful however, especially at night when all the cave houses light up along the cliff side. The only thing is that it does get mobbed with tourists, all brandishing cameras to take snaps of the famous sunset.

We did venture out into Oia for dinner most evenings but my favourite time was spent in the hotel, away from the crowds, enjoying a G&T on the balcony!

A great place to retreat; don't hesitate to book.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Studio room which was beautiful, very spacious with a small kitchenette and bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We loved every minute of our stay here. The rooms were beautiful and unique, the staff were fantastic and the views were simply stunning.
We stayed with our 2 children in the senior suite, which was spacious, private and had a large balcony where we ate breakfast every day. We also spent a lot of time by the pool, again with beautiful views. Every time we ventured out the team at reception was wonderful for making recommendations and booking restaurants and a boat trip for us.
I was a bit concerned about how we would go with a 5 and 7 year old, but we were made feel very welcome. We did feel a bit noisy around the pool as everything is so quiet in Oia, but it was fine. Just had to watch what the kids were doing since everything is built into a steep cliff and railings don't seem to exist in Oia!
Overall, a fantastic experience and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We're here for a week with the family (2 of us and two daughters (12, 15)) and it is excellent. A bit concerned beforehand that Oia is for couples only but no hint of that here. We're in the Junior Suite - it's cosy sleeping for 4 but fine if children are OK to share double (so we're fine). Every room here has a stunning view - truly perfect - can't go wrong. Pool area is small but they are all like that here and many places don't have a pool (pool is good - this is not a beach place).

Atrina is also thoughfully furnished - it's not IKEA (time and a place, but not here) - attention to detail is great. Don't expect huge - Oia isn't huge - small is beautiful.

So nice to come to a place that really is like it looks on the web. No disappointments.

That is enough but what makes it better is the lovely staff here who really can't do enough to help. Athena - thank you. Breakfast service on our balcony - thank you.

Oia isn't a big place for anyone staying here but this well-placed - handy for everything but quiet and - a nice surprise - no need to walk from here along any roads. All paved for people.

Book the catamaran sunset trip. Ask Athena.

Just great.

Room Tip: Every room has the caldera view - can't miss it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atrina Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Traditional Houses

Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atrina Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrina Traditional Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.