We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atrina Traditional Houses

Save Saved
You added Atrina Traditional Houses to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Atrina Traditional Houses
Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 45 hotels in Oia
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Real Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Santorini is a beautiful unique place and staying at Atrina completes the perfect experience. The location offers breathtaking views over the caldera, the suites are spotless and beautifully furnished in harmony with the traditional character of the place. Service is super friendly and efficient. We ordered breakfast at 8 am every morning during our 4 day stay and it was always delivered and served on the patio table at 8:00am. The food was delicious and the orange juice is freshly made, which I have found is always a good indication of how serious the owners are about the 5 star experience! We stayed at the Canava 1894 Suite which was at the edge of the property and very quiet. Pool / beach towels are provided. We chose Atrina based on the excellent Tripadvisor reviews so we had high expectations upon arrival. We were not disappointed and hope to be able to visit again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    14
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
154
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My partner and I had 10 nights in Santorini - 6 nights were spent in Firostefani and our last 4 in Oia at Atrina Traditional Houses. I am so glad we chose to stay here - it is truly magnificent. I thought the pictures on the website were amazing, once you get here it is even better. Atrina is situated perfectly in Oia, you step out the little gate and you are on the pathway along the caldera but because it is set back and down the caldera you get no noise whatsoever and ultimate privacy. The family and staff are relaxed, friendly and provide a service that is second to none. We stayed in Melanie's House and when we were shown to our room it brought tears to my eyes, it is absolutely stunning. Every room has it's own private balcony with deckchairs and also a table and chairs where your breakfast is brought to you each morning upon your request...so luxurious. The pool area is a dream and the pool bar staff are always there for when you want to order drinks or food, it is absolute heaven. The views from Atrina are to die for - it doesn't get better than this. I couldn't find a single fault with this gorgeous place, I don't know how anyone could! The family were so welcoming and helpful, Athina was fantastic, booking us taxis whenever we needed and recommending places to go and things to do. We really wanted to see some live Greek music during our stay and Athina recommended Tango (a bar in the middle of Fira) she said it would be very busy but she would organise us something there so we could enjoy the music, she also organised for us to have something to eat just across the way from Tango at Argo's .... it was about 11:00pm and Argo's was packed, but on mentioning Athina's name and that we were staying at Atrina the staff quickly showed us to our table, right up the top on the roof overlooking the caldera, amazing! We then went over to Tango which was jam packed, I didn't actually think there would be any room and once again on mentioning Athina's name we were quickly shown through to a VIP spot where we could enjoy the music and dance - it was fabulous!!! She also recommended us to eat at Sunset at Ammoudi Bay on our last night, she made a reservation for us and the table, view, food and sunset did not disappoint. It was so hard to leave Atrina and Santorini, this place is definitely something special and when we return we will most definitely be staying at Atrina Traditional Houses - Melanie's House!!!

Room Tip: Melanie's House!!! Without a doubt. Although, all rooms would be devine - this place is truly am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is my first review because I couldn't wait to share my enthusiasm for this hotel. Atrina is family owned and run by the mother and daughters -- and you can tell. Every detail has been thought through to make your stay special, easy and perfect. They serve you breakfast to your private veranda in the mornings - and it's not some silly continental breakfast, we're talking eggs, bacon, French press coffee, pasties, fruit... the works. They had great advice and took care of all of our excursions, rentals, taxis and day trip details. The rooms are clean and comfortable and truly luxurious. It was the best service for a hotel I think I've ever had, worth every single penny. Can't say enough good things. Oia is paradise, and this hotel only made it better.
Also - they recommend the Red Bicycle for dinner, and I would definitely take them up on it. Delicious!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights on our honeymoon and it was perfect. We stayed in the Senior house and absolutely loved it. The staff was relaxed but everything was done before we could even think about it. Wonderful location, gorgeous pool and excellent service. We will (hopefully) be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for our anniversary. Athina brought us to our room where a complimentary bottle of local wine and flowers were awaiting our arrival. We stayed in Marina's. The room was clean and spacious. The decor was simple yet beautiful. We were given a local mobile phone for our stay. Breakfast was delicious and the view was breathtaking! The hotel is conveniently located right along the main pedestrian walkway. Just a short walk from all the restaurants. I really loved it & was so sad to go! Thank you so much, Athina!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at Atrina Traditional Houses for 3 nights in Melanie's House and could not recommend it enough. We arrived to a warm welcome by the helpful and friendly staff, in addition to a bottle of wine and flowers with a note to wish us a wonderful stay and congratulate us on our anniversary, a lovely touch.
The room itself was immaculate and beautifully decorated with white washed floors and furniture. The bed looked straight out into the view of the caldera - what a way to wake up every morning.
Breakfast was served on the private balcony every morning to order - lovely fresh fruit and yoghurt with a selection of pastries and bread.
Location was on the main path into Oia but not in the very centre of town (only about a 4 minute walk into town) which made it feel a little more spacious and was not overlooked by passers by.
Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Oia.

Room Tip: I would recommend Melanie's house - it was at the very top of Atrina which meant we didn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were forced to stay here. We were booked at katikies for our honeymoon and the hotel decided to cheat us as their rates shot up. They tried to put us at a motel but when we fought with them, they put us here. Now this may not be rated as high as katikies but eyes closed it is better. The rooms are bigger, service amazing, staff hospitable and friendly , they even gave a local number with a mob incase we needed help, etc etc. hands down and eyes closed - this is a good pick. Location- oia.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atrina Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Traditional Houses

Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece
Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atrina Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrina Traditional Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.