We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite hotel on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atrina Traditional Houses

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atrina Traditional Houses to your Saves list
Atrina Traditional Houses
Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Oia
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Favourite hotel on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

First of all, Oia is the most beautiful part of Santorini and living on the cliffs, looking out onto the sea every day is about as perfect as life can get. Atrina is one of the most unique and wonderful hotels that we've stayed in around the world. We were in Melanie's House and it's charm and beauty is unrivaled. The fresh fruit and yoghurt prepared for us each morning was a perfect start to our day; the service was exceptional; and overall our stay was unbelievable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We are used to travel a lot and we try to stay in very good hotels. Atrina has overcome all our expectations. Impecable service, incredible room, great breakfast, breathtaking view, there is simply nothing less than perfect about this hotel. Santorini is beautiful and staying in this hotel can surely make yor trip unforgetable.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Tomaz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Perhaps there can be no better compliment to accomodation than to pay a return visit. That is just what my wife and I did in August this year for 7 nights. We stayed in Melanie's House.

We visited 2 years ago (and stayed in Tholos) but made the mistake of only staying 4 nights. It is hard to improve on perfection but there are a couple of tweeks that Atrinas have added in those two years such as 3 choices for breakfast and light snacks. However, the location, sensational view, great value, cleanliness, breakfasts and family friendly attentive service has remained. As I said, it is hard to improve on perfection.

Friends of ours liked what we had said about the property so much (when we stayed in 2010) that they met up with us and stayed next door in Tholos 2. Needless to say, they were blown away by every apsect of Atrinas.

If you are looking to stay elsewhere in Oia be careful to check out two issues. Firstly, the location. Atrinas is located on the pathway that leads to restaurants and shops - many other properties are not so conveniently located and require walking on an unlit road at night when you walk back from an evening out. Secondly, because Atrinas is located at the top of the caldera there are minimal steps down to your room. There are many properties that have numerous steps or pathways and then more steps down to your room. Remember, you will be staying there when it is warm and you have just had a shower and you want go out for the evening - you don't want to work up a sweat even before you reach the pathway to the restaurants.

It is difficult to adequately describe the wonderful service that Atrinas offers to every guest. Our host(ess) Athina (ably assisted by Jo) could not have been more helpful or attentive and nothing was too much trouble.

As a footnote - I believe that some of the travellers photos posted for Atrinas do not do it justice.

We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PeterandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I felt like a was in the lap of luxury. The room was wonderful with an amazing view. The staff went out of their way to help us from assisting in our reservation to helping us arrange our outings. They went so far as to give you a phone when you get there so that you can call for help when you are anywhere on the island. One of the best hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrey Hills NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We are just coming to the end of our 6 day stay and we will be heartbroken to leave! The views, the breakfasts (served by Greek gods), the pool, the room, the terrace, the friendly & quiet efficient service - It has been just perfect! This really is heaven on earth!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Welcome to Atrina the first stop in heaven. I dont want to be repetitive so I will just say that dont look elsewhere this hotel is just amazing.....best location ever, incredible views, attention to details, excellent rooms (senior suite)....you cannot fault it!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lealou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
209 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I travel a lot for work and for pleasure and it is a rare property that captures my attention as truly deserving of a 6 star rating.

After reading Tripadvisor this property appealed. We were not disappointed. The location was "breathtaking" in the true sense of the word. Our room (Melissa) comfortable - high on the cliff - with only a few steps to reach the office and very private. Other rooms further down the cliff will require more steps to negotiate. Minor issues were dealt with in what I could only describe as exceptionally quickly and efficiently. The staff were personable, friendly and just so obliging - nothing was a problem. Their suggestions on things to do and where to eat were spot on. We found places that we would never have considered. They organised tours as well as car hire. We couldn't find fault with anything.

Breakfast is served on your own private deck - the quality of which was excellent. The pool, whilst not large afforded great views. The room was large with a deck with 2 sun loungers,plus a 2 chairs and table. The view - picture postcard material.

Oia is an excellent choice as it is away from Fira which suffers from cruise ship innundation. Travellers of any nationality who travel en masse are daunting. Fira attracts large cruise ships on a daily basis (on one day there were 6) and they swarm ashore - sadly too many, including their guides, ignore basic good manners as they move around. Make your plans to visit Fira and other popular destinations on the island accordingly. They do visit Oia, but as the main street is a pedestrian thoroughfare there presence is a little more manageable, but at times they can crowd the area. Fortunately they do not stay long.

As far as Atrina is concerned I would give it a well earned 6 stars - simply stunning. look no further.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
2.9 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#2 of 46 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#5 of 49 in Oia
5.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
4.2 mi away
Enigma Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 77 in Fira
5.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrina Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Traditional Houses

Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atrina Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing