We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of care” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Old Oia Houses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Oia Houses
Save
You added Old Oia Houses to your Saves list
Oia, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Oia
Venice, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lack of care”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We initially booked for 3 nights...on arrival and after waiting for an age we were finally taken down too our accomodation.....its was tiny......Im not even 5' tall, but if I spun round in the so called living room - kitchen area I would of bashed my knuckes on the walls. The girl explained how the system worked..getting breakfast delivered the next day, which for us is too late. The bathroom was the only room which was reasonable. The balcony had lovely view if you went on it one at a time......Now the bedroom. It was tiny....once in bed the person on the wall side had too climb over to use facilities in the middle of the night. The light stopped working...the tv had no channels, the fridge too small. At 105 euros a night so NOT worth it....we actually decided due too the lack of care on Gills side and cost it really was NOT worth it. We spent the next 2 nights somewhere else much cheaper and more than adequate. You are paying for the view...which I personally think you can see from anywhere in Oia for free....wont be returning or recommending. Also if you want peace and quiet you wont get it......neighbouring rooms are very close and any noise travels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    44
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
122
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jamestown, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the old Oia Houses for 3 nights in Sept of 2013. Our stay was a mixed bag. As others have said check-in is at Lotza Restaurant, so the owner not only runs the Oia Houses, but also the restaurant.

We stayed in house #6. I was disappointed with our view as it was half way blocked by a wall. The apartment had a nice kitchen and the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was also large and the whole apartment was clean. There were some maintance problems however. Areas of the floor were rotting away by the front door, and you had to be careful where you walked so as not to get splinters, when I mentioned this to the owner, she said she knew and were waiting until fhey closed down to repair the floor. Also our TV didn't work, which they replaced right away. As they state you get a loaf of bread and a carton of juice in the refrigerator. Most of the time the bread didn't show up until we were ready to leave for the day. So be prepared to either go out for bkfst or cook, if bread isn't enough for you.

We are in our 60's and all the steps were an issue for us, I would have liked it better if we had been closer to the street. We left a day early and went to another hotel that was closer to the airport. The owner called us a cab and even walked us to the taxi pick-up. She was very charming, but was clearly tired from a busy season of tourists.

I would stay there again, but ask for a house closer to the street (less steps) and make sure I didn't get House 6. The price is good especially for Oia, right in the heart of the stores and restaurants.

Room Tip: House 6 has a only a partial view, blocked by a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a traditional house build on the the slope of the hill. There is no check in counter. Check in is at a restaurant located 5 minutes away. Getting to the hotel takes some effort due to the cobbled road. This is part of the experience staying in a traditional house. It is only 5 minutes from the tip of the island to view sunset and nightfall. The room are very basic and there was an odor in the room due to some piping issue.

Room Tip: Book for a family room which is bigger and is slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is our second three week stay at Old Oia Houses. We stayed in the studio apartment and once again cannot fault the location or the cleanliness of the studio. Anna, the housekeeper is very passionate about her work and it shows. Many thanks to Gill who makes us very welcome each time we visit and nothing is ever a issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Oia at a relatively cheap price and perfect caldera views and indeed no steps then Old Oia Houses will fit the bill.

The down side is the owners run Lotza restaurant which is used as the reception . The restaurant is popular and busy and this is reflected in the little customer service or interest they seem to have in their customers staying at their property as they are simply over run running the restaurant.

When we were leaving to go home we had breakfast at Lotza restaurant and when we paid the bill to leave for our taxi the owner never even said goodbye or thanked us for staying. Total oblivious to the fact we had even stayed with them... A little poor?

Finally, The property certainly lived up to its name as whilst being okay the property was certainly in need of a little repair and update.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stumbled upon Old Oia houses while we were trying to find a good location in Oia, And everything about it was perfect, the location, the price the location. Old Oia houses are actually individual houses complete with a Kitchen and very well furnished, you have your own armchairs, your own Umbrella in your porch and the view is simply breathtaking, trying to find the Blue dome churches ? there is one right next to it. The Castle of Oia from where perfect Sunset of Oia is seen. There are all the good restaurants near walking distance.
The help and service given by Jill, vasili and Anna was great. The bread they give in morning is really fresh and good, Oia has a totally different feel during early hours in morning and after sunset when it becomes much more quieter and thence its a different feeling to wander through the streets and enjoy the scenery and the buildings, the Ammoudi bay steps are also nearby which makes the location perfect

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here 3 times. We have done so because the view is fantastic and the price is super reasonable. If you want a luxury hotel with great service, don't stay here. Be prepared to fend for yourself but again, for the view and price, in my opinion it cannot be beat.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the Caldera and have fantastic views. The more you pay, the bigger the room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Oia Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Oia Houses

Address: Oia, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#17 Family Hotel in Oia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Old Oia Houses Hotel Oia
Old Oia Hotel
Old Hotel Oia
Old Oia Houses Santorini, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Oia Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.