We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views and a workout at the same time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Esperas to your Saves list
Esperas
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   ,, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Rates Online!!!
Ranked #3 of 32 Oia B&B and Inns
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stunning views and a workout at the same time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My girlfriend and myself stayed in this hotel as part of a week long trip to santorini. Having stayed the first half of the week in Fira the second half was going to be in Oia.
We decided that we would stay in Esperas has it was right on the cliff and the views were going to be amazing , and that is exactly what they turned out to be.

We got one of the traditional houses near the bottom of the hotel complex which meant that we got regular exercise up the numerous steps both in the hotel grounds as well as outside it, but thats what you ll get if you want to be on the cliffside.

The staff were very attentive and very freindly, this includes the owner who is always there and always seems to be wearing jeans... and i thought it was roasting wearing shorts.

The only thing that we didnt really enjoy however no fault of the hotel was the fact that our house was close to the steps that lead from the town to the bay... which is also the path used by the donkeys. That meant that during the day you could hear the donkeys going up and down (which we think is just cruel) the other thing was the breakfast, you are asked to fill in a list with what you would like the next morning. the first day we asked (amongst others) croissants and pain au chocolat and only got pain au chocolat. the next day with the same request we only got croissants. the last day they had forgotten about us all together.

However the hotel is very well kept and is in the best possible location. Nothing beats sitting on your own terrace watching the sunset with a glass of wine while everyone else stands shoulder to shoulder in the castle ruins.... would i recommend it ... yes ... Is it worth 270 Euro per night...Ill let you decide

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for the positive and detailed review. I was glad to hear that Esperas fulfilled all your expectations during your stay and that you'll remember us fondly. I was surprised though to see that you did not think Esperas is good value for money, since similar properties in Oia start at 350 euros/night. I do not know if you compared us to properties who claim to be hotels and claim to be in Oia (such as properties listed before us on TA) that are indeed cheaper, but are not in Oia and are certainly not hotels. In Esperas you can (and you did) use our large swimming pool, eat in our full-service restaurant, enjoy a-la-carte breakfast served to your room each morning (albeit with a mistake here and there) or take advantage of our knowledgeable front desk and concierge desk. Fira is also cheaper than Oia but is also not voted consistently as a Top-10 most romantic destination on the planet, and I think that having stayed there you found out why. In conclusion, I would like to thank you again for your business and your review.
P.S. I have now started wearing shorts as the temperature has risen considerably...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    40
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
241
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our family of four stayed at Esperas from July 4-7th. We absolutely loved it! The junior suite was perfect! Our room was situated right near the pool which made our teens very happy! The staff was so helpful and friendly. We also enjoyed having our breakfast on the terrace every morning overlooking the water. There are many steps to walk so be ready for some exercise! This is a truly magical place to stay. I highly recommend Esperas to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
It is nice for a change to read a great review of Esperas from a family. It shows that our staff and our level of service is excellent at all levels and not just for honeymooning couples! Thank you for your stellar recommendation of Esperas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

WOW! The whole of Santorini is unique, Oia is totally beautiful and Esperas Traditional Houses is the most amazing place I have ever stayed at. We were here for the first part of our honeymoon.

There are not enough words to describe how wonderful Esperas is. We had the honeymoon suite, very special, the views from both balconies was glorious. Total luxury, a jacuzzi on one balcony and breakfast served daily on the other. We were spoilt rotten. Such a beautiful place to relax. The food was great. The Chocolate Soufflé is made to order and worth the 20 minute wait. The most glorious soufflé ever.

The views, we were spellbound, goodness knows how many photos we took.

Thank you to everyone on the staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Wow is all I can say also. What a great, great review. These words will inspire all of us for the rest of the summer season, and more so our chef! People who have traveled the world and value Esperas to be one their top locations on the planet, are always eager to share their wonderful experience at Esperas with the world. This is what a real review from a real guest at Esperas sounds like, TripAdvisor take note!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Went here with my girlfriend in June to have a romantic week in Santorini. Honestly I have nothing bad to say about Esperas. We have both traveled allot and are used to live good - but this place surprised us both. The rooms were big, had our own private terrace with sunset view, the service was excellent and the employees were always happy and helpful. I cannot not recommend this hotel enough. We'll definitely come back to Esperas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Your words sound even sweeter coming from a seasoned traveler who has traveled around the world. If people such as your self recommend Esperas without any doubt, then we have done our job properly and to the best possible standard. Thank you. By the way, TripAdvisor take note: this is what a real review of Esperas from a real guest sounds like...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

we just came back from a wonderful Greece vacation . we did island hoping and one of our destination was Esperas at Oia. First the check in was smooth. we had asked for a private balcony and lounger and at first were assigned a room with a tiny balcony. They quickly corrected the situation and got a wonderful room with a large balcony. The traditional housewas really special with a small kitchenette and the most incredible view ( from our bed) we ever had in an hotel room. We slept with the sound of the waves ...memorable.
we spent time at the the pool were we had great service from the 2 servers at all time, drinks and food were great. View was great and the pool so refreshing and unique.
Our breakfast was served on our balcony and was very good. A minor recommendation,I would suggest getting covers on warm plates so the great food is still warm when served.
We got help from the owner often and he did his best so we felt special during our stay. He really wants clients to get the best experience at Esperas, even lent us a flashlight for us to go have dinner at Amoudi Bay one evening...nice touch!
We would love to return to Esperas one day!

Room Tip: we were in the lowest part , room 118 I think despite the stairs , is was quiet and private. we feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
It always feels more special to receive an outstanding review from a seasoned traveler and a seasoned TripAdvisor reviewer! Thank you for your wonderful descriptions and your constructive comments. The whole staff which helped make your stay unforgettable, thanks you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a great time in Esperas. More luxurious than we expected and it all started with our welcome when we arrived. We stayed in a two bedroom two bath junior suite that was wonderfully cozy. It suited as perfectly as our 8 year old son stayed in the loft bedroom. Breakfasts were very good. The restaurant at Esperas was much better than expected and we had some of our best meals there. We stayed for 3 nights. The staff arranged our dinner reservations, a catamaran trip to hotsprings that was a highlight of our stay and even got our boarding passes for our flight to Athens. Our best dinner in Oia was at the Red Bicycle and we highly recommend it. It is a short walk from Esperas, it was the best dinner we had in two weeks in Greece. On our first night, we had dinner in Ammoudi Bay a Sunset and the seafood was great. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your sincere and wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to hear from real guests who really stayed at Esperas and can vouch for the quality of our staff and our service. If TripAdvisor did its job properly, it would ensure only real people left reviews and then they would all tell the truth as you did. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I don't write reviews. Really, I usually don't. But our honeymoon stay at Esperas was so special and fantastic, that I just had to make an exception. From the personal pickup at the hotel (with our name on a sign!), to the spectacular views from our traditional house, to the welcome champagne and balloons and flower petals in our room upon arrival...everything was so perfect it was almost eerie. George and Christina and everyone else at Esperas were so helpful and gracious that we constantly found ourselves talking about coming back. I feel like there is SO much I'm leaving out and this is only the tip of the iceberg, but if you're considering a stay at Esperas in Oia, don't hesitate and book your stay immediately. You will be glad you did. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: We had a traditional house, which although a bit small, had the privacy and views we were craving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Everyone at Esperas is grateful when we read great reviews from actual guests who can vouch for the amazing service and relaxation our hotel provides. If TripAdvisor did its work properly, this the only kind of review Esperas would ever receive! Thank you for going above your usual practice and taking the time to leave us such a wonderful and positive review. Your endorsement and recommendation of Esperas will surely persuade future guests to make the right choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Address: ,, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, T4B, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.