We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Esperas to your Saves list
Esperas
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   ,, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Rates Online!!!
Ranked #3 of 32 Oia B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visited Santorini in June and after searching high and low for a reasonably priced cave house I came upon Esperas and it was perfect! For the two of us we had studio 119, which I would highly recommend: no one walks by it to get to the pool or into town, so you have more privacy and our terrace was perfect to watch the sunset go into the sea every night, no obstructions (can't say that for many hotels in Oia, trust me I looked!) Perfect, perfect, perfect! Room, bed, bathroom and shower all great with a view of the outskirts of the caldera. We ordered food as well, which was fine if you didn't want to go out into town for lunch or dinner. Breakfast was fine as well: mix of pastries, cheese, fruit and yogurt. Pool was a good size to cool off in.
Since the hotel is at the end of Oia it is about a 5-10 min walk into town, completely doable for the best place to stay in Oia for the sunset and traditional cave house at a reasonable price! Oh and we booked in January for a discount! Thank you Esperas!

Room Tip: Studio 119 for 2 people - terrace has the perfect view of the sunset and no one walks by your cave h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review and for letting future guests in on the fact that Esperas is truly the only reasonably priced hotel in Oia! We take great pride in the service and amenities we provide, and the fact that you realized all these truths during your stay, makes our job worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    40
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
241
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived, it felt like we had been transported into a postcard of Santorini - exactly as we had always pictured it. George and his staff could not have been more welcoming. Our room, which was a "standard house, full sea view" was spectacular. It had been a busy day of travel, so we headed up to the pool area and ordered the "dakos", my new favorite snack. Hotel has spectacular views of the sunset!

After settling in, we decided to head down the path to the waters edge (if you're not in shape when you get there, you will be when you leave) for dinner. Several nice restaurants specializing in seafood to choose from.

Day 2 got more eventful as we rented scooters to tour the island. Unfortunately, our travel companions had an accident which resulted in one of them being taken by ambulance to the local clinic. I telephoned the hotel to see if they would contact the scooter rental company. The next thing we know, George is at the clinic with us, talking to the doctor, helping us organize medical transport to Crete. He drove me back to hotel, picked up our friends travel bags, bought sandwiches and headed back to the clinic. He also contacted the scooter company and looked after every thing.

I cannot stress enough how he helped us through this difficult situation!!!

The rest of the staff were also exceptional - Hassna, Manos, Manos, Clarita, Tuli, Nykos - could not have asked for friendlier people. All asking about our friend's condition and sending their best wishes.

Even without the care and attention we received because of the accident, I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat, and only hope I have a chance to return to Esperas and the lovely village of Oia!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
On behalf of the whole Esperas staff, you know you have our sincere wishes for a speedy recovery for Kurt. Not a day has gone by since, that one of our guys asked us for news. Even Kostas who rented you the scooters called 4 or 5 days ago inquiring about Kurt's health. I was also extremely glad to hear you still have wonderful memories of Santorini. We all would be ecstatic to see you all back at Esperas one day, sooner rather than later...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was recommended by our travel agent. Our rather high expectations were exceeded. The staff was very accommodating. The hotel was a picturesque cliff side one with totally unconstructed ocean views about 300' above the ocean. Very clean and yet historically old. A good breakfast was included. Free wifi. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation and for taking the time to write your kind review. I was very glad to hear we were able to live up to yours and your travel agent's recommendation and that you appreciated the whole Esperas experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon as part of a TruGreece itinerary. Perfectly located above the small fishing village of Amoudi. Esperas Hotel had beautiful views with amazing sunsets. From the airport pick up to the baggage handler that met us at the front gates of the hotel, to the front desk staff, wait staff, room service and maid service - all were top notch and made you feel like royalty. The town of Oia has some amazing local shops with fantastic local art. Some standard touristy stuff, but great restaurants in Oia and especially the Esperas hotel itself! The wines produced on Santorini are amazing, we brought home 18 bottles of wine!

Simply the best place to visit!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Our porters will wonder no more what made your suitcases a bit heavier to carry! Of course I am kidding. It was with great pleasure that I read your kind review and I can assure you that your wonderful words have been received by all of us at the Esperas with equal gratitude. We can't wait to see you back in Santorini in a few years time when you will need to replenish your wine cellar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is magical. Gorgeous little white villas on a cliffside with insane sunset views. The rooms are well sized and the patios are the perfect place to view the sunset and enjoy some wine. The location is perfect for Oia, as long as you are fit enough to hike some staircases. The breakfast was fresh and delicious every morning and the pool deck was serene. Staff gave us excellent advice and made reservations for us.

Stay here if you are staying in Oia!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Esperas and for writing all those wonderful (and quite true!) comments. We are always happy to hear we helped make your stay in Santorini a bit more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The ratings for this hotel speak for themselves. If you are after a relaxing holiday then this is the place to be. The sunset from the hotel rooms and pool area are special. It's well known that Santorini has one of the most beautiful sunsets, if not the best. The hotel staff are lovely, the views are a one in a lifetime must and the rooms are large enough for couples. Santorini itself is a peaceful and quiet place. Perfect for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you on behalf of the entire Esperas staff, for a extremely accurate and positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Esperas for 5 nights in early September for our 25th anniversary. It is hard to add anything new to the positive comments which have been written by others. I would just emphasize a few points. First, like some others, I also debated the question of the Sunset view at Esperas versus the full Caldera view at other Oia and Fira hotels. In reality, the Esperas view is also stunning and we had plenty of opportunities to see the full caldera view when walking about OIa or hiking to Fira (yes - we did the 9 kilometer walk). On the other hand, being able to sit on our deck and see the sunset, without having to fight the crowds, was a very special treat. As some others have said, if you like privacy or quiet, your room selection can matter quite a bit, as some rooms near the entrance or the pool have more people walking right past you (and you can hear the poolside conversations). We had a suite which was perfect for us because it was further down the hillside and thus quite private. Finally, a hotel can be in a lovely location, but if the staff is not friendly, the overall experience can still suffer. I am happy to say that we found everyone at Esperas to be wonderfully friendly and helpful, which really was the icing on the cake. In the end, we really felt that we made the perfect choice on Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you first for choosing Esperas and secondly for sharing with the world your experience. We take great pride in creating wonderful memories for our guests and it was exceptionally satisfying to read your choice in us payed off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Address: ,, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.