We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Esperas to your Saves list
Esperas
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   ,, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Rates Online!!!
Ranked #3 of 32 Oia B&B and Inns
Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Esperas is the perfect spot for enjoying the very best of Santorini without the crowds. The setting is wonderful, with terraces and balconies offers guests a peaceful and unique view of the famous sunset that hundreds of people travel and crowd the streets of Oia to see. The accomodation is excellent with clean traditional houses, each with their own balcony/terrace with views over the sea. The communal areas are equally impressive with large sun terraces and a dining area set around a beautiful pool.

The Breakfast buffet is plentiful and really good quality. However, the thing that really makes Esperas stand out is the staff who couldn't be more helpful and accomodating whether it's booking tours, confirming flights, reserving restaurants or giving recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
On behalf of Esperas Traditional Houses, we would like to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. Your accurate and extensive descriptions will be invaluable to future visitors of Oia and Santorini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    40
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
241
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My cousin told me about Esperas as she had been there 10 years ago and just loved it. Well I have to say things haven't changed. It was magical. I don't always get the hotels right when booking our holidays but this time as soon as we arrived my husband said it was the best place he's ever been... and he travels for a living!! The view is just, out of this world, gorgeous. It's close to everything. We rented a bike for a couple of days and enjoyed touring the island and nearby beaches.

Our room had a jacuzzi with lounge chairs on one terrace and table and chairs on the other. Kitchenette was ideal. Ice tray in the freezer helped with the drinks in the evening. Sleeping area could be as dark as you like, which is great if you fancy a lie-in. Yvonne (who's been there for 15 years!!) is just sooooo nice and, obviously, very helpful... The best part of that is she is sincere. She's just a really nice, lovely, helpful lady. The atmosphere around the pool was really interesting because it's small enough so that you can get to know people if you want but also you didn't feel odd keeping to yourselves and canoodling!

If I was to make any suggestion it would be to say that having a cocktail bar would be a nice touch. They did have a punch of some kind that was very nice and were willing to make anything with the ingredients that they had available... but still.

We will definitely be back to Esperas. It was just... wonderful. Thank you for the experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
On behalf of Esperas Traditional Houses, we would like to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. Your accurate and extensive descriptions will be invaluable to future visitors of Oia and Santorini. Thank you for your invaluable suggestions and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lommedalen, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

10 years ago we celebrated our 10 year anniversary at Esperas. We never forgot and we decided that our 20 year anniversary should go to the same place. Because we enjoyed it so much the first time, and we were hoping that it would be the same this time. And it was...and even much better. The service level from long before we booked the trip, that you remembered us from 10 years ago, the notification up front for taxi's, pick up/delivery, reception at the hotel. The girls and guys working there - always smiling and meaning it. The fact that you had started to serve lovely small dishes that we could enjoy from lunch till night time was perfect. Enjoying the breakfast with the breathtaking view. Enjoying the sunset from our private balcony while all the others had to stand in line up the hill. We'll be back!

Room Tip: For us no. 115 was a good choice. But also no. 113 which is smaller (from 10 years ago) - but ask be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
On behalf of Esperas Traditional Houses, we would like to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. Your accurate and extensive descriptions will be invaluable to future visitors of Oia and Santorini. We hope we will see you again in less than ten years next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I cannot say enough about Esperas. Everything from the transfer from the port to checking in to checking out was absolutely top-notch! The cave rooms and views were beyond gorgeous and the location was perfect as crowds gathered further uphill to watch the same sun-set views that Esperas had. It was perfect. They even paid for our dessert at a fancy restaurant called Ambrosia for our anniversary. To top it off, because our ferry didn't leave till late night the day we checked out, they offered to arrange a transfer and let us lounge poolside until we left. Did i mention their cafe menu is outstanding? The Pasta with Pesto, Homemade meatballs, chicken pitas... delicious and the great value for your money. It was quality food for ridiculously cheap prices. Oh and they clean twice a day! Breakfast is great and lots of variety (try the greek yogurt with honey from crete).

When we checked in they had the bed decorated and even gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. All their tour and restaurant recommendations were spot on. If you happen to go to Oia...... you MUST stay at Esperas. It's the best value for your money and totally worth it!

We will be back soon! :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
On behalf of Esperas Traditional Houses, we would like to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. Your accurate and extensive descriptions will be invaluable to future visitors of Oia and Santorini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the Santorini part of our honeymoon. We were thrilled with everything about the hotel - the gorgeous setting, the beautiful rooms, terraces and cave pool, and the kind and attentive staff. I had read so many glowing Trip Advisor reviews and looked at all the beautiful pictures and was worried that this hotel might fall short of my high expectations. It not only met them, it surpassed them.

We were in house 119, a beautiful studio with a gorgeous terrace. The room was beautifully done in blue and white and looked straight out of Mamma Mia. The cave bed was covered in balloons that said "just married!" and had a sign wishing us congratulations and best wishes on our honeymoon. It was really sweet. We had a very small balcony with a chair right by our door, and then down a few steps a huge terrace, with a table, two chairs, a sun umbrella and two lounge chairs. The view from our terrace was phenomenal (and included beautiful sunset views).

The cave pool is as beautiful as it looks in photos and I really appreciated that we could swim and be in the shade at the same time.

Not that you need any, because Oia is so close, but the hotel has many entertainment options. There is free wifi that is very fast. It does not work in the rooms, because of the cave but worked beautifully on our terrace and at the pool area. There is a huge bin of recent magazines, including Marie Claire, Vogue, Elle, etc. There is also a very well stocked DVD cabinet with lots of recent releases and Greek-themed movies. Most movies seemed to be in English with Greek subtitles. We watched one just about every night and it was a great way to unwind.

The hotel is built into the cliff of Oia which makes for a gorgeous setting, but also means a lot of steps. I was usually winded by the time we had done the climb from our room to the top of the hotel, which is necessary anytime you want to go to town or anywhere else. For these reason I would not recommend the hotel for the elderly or those who have a problem walking a lot of steps, but if you are reasonably active it shouldn't be a problem.

In addition to going up to Oia, you can also walk down to Amoudi Bay (<10 minute walk down, a little longer coming up). There are some tavernas down there but we didn't eat at them because they seemed hideously over-priced compared to the ones in town. One of them offered 95 euro ($125) lobster pasta. There is a swimming area there if you walk to the left (maybe a quarter-mile) from the port. It's a stretch to call it a beach, since there's not really any sand, just a sheltered rocky area where people are jumping in and swimming. We did and it was a lot of fun. The water is beautiful and very refreshing.

The breakfast was ok, not the best we had in Greece but not the worst. I mostly stuck to the croissants and chocolate croissants, but there was fruit and some Greek options as well. There was also a lunch/dinner menu with a variety of Greek and American options. My husband had a cheeseburger that he really enjoyed. The staff is incredibly friendly and kind. Any time we interacted with them it was pleasant and I really felt that everyone did their best to make our stay special.

The only thing that I might change about our stay would be using the hotel for transfers. We booked transfers through them (30 euro one way for both of us) from the airport and to the port. They had indicated that taxi availability would be an issue, which is why we did this. When we arrived at the airport, there were lots of taxis waiting around and it seemed that most of them were charging less than 30 euros to go to Oia. At least the trip to the hotel was smooth, with just one other couple dropped off near our hotel and then us. On the transfer to the port, our "semiprivate" transfer was a huge tour bus that went all around picking people up (including other towns, not just Oia) before depositing us all at the port. We were on the bus for about an hour. I'm not sure if this was becasue we were going to the port instead of the airport or was just the luck of the draw, but this was unpleasant and I definitely think we could have done better arranging something ourselves.

The hotel is certainly not cheap - we had the cheapest room at the hotel for around 234 euros (almost $300 US) a night. This is definitely a splurge by our standards, but compared to the other cliffside hotels in Oia, which almost all seemed to be upwards of $500 a night, it is a steal. I can't imagine how any of those other hotels could possibly offer a better view or a better staff. Of course you can stay in Santorini, and even Oia, for much cheaper if you don't want the caldera view, but to us this was a big part of why we came to Santorini and so it made sense to splurge on this hotel (we did much more affordable hotels for our stays in Athens and Mykonos). We are so glad we did. It was the best money we spent in Greece and our stay here was by far the best part of our honeymoon.

Room Tip: We loved #119 (studio) - we had a cave bed and a huge terrace with a phenomenal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
On behalf of Esperas Traditional Houses, we would like to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. Your accurate and extensive descriptions will be invaluable to future visitors of Oia and Santorini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family and I stayed 6 nights at the Esperas, watching the beautiful sunset each evening. There are a number of stairs down to the Esperas, but well worth it for the amazing views and hospitality. The staff were amazing, very welcoming and helpful with advice and recommendations when needed. Our cave rooms were wonderful and were immaculately clean. Breakfasts were good, thoroughly enjoyed the greek yogurt especially. The pool was set into a cave too which was so unique and fun. Everything about our stay at the Esperas was great and we will certainly return, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
On behalf of Esperas Traditional Houses, we would like to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. Your accurate and extensive descriptions will be invaluable to future visitors of Oia and Santorini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on our honeymoon and it was perfect. From the impeccably presented cave house, to the pool area, to the amazing breakfast location we could not have asked for anything more. The hotel arranged a transfer from the ferry terminal and a porter met us at the bus - which was lucky as the winding paths and many, many stairs would have been a challenge with our suitcases! We were greeted warmly by the staff who showed us to our room which had been decorated with balloons and included a bottle of local wine. The staff had also arranged, at the request of our friends, a bottle of Moet to be ready waiting for us to enjoy our first sunset from our private balcony. There is no better spot in Santorini to enjoy the breathtaking sunsets! Breakfast was adequate, room service was good (we had dinner on our balcony one night) and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Free internet was available. The hotel had a large selection of DVDs to borrow if required, but who would need them with such a view?! The pool was beautiful and was set into a cave so there was relief from the sun. There was a large area to relax by the pool and enjoy the view and a drink from the bar. The hotel was very well located in walking distance to all of Oia and Ammoudi Bay - if you're not daunted by stairs that is - there are a lot of steep stairs at this hotel but we embraced them as they presented intimacy, privacy and an opportunity to walk off some of the local food and wine we enjoyed! The rooms were cosy, authentic and very comfortable. We would stay at this hotel again in a flash!

Room Tip: The hotel is set on a cliff so if you are worried about stairs ask for a room at the top. However, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
On behalf of Esperas Traditional Houses, we would like to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. Your accurate and extensive descriptions will be invaluable to future visitors of Oia and Santorini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Address: ,, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, T4B, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.