We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so incredible!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Esperas to your Saves list
Esperas
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   ,, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Rates Online!!!
Ranked #3 of 32 Oia B&B and Inns
los angeles
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“so incredible!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I can't say enough amazing things about this place. Our room, the view, the location, the concierge and their recommendations...just everything and anything about this place is 5* all the way. STAY HERE!!!! We stayed here before June 2011 bu the date "when did you travel" doesnt go back further than that.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
On behalf of the Esperas management, we want to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. We'll be more than happy to prove your words true for upcoming visitors in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    40
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
241
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

You know how you can be in the homestretch of your vacation & start to think about going home, sleeping in your own bed, being surrounded by your things & routine? Believe me when I say that Esperas Traditional Houses will change the way you feel about hotels/b&bs.

My husband & I stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary for 4 glorious days (April 22-25) in Room 117. The view of the caldera, cliffside buildings & of course, the brilliant sunsets are worth the price alone; what really makes things special here are Yvonne & the friendly, eager to please staff. Need help putting your terrace umbrella up? Done! Your US hair dryer is a little too powerful for the bathroom converter plug? Call & a dryer is brought to you within 2 minutes. Esperas really goes out of the way to make sure you are happy & satisfied.

There are plenty of towels, fantastic smelling toiletries (2 of everything so you don't run out), both bathroom showers have great water pressure with plenty of hot water. The master bed in #117 is a little bigger than a US queen (comfy mattress but pillows could be replaced - not a deal breaker) & has a private balcony attached. The other bedroom has twin beds with glass French doors that open out to the spacious sitting area. There is a room safe, 2 burner kitchenette, college sized fridge, hot tea maker. The main balcony is an oasis of tranquility, comfortable lounge chairs, built in sitting ledges with cushions & a full sized outdoor dining table for al fresco meals.

We've been to many places (Rome, London, Beijing, etc) & I cannot say enough great things about Esperas. Stay here & experience it for yourself. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Just ask for Room 117. That's all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
On behalf of the Esperas management we want to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. We have already changed the offending pillows, and we are very pleased that you compared us favorably to stays in cities such as London and Rome. We can assure you we will prove your words true for all upcoming visitors in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Hello everyone, Our trip to Sanotrini was fantastic. The hospitality received by everyone at Esperas was incredible. The welcoming atmosphere made us want to move there permanently. LOL. The rooms are amazing, clean, luxurious and complimented by little treats throughout the day from housekeeping staff that will always put a smile on your face. Be sure to bring good walking shoes to Santorini and enjoy the island and it's wonderful embracing charm. We would LOVE to revisit our new friends at Esperas and hope it will not be too long before we see their smiles once again. Sincerely XO Debbie and Chris St. John's Newfoundland CANADA

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are incredible but remember the winds may make some people jittery if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
On behalf of the Esperas management we want to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. We can assure you we will prove your words true for all upcoming visitors in the years to come and hope you will be coming back very soon as per your wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Esperas for one leg of our honeymoon and it was beyond anything we could have hoped for. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, and went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay. They really paid attention to detail, and when we arrived had a bottle of champagne chilling for us, and the bed decorated with balloons and a welcome note.

Our room overlooked the Caldera (all rooms there do) and watching the sunset was one of the most romantic things I have ever seen. They helped us book a sail boat tour and took care of all the details getting us to and from the port. Just thinking about it really makes me wish I was going back.

My only reservation was not about the hotel, but Oia itself. Do not go there looking for late night festivities. Things close down shortly after dinner, so we found ourselves looking for places to socialize. Otherwise, the trip was just amazing and I can't sing enough praises.

Room Tip: We had the room right above reception, which was excellent because we didn't have to climb too m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
On behalf of the Esperas management we want to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. We take pride in providing a romantic stay for all our guests and were exceptionally happy to be your choice of honeymoon. We can assure you we will prove your words true for all upcoming visitors in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in August 2011. It was the busiest time of the high season, but the atmosphere at Esperas Traditional Houses was still one of absolute tranquillity. Oia has so much to offer but I can't emphasise enough how pleasant it is to be able to retire from the maddening crowd whenever you want to the absolute serenity of the beautiful cave houses in this little cliffside resort, The swimming pool is beautiful swimming, the staff are genuine and would do everything they could do make your stay a special one, the houses are gorgeous and the whole place is set against the epic backdrop of the most incredible views in Santorini - an island justifiably renowned for its incredible views. One thing - I'd book your own taxi to the ferry if you are leaving that way - the one they booked picks up lots of other people on the route so takes quite long but still left us at the port an hour early. The boat was then inevitably delayed. The port is not a great place to hang out in 40 degree heat!

In brief - we really loved it & would highly recommend Esperas Traditional Houses to anyone

Room Tip: Go for a room on two levels - the more balconies, the more different venues you have to experience t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We are a family of four and stayed here last summer (sorry for the delay!) We absolutely loved everything about this amazing hotel. We stayed in suite #117, which has 2 bedrooms and 1.5 baths. This unit has a huge terrace with a dining table and sun lounge chairs. The views are specatular and you are in the best place for sunsets. As everyone else is jockeying for a spot to watch the sunset around town, you can enjoy it from your terrace or from the pool bar with your favorite cocktail. The staff here is exceptional and most have been at Esperas for a very long time. Everyone goes above and beyond to make your trip perfect. Breakfast is abundant and sitting poolside with the views could not a be better way to start the day. We ate dinner on our terrace one night and that was one of our best meals in Oia. The location is very nice, as you are close to the center of town, but on the quieter side.
I would make sure to book airport/ferry pickup thru the hotel as it would be impossible to find this place on your own!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I went on a dream trip to Greece with my husband October 2011. It is the perfect time to go, weather was not too hot with cool evenings, and it's not crowded :) But if you’re going to hit the islands be sure to go within the first two weeks of October as a lot of restaurants and businesses close for the winter starting third week of October.

Esperas Traditional houses was the perfect place for our Santorini experience. We rented a car at the airport and made our way to Oia (the most beautiful town in Santorini) known for its amazing sunsets. It is a charming little town where cars are only allowed on the outskirts so its walking, walking, walking to get around. Bring comfortable shoes.

The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect. We sat out on our balcony at sunset time and saw the crowd of people up on the left cliff side that had come to view the sunset...meanwhile wine glass in hand, backgammon board on the table we were relaxing and taking in the magnificent sunset.

The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful, going above and beyond. We had the house located ‘lowest’ down on the cliff, so we had complete, romantic privacy- heads up tough- it is a hike to get up to the breakfast/front desk area which then leads into town. However there is a secret shortcut (which front desk will tell you about) down to Amoudi (the fishing town below Oia). So that walk was shorter which was helpful as we walked up and down about 4 times to get to the yummy fresh fish restaurants for lunch.

IMPORTANT: We had a storm that rolled in on our second night there and it rained all night. It was actually quite romantic, however I woke up at about 2am to a trickling sound, water was coming in by each other the three windows and below the door. It wouldn’t have mattered much, as it was easily wiped up the next morning but I had placed my bag in the little area right under the window my bag was soaking wet. I was able to hang dry my clothes the next day, thankfully we had another day there, and thankfully I didn’t have any electronics laying there either. Speaking to some of the other guests the next morning I realized that it wasn’t just our room. So personally I think the hotel should let you know that this can occur and not to place any belongings below the windows or near the door.

Just quickly a few other notes:
We did a swimming tour into the center of the caldera to swim in the sulfur waters on Nea Kameni (the island still remaining in the center of what used to be the volcano) we took a private tour with a captain named GEORGE LAMPROS who owns his own “little pirate ship”. If you don’t want to do a lengthy half day tour with 30 other people and food and wine on board. Just book George we did a two hour tour which ended up cheaper than the other tours crowded with passengers and we had the boat all to ourselves. George is very friendly, knowledgeable and fun.

Some great food:
TIS PANDORAS It is in Amoudi (the town below Oia) again heads up here there are many steps down this cliff. There are donkeys but after watching and hearing tourists get their legs scratched on the walls (the donkeys always walk on the most outer part of a turn since the stairs are widest there) I don’t know that I’d recommend that. Get the fried Snapper, the “little fry fish” and the dolmades (stuffed vine leaves) absolutely amazing
AMBROISA-NECTAR: Not too far of a walk from Esperas and such good food. The baked feta appetizer is so yummy.
Can’t remember the other restaurants but the hotel staff made the recommendations and they did not disappoint. They were honest about which places were worth going to, which were overpriced and which had the fresh catch of the day. I would trust their recommendations.
When returning to Santorini, as I hope to do some day, I will be staying at Esperas Traditional Houses. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Address: ,, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.