We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset in Oia

Sunset in Oia
Sentrum, Oia, Greece
Improve this listing
Visit Sunset in Oia like an insider
Private Tour
$71*
and up
Private Tour: Santorini Sightseeing with Fira to...
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Oia
Attraction details
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Disappointed !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Oia, in general, is overly priced and overrated area in Santorini. The walk is nice, the sunset view is ok, but it doesn't compare to Firostefani where you can see the caldera view which is stunning. Most of the stores are overly priced. You can find the same items cheaper in Fira.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,009
    274
    164
    35
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

beautiful sunset...but not different from any other beautiful sunset i have seen over the water. the part that i most enjoyed was watching the light play against the white buildings and hillside, and observing all of the people flocking to the edges of buildings and climbing to sit on walls and roofs to watch. it's quite a community event with tourists from all over the world watching mother nature's show!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The famous Santorini view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Santorini view, that we were looking for, was finally found from this spot. Perfect for taking pictures of Santorini's landscape and sunset views.

Just within walking distance from Oia main square (bus station) and you would find many cafes and souvenir shops on the way to the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The view is just stunning with the sun setting over the ocean. You have to arrive early if you want a good spot. My only complaint were the crowds. It's always packed with everyone trying to get that perfect shot. We watched it another night in Firostefani by the church and the view was just as breathtaking without the crazy crowds. Overall it's a must see at least once, but after that, watching it anywhere in town can be just as good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“"Sorry, is this the View?"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Let me start by first saying that the view of the caldera is one of the most spectacular views on Earth. It is both dramatic and sensual and most certainly worth the hype... but from Oia the sun does not set over the caldera. It sets over the ocean pretty much the same way it sets on the west coast of every land mass on planet Earth. So while the sunset is great, it is far from the most beautiful or the most striking.

The only reason I can give as to why everyone claps and cries when the sun sets is that it has more to do with the vampire lore of the island than the actual beauty of the sunset.

Useful tip: From Oia the sun sets directly over the ocean... It might be the most famed point from which to watch the sunset but my wife and I both preferred the sunset from Fira and Firastefani where the sun sets over the caldera (granted it dips behind some islands just before it actually hits the water).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset in Oia also viewed

 
 

Been to Sunset in Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset in Oia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.