We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best sunset ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset in Oia

Sunset in Oia
Sentrum, Oia, Greece
Improve this listing
Visit Sunset in Oia like an insider
Private Tour
$71*
and up
Private Tour: Santorini Sightseeing with Fira to...
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Oia
Attraction details
Pisa, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best sunset ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Sunset in Oia is probably the best in the world, and Oia is one of the most amazing and well preserved towns i have been to. Capri feels like a cheap industrial area compared to it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,012
    274
    164
    35
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Oia is a fantastic place with so many little tucked away places down twisty steps and alleyways. There are brilliant views and buildings, along with the iconic blue domed churches. However it's so crowded for the sunset that it takes all the pleasure away. We had the best gyros pitta at a small cafe near the bus terminus, as all we wanted was a snack. We watched the sunset which was pretty, but not the best I've ever seen, from another vantage point.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice but too crowded....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The sunset from anywhere on the cliffs in santorini is breathtaking, the sunset at Oia is overrated. It is too crowded to enjoy the views....I had to tiptoe to catch the sunset which was pretty annoying. We also caught the sunset from a view point a few meters ahead of santo winery in pyrgos, and the colors blew us away.Its not too crowded and u can see the caldera , along with the villages glittering in the distance. I would recommend sunset from pyrgos or even fira rather than Oia.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Pretty but not 'the best' sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Oia is reknowned as 'the' place to be to see the sunset whilst on Santorini.
Yes it is the place 1000's go to each evening but that doesn't make it the best. You can see equally as good sunsets from Thira or most anywhere on the west side of Santorini.
That said Oia is a very charming place. We revisited in a morning (having hired an ATV for the day) after we had seen sunset as part of day long island trip. And Oia was all the better for it with much more room to breathe, enjoy and move around.

There is some nice shopping - and more 'accessible (price) than Thira.
If anything it is 'nicer' than Thira.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome, didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We rented a car for the day off the ship to cover the island and went straight to Oia. After two hours and many pics, we didn't want to leave. I could see spending a week here. From the other comments, I need to be here for the sunsets.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset in Oia also viewed

 
 

Been to Sunset in Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset in Oia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.