We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset in Oia

Sunset in Oia
Sentrum, Oia, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Attractions in Oia
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Lookouts, Landmarks
Attraction details
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Oia is a fantastic place with so many little tucked away places down twisty steps and alleyways. There are brilliant views and buildings, along with the iconic blue domed churches. However it's so crowded for the sunset that it takes all the pleasure away. We had the best gyros pitta at a small cafe near the bus terminus, as all we wanted was a snack. We watched the sunset which was pretty, but not the best I've ever seen, from another vantage point.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    831
    231
    141
    32
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice but too crowded....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The sunset from anywhere on the cliffs in santorini is breathtaking, the sunset at Oia is overrated. It is too crowded to enjoy the views....I had to tiptoe to catch the sunset which was pretty annoying. We also caught the sunset from a view point a few meters ahead of santo winery in pyrgos, and the colors blew us away.Its not too crowded and u can see the caldera , along with the villages glittering in the distance. I would recommend sunset from pyrgos or even fira rather than Oia.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Pretty but not 'the best' sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Oia is reknowned as 'the' place to be to see the sunset whilst on Santorini.
Yes it is the place 1000's go to each evening but that doesn't make it the best. You can see equally as good sunsets from Thira or most anywhere on the west side of Santorini.
That said Oia is a very charming place. We revisited in a morning (having hired an ATV for the day) after we had seen sunset as part of day long island trip. And Oia was all the better for it with much more room to breathe, enjoy and move around.

There is some nice shopping - and more 'accessible (price) than Thira.
If anything it is 'nicer' than Thira.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome, didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We rented a car for the day off the ship to cover the island and went straight to Oia. After two hours and many pics, we didn't want to leave. I could see spending a week here. From the other comments, I need to be here for the sunsets.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very pretty with a good vibe, great views, some interesting shops and reasonable restaurants.

Gets very crowded and difficult to park especially when coach loads of tourists arrive from the cruise liners for sunset and then all depart about the same time.
It is best to avoid driving towards Oia around 9pm to 10pm at night when the coaches are making their return run. The Coaches are driven very fast on narrow roads and if you are coming the other then you must take extreme care.

Suggest you visit Oia during the day and at night to really experience the village and the view of the Caldera.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset in Oia also viewed

 

Been to Sunset in Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset in Oia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.