We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum! Fresh fish and amazing shrimp saganaki!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dimitri's at Amoudi Bay

Dimitri's at Amoudi Bay
Amoudi Bay, Oia, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 70 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: phone 22860-71606
United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yum! Fresh fish and amazing shrimp saganaki!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went here 3 times doing our 5 day trip to Santorini. The shrimp saganaki is amazing!!! (Shrimp with a red sauce and cooked feta and wonderful spices). And the fish is very fresh. You are sitting right on the bay, it is lovely. You can walk down the donkey ridden path, or go all around up the road or take a cab. It is the restaurant all the way at the end, much smaller than the other ones at Amoudi Bay - very relaxed and great, friendly service and owner. If you want fresh fish you won't be disappointed here and good value for your money! Oh and house white was nice too!
Fyi for couples, friends and families.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    85
    21
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sicily, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unforgettable lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

One of the best recommendations we were given was to have lunch or dinner at Dimitri's.
One unforgettable dining experience for sure. We loved the trek down to Ammoudi Bay from Oia. Once we arrived, we were seated by the lovely owner Joy right on the waters edge.
We were invited into the kitchen to see the fresh catch of the day and choose our fish.

The dishes were the true flavours of Greece, fresh seafood flavoured simply with lemon/olive oil/oregano, succulent juicy and tender octopus (so good we actually got seconds!) The muscles saganaki were outstanding with fresh tomato and feta sauce, lightly friend red mullet, tangy taramasalata and crusty bread, chilled white wine and actually one of the BEST baklava's I've ever had (and I'm half Greek so that really says something!)

We will definitely be back on our next trip to Santorini, to enjoy the outstanding fresh food, the sparkling bay, the fabulous conversation with Joy who is actually Canadian and just a delight to chat with, and the atmosphere of Ammoudi Bay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Good friendly service, even the cat joined us for lunch and ate our scraps. Good food, slightly over priced.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This restaurant right on the water at Amoudi Bay in Oia (Santorini), was simply the best meal I had while in Greece, not just in Oia! We had the Lobster Pasta special for two. The biggest, freshest and most succulent lobster I ever tasted. We got seats right on the edge, water front! Sitting at Sunset, you couldn't ask for a better view! Our waiter was fantastic, knowledgeable and very attentive providing the best wine choices for our meal. He happened to be a Sommelier and was a great resource when we asked what were the best wines to bring home. He got out a pen/paper and listed 12 wines, all of which we bought and could not be happier with them. It was cool to see their entire fish catch for the day and have that ability to choose what we wanted. You will not be disappointed when eating here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lobster pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We saw the review in the Metro bad decided to check it out. We weren't disappointed, the lobster pasts was gorgeous! The service was great and the location is such a contrast to everywhere else in santorini as you're actually by the waters edge rather than looking over a cliff. I reckon this would be a great place for the sunset. Don't miss this off you're stay.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dimitri's at Amoudi Bay also viewed

 

Been to Dimitri's at Amoudi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dimitri's at Amoudi Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.