We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable, very special birthday! I'll be back!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia to your Saves list
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St. | Santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Oia
Leiden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettable, very special birthday! I'll be back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

It was my dream to visit Santorini during last few years, especially during long office hours in rainy winter days in Northern Europe. This year I finally decided: I selebrate my birthday at Oia Santorini. Why not ? I booked Imperial Suite at Alexander's Boutique Hotel and flew to Greece. Taxi was waiting for me at the airport as I arranged it with hotel. First of all, yes from Imperial Suite there is a great stunning view of Caldera and Volcano and sea. The suite, in a way it is decorated with antique furniture and modern kitchen has a personal touch from Alexander, owner of the hotel. When you enter the suite you have incredible warm and cozy feeling like at home ( there is no feeling that you stay in a hotel room at all) but at the same time the suite has a real great/fantastic view of the sea and volcano and surrounding places. That makes it really special and unique, you started to feel it immideately. So it is true, as soon as you entered the suite then you don’t want to leave this suite, and you stick to a nice terrace with fantastic view... forever. Hot tub right on the terrace what you can dream more!! In the late afternoon I enjoyed elegant Oia boutiques along Caldera. Nice to walk along very small streets of Oia and observe different houses/buildings painted in different bright colors attached to Caldera, very often in an unbelievable way as well as I enjoyed artistic souvenirs of Oia. Local food is quite good too. Staff at the hotel is very friendly and really helpful. The breakfast is served outside on the terrace of the suite that make stay really unforgettable!!! Room service is excellent, quick and efficient. Hotel ordered taxi for me to get back to the airport. Alexander, owner of the hotel is every day on site together with his Team giving warm treat to the hotel guests. This all together made my birthday really unforgettable and very special, thank you Alexander, Evita, Khan for very warm and nice treat, I will come back... !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    41
    31
    32
    32
See reviews for
71
179
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baghdad
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my family (wife and three girls). We spent a little more than I wanted to, but I wanted Santorini to be memorable. Was it ever! We drove into the hotel at night so had a hard time finding it initially, but this ended up being great, becuase it was out of the hustle and bustle of Fira and even outside of central Oia. The suite was a cave! The kids loved it. The views of the caldera and of parts of Oia were spectacular. The first day, no one wanted to leave the hotel. We just sat out on the veranda and read (when we could peel our eyes off the stunning view of the caldera and volcano. The service was outstanding, the breakfast was perfect (love the yogurt and honey!) and the hot tub overlooking the caldera was paradise. We literally had to pull ourselves away to go see other parts of the island.

We really hated leaving and hope beyond hope we can return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The location was very good, in the center of Oia and by the main road. The staffs were excellent, friendly and helpful. They upgraded us to a Diamond Suite really nicely decorated room. Everything was perfect !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tukums
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We traveled in August, with our children (6 & 8 years old), and were so lucky to find Alexander's Boutique - a high standarts hotel on the cliff (Caldera) and they DO accept children (while searching our dream accommodation in Santorini, we've had a feeling that no hotel is children friendly). How lucky we were to find Alexander's... upon arrival, the staff took a full care of us, they gave all the necessary advises (restaurants, excursions etc.) they basically planed our schedule of what to do and what's the best during our stay on this magical Island. With the blessing of Mr. Alexander (the owner), who was present at our check-in, we got a complimentary upgrade from our Diamond suite to the Imperial suite!!! What a joy... amazing breakfast every morning on our private terrace, fantastic views to the volcano and the cliff... and the HOT TUB - right there on the terrace! The suite was large, with two seperate bedrooms and a kitchen corner. The words are simply not enough to describe it... Thank you so much! We are definitely comming back. Thank you once again!

Room Tip: Imperial suite Hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Alexanders was our first choice for accommodations in Oia, Santorini. It did not disappoint. The cave type dwelling that we stayed in was unique, clean and romantic. We arrive to find rose petals and heart pillow on our beautifully made bed. A complimentary bottle of champagne on the table as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary with this trip. Breakfast was served at our designated time personally on the semi-private terrace. We didn't mind that another family was there. We became traveling friends. The 4 cats were persistent, but we didn't mind their company. Breakfast consisted of egg, breads, yogurt, honey, juice, coffee, meat and cheese. Staff also was willing to help with planning, transportation, and information of sights on the island.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shenzhen china
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Santorini is a picture postcard place and this is a nice enough B&B. We stayed in the diamond suite, 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and a nice sized kitchen/dining/lounge area. lounge has stunning sea views...but the bedrooms don't, they're facing inland. beds are very soft for my liking. we were offered a fantastic rate as it's low season, i felt it was good value at the price we paid but i'd feel a bit underwhelmed if i'd paid the high season summer prices.

the only staff we encountered was a pleasant your Turkish man who took care of check in/out and breakfasts...no sight of Alexander but i'm not complaining about that. plentiful and tasty breakfast each day...but the same thing every day which got a bit tiring.

santorini is nice but out of season when the weather's not so pleasant for us it's appeal wore off after a couple of days...how many whitewashed villages clinging to cliffs and churches with blue roofs can a man put up with after all?

nice place, glad i've been there but won't rush back to either the island or this hotel in particular.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Se há um lugar lindo que não podemos deixar de conhecer é Santorini. Lugares incríveis e uma noite bastante animada. E o que existe de mais belo, com ar romântico sem igual, é o Alexander’s Hotel. O próprio hotel é um ponto turístico, com vista fantástica, que torna os momentos do café da manhã inesquecíveis. Limpeza, organização e atendimento são fatores muito positivos também. Sabem cuidar dos hóspedes como poucos fazem. Portanto, indico este hotel onde tudo é lindo. Se for à Grécia, não deixem de conhecer Santorine, e nesta ilha, a experiência de se hospedar no Alexander’s Hotel é a melhor possível.

If there is a beautiful place that we can not fail to know is Santorini. Amazing places and a very lively evening. And what is most beautiful, romantic air like no other, is Alexander's Hotel. The hotel itself is a tourist spot, with fantastic views, which makes the moments of unforgettable breakfast. Cleanliness, organization and service are very positive factors as well. They know taking care of guests as few do. Therefore, I submit this hotel where everything is beautiful. If you go to Greece, do not fail to meet Santorine, and this island, the experience of staying at Alexander's Hotel is unique. Unable to go to Greece without having to Santorini

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia

Address: Main St. | Santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, elegance, intimacy, breathtaking views of the caldera...Alexander’s is a boutique hotel consisting of suites, cave villas and cave houses all named after precious and semi-precious stones, according to Cycladic architecture. We are a hotel with less steps. We have been recommended by the New York Times, the Independent and the Daily Telegraph. Our hotel was the main location of the film “Thira.” Special occasions are magical when held at Alexander’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexanders Boutique Hotel Oia
Alexanders Boutique Oia
Alexander's Boutique Hotel Of Oia Santorini, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.